What's wrong with Coinmarketcap.com ?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Be careful, It's been miss reporting prices for a little while.

BTW the right one is http://Coincap.io

Sort:  

I believe the difference between CoinmarketCap.com and other sources is due to CoinmarketCap.com calculation taking into consideration Chinese exchanges which are 10% above regular exchanges.Always check your exchange for prices, coinmarketcap.com is just a rough estimate.However in your charts above there' something weird, i get the values in $$ on my Coinmarketcap.com profile.

I'm so fucking fed up looking at ETH price in USD, Is there a BTC only version of this?

http://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/ethereum/#markets

I highly doubt that but there are a couple of ways you can do this the " not so accurate way":
1- Take your altcoin price in USD from Coinmarketcap.com exanmple : ETH 325.40$ divide it by the BTC price from Coinmarketcap.com at the same time BTC 2621$. You get 0.12415 ETH/BTC. This method is inaccurate since the price includes all exchanges listed.
2- Click on you altcoin and you get the price for all the exchanges listed, use the prices from the exchanges that you usually use or access the exchanges.
3- Easiest way, we need this message to reach coinmarketcap.com and tell them to enable this feature from the outside.I believe it is fairly easy for them to enable this feature and we won't waste our time doing useless calculations.

Hi Julianita, great post. I'm new to the crypto game as well and i found the website below really useful, with loads of conversion options. Super easy to use.

https://www.cryptocompare.com/coins/eth/overview/BTC

I typically look at the price on an exchange for ETH/BTC. Just have Bitfinex app on my mobile phone and that's good enough to keep track of it. Otherwise there are apps that combine information from multiple exchanges too and can give you anything that trades in terms of BTC. Unfortunately coincap and others don't really provide that.

@julianita I looked it up, you can change the whole charts in coinmarketcap.com to any currency other than USD.

For Ethereum it is the same, for all exchanges

Been using the platform for months never actually saw them.

Not sure, I have noticed that too, with a lot of the weird crap going on all over sites I am not sure what to really do right now until it calms down. Just followed you too @julianita , thanks for the update!

it was 0.10$ in 23/june/2017 so buy it if you can....that mean someone just sold lots of ETH

thank you for sharing @julianita and please do share stuff like that as many of us are new in crypto and we need some guidelines...

in a dark room, coincap.io makes me feel like im gonna have a seizure lol

Hi steemians.
I saw one banner on coinmarketcap.org which promises a 350% return on investement. Today, I had researched it and wrote an article about this SCAM. Would you read it, comment, resteem and make it viral. It is important for all community members, especially newbies.
https://steemit.com/scam/@cryptogirl1/warning-scam-cryptoclone-people-lost-their-money

Thanks for the info, Did you write this post ?

You're welcome. Yes I did. You can check my other posts here: https://steemit.com/@cryptogirl1

When so much money is behind I wish these sites were handled better as they are the most popular. I guess thats the only downfall of an unregulated market. Like Poloniex telling me my eth dissapeared when I tried doing a transaction....

I'm looking forward to decentralized exchanges coming up. Less focus on liquidity and having a 3rd party holding onto our currencies.

Hi guys, I think I noticed this problem on 21st of June with Ethereum. At 10 pm UT the price on CoinmarketCap.com and, exchanges (Polinex, Bittrex, Kraken) differed for 2 to 4 percent. Well price on Polinex was lower, so it made me happy but day after I realized that problem does exist and it would be better to change the source.

Since these exchanges are independent central services prices will differ. One coin that has messed up the aggregate price is Vericoin. This sucker is trading at 3x in a Chinese exchange compared to the Western counterparts. That's the biggest problem with the centralization of decentralized currency. Ironic, isn't it.

@cryptogirl1 i am sure that the reason behind that are the Chinese exchanges since crypto costs usually 10% more there.Using the weighted average formula your final $$ amount shown on Coinmarketcap.com is inflated if you use exchanges such as (Polinex, Bittrex, Kraken) since they are based in US and Europe, deflated if you use Chinese exchanges such as(OKCoin.cn,Coinone...)
For example bitcoin is at 2000$ on Poloniex and 2200$ on Coineone,the Poloniex market is 40% and the Chinese market is 60%, the price shown on Poloniex is 2000$40%+2200$60%= 2,120$.
2000$<2120$<2200$, it depends where you are looking from.

@charbelghossan, this explanation is really valuable for me. Thanks a lot. :)

anytime,always good to spread the knowledge.Interesting profile picture cryptooooo!

that is not misreporting. just look into details for each currency.
each exchange has its own price. you can see prices per exchange in details. also, coinmarketcap has a refresh every 90 seconds. so, you can not use that for trading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52