Sort:  

Bitcoin and Ripple are vastly different. Bitcoin, is your gold standard asset in the crypto world. Used as currency and asset building. Ripple on the other hand, uses technology (2 products xRapid and xCurrent) to help banks and companies with cross board transactions. ie send USD to YEN, XRP is the currency used to settle liquidity between banks in xRapid. xCurrent is used for messaging between institutions, to verify banking information so settlements happen in minutes and not days, which is currently used. Hope that helps.

But who owns most of Ripple?

Current circulating supply is 39 Bil XRP and total supply is 99 Bil XRP. Billions are left in escrow to solve for banks cross more liquidity problems. Would you like to expand more on the question in particular? https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/ripple/ has some of that info.

Some people feel that Ripple and Bitcoin Cash are scams. Now, I have Bitcoin (BTC) and I like it but I sometimes wonder when people cry. So, I sometimes try to see the differences. I like Steem and I like Litecoin too. I also really like Ethereum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43