New Segment: Follow My Cryptfolio Investment

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I got into cryptocurrency back in January. I'd known about and followed crypto for a while; my brother-in-law is a huge Bitcoin fan, so for years I've been hearing about the positives of Bitcoin. However, I never really had the guts to invest my own money.

That all changed earlier this year. I was in my final year at university, down to my last few hundred dollars. I had a monthly income from my job but it was barely paying for the roof over my head, never mind any luxuries on top of that. On a whim I decided to invest the money I had. I had the mentality that losing it wouldn't negatively impact my situation, it just might shorten the time before I went knocking on the door of 'Bank of Mom & Dad'.

I spent about 3 days doing some super in-depth research, chose my targets and took the plunge. Not everything was a success, I'll admit that, but importantly I pretty quickly doubled my money. Then just as quickly tripled my money. I've now managed to achieve an ROI of over 800%.

I've always been into writing but never found something I could write about on a regular basis. Last night it struck me, I still carry out this in-depth research regularly. What better topic to write about? I realise that expecting to continue the growth rates I've seen is naive, however I'm planning on going travelling in a few months and I hope my crypto-profits can pay for this! Resultantly, I'm going to share my journey to, hopefully(!), incredible profits with you.

For legal reasons, this is not intended as advice, I'm happy playing with fire with my own money, I do not by any means suggest you do the same moves I do. I will, however, be posting them, and the reasons here, and if you choose to follow me, then sweet!

For obvious reasons, you should never discuss actual holdings with random people on the internet (that's you ;)!) so I will talk only in % of my overall 'cryptfolio' and percentage growth of each coin. Over the following days I will go into greater depth as to why I have chosen each coin I'm currently invested in, and more importantly why I'll be making the changes.

So without further ado, here's a brief overview of my current cryptfolio.

Ethereum - 56.2%
Golem - 13.46%
Stratis - 4.92%
Antshares (or NEO as it's now called) - 9.54%
Pivx - 2.56%
BAT - 0.93%
NEM - 0.24%
Reddcoin - 0.1%
Siacoin - 0.4%
Bitcoin - 0.68% (I have the intention of increasing this very soon!)
Ripto Bux - 2.76%
Steem - 8.64%
Grantcoin - 0.04%
Belacoin - 0.18%
Digibyte - 0.2%

I am going to wrap up here as I am literally in the process of converting some of my Ethereum into Litecoin. Why? Simple reason is that Litecoin is in a perfect storm right now. Confidence in Bitcoin is low due to the upcoming situation in August, and Ethereum isn't fairing too well either. The flash crash shocked investors, and ICO after ICO is clogging the network. Additionally, the TenX ICO (an actually interesting one!) is coming up soon so the network is sure to be screwed again.

The people who make a lot of money from crypto is smart, you just gotta ask yourself in these times of uncertainty for the big two, where will people be putting their money?

My answer is Litecoin.

This will be a super regular segment I'll be doing, to make sure you don't miss out click through to my profile and follow me! Let me know in the comments below if you do, I'd appreciate it! Also, got any comments, questions or suggestions fire those at me too!

Sort:  

Great looking portfolio! I see a lot of potential in riptobux down the line, picked up some recently myself. followed

Thanks, yeah I stumbled upon RBX very early on, really didn't know much about anything at the time. I picked up a load for next to nothing, now I'm just counting my lucky stars! I see nothing but up from this one, especially with the positive news coming out of Waves recently :)

I see you chose Litecoin as the one to convert Bitcoin to. Hope it pans out for you but I still believe all of them will drop. Bitcoin might actually drop less than any of them so if I was going to convert and was "forced" to convert all cryptos into a single choice it would be bitcoin...even tho I think its value may get cut in half from where it was when you posted this 4 days ago. Better to lose half your money than 70% of your money. :-)

Well done my friend!

nice.... yeah I was talking with one of my friends the other day who i got into ethereum around $6.. He's over 1000% just on that, idk what his btc % is lol

Haha I bet he is pleased! I found Ethereum when it was sub-$10, didn't buy some until around $20, and then again at $40. Not as good as $6 though!

This is awesome! I too got into crypto in January of this year. One evening I just thought: this is going to be a big, big deal. Time to move.

Good on you! I always forget how much the industry is in its infancy. I talk to people IRL and they have no idea about it. I can't wait for that to change!

Does $1,000 mean it's a "portfolio" ?

Well it's not a $1,000, it's more, I just would rather not reveal the total content of my bank account :P Also, maybe it doesn't, I don't know, but it's a range of investments, as far as I know there is no financial value pre-requisite for a portfolio.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57