Ethereum: Explained

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

What is Ethereum?


Ethereum is an amazing,  if not one of the best, cryptocurrency of 2018 and all-time!  It was released in August of 2015.

Ethereum is the very first cryptocurrency to introduce smart contracts,  which are as complex as they are innovative.  Profit-sharing,  token burns, token appreciation, token lock-ups/holds could all be built into a smart contract, and so could anything else imaginable to the human mind. The true power of smart contracts hasn’t even been realized yet, and there will be more and more innovation for years to come.


Circulating Supply: 99,082,269


Total Supply: 99,082,269


Ethereum will soon be switching from the Proof of Work protocol to the Proof of Stake protocol.  This will slow the production rate of Ethereum to about 1 percent per year, and this means that Ethereum will always remain an inflationary cryptocurrency. This is something else that sets ETH apart from Bitcoin, and other cryptocurrencies that have a fixed or ever-reducing supply.

Ethereum is still undervalued


It sucks to think that Ethereum has been well under $1.00 and I didn’t know about it until it was $70.  I still think that Ether is extremely undervalued and has the potential to go to $20,000 and beyond in the future.  The only thing that could stop this from happening would be another crypto with a similar goal of allowing others to build decentralized applications, ICO's and DAO's.

Ethereum only needs to scale their transactions per second to be able to remain the number one platform for building new cryptos.  There are other platforms on Ether’s heels such as Lisk,  Stellar, Waves, EOS and NEO.  I think the fact that Ether does have some competition is a good thing. It should keep them working hard to stay ahead of the pack and if they do get passed in terms of total market cap, it should only motivate them to work that much harder.

Final Thoughts on Ethereum


In my opinion, Ether is like a blue chip stock of the cryptocurrency world. Even if a platform comes out with better usability, they were still be plenty of companies using Ether. This remains especially true so long as Vitalik and the rest of the developers continue to innovate and adapt. I trust them to adapt and fix the scaling issue that has been spoken of. The guys behind this are absolute geniuses and it really blows my mind.

I think this is a great crypto that will stand the test of time!

One Love,

@jgullinese

Sort:  

Ethereum is cool but maybe not the best

I'm still a bigger proponent of EOS, but as long as everyone is informed on what the coins/tokens have to offer, that is what is paramount.

Etherium have bright future . Its my wish that I can invest in etherium and steem but I have no money at this time

Save money periodically and invest when you can. You don't have to spend a lot all at one time. When I first started, I only had percentages of Monero and Gnosis. I have since done pretty well by investing when I could, but not by putting myself in a bind financially.

I love vitalik buterin he has so much power yet is a humanitarian like me

If any one is looking to make residual income from 5 cryptocurencies read my blog > https://satoshipapi.io/f/untitled-post
Im also selling the website > https://satoshicash.io/free-bitcoin

I made my money as a freelance market and I also help business gain exposure with real methods !

Yes, you said absolutely right about the Etherium means, it's really amazing and many tokens are launched on the Etherium Blockchain and i agree with you about the undervaluation of the Etherium. Let's hope that future holds great growth for Etherium. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56