You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (IJCH) Stellar - From Ripple Fork To Ripple Contender (The State Of Cryptocurrency Report)

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hey Thomas,

How are you?

RE: Your Comment

I understand your feelings.

But let's not forget how Ripple treated Hurukansama (and all of us). Hell, I even had some insider friends that alluded to how insignificant the community was regarded at Ripple HQ.

The community was not only ignored, but intentionally left in the dark. Many believed the neglect was to show the potential bank customers where Ripple's loyalties truly were.

Me?

I don't know.

What I do know is that I had a lot of cognitive dissonance and was growing weary of motivating others while Ripple remained unsupportive to the community outside of their "official" forum.

And remember my rather public quarrels with Lucky over his hero worship of Jed and the new wallet funding thing. Lucky was Hell-bent on making it some kind of memorial to Jed.

In the end, he sequestered our community funds (a fair amount of XRP) and I (the only other authorized person to release new wallet XRP) was locked out of the account!

I was/am a pragmatist and always try to stay neutral (while hedging my bets).

And just like I support EOS and Cardano, I am ok supporting Ripple an Stellar. It doesn't have to be a mutually exclusive, zero-sum game.

BTW, if your competitor has Gates, wouldn't it be sensible to have someone like IBM on your side?

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

Sort:  

Hi JC, Thank you for your reply, I'm doing fine and hope you are as well!

I understand what you're saying and to be honest I also and still feel that Ripple should take better/more active care of their community! But I also remember that in 2014 me and around 10 other Ripple enthusiasts organized meet-ups with the help of Ripple and I had contact (Ryan T.) within Ripple for about a year. Hell we even met in Holland in 2015 after a crypto conference.

I remember the whole JED discussion, but didn't know about the community funds thing. Around the time Hurukan pulled the plug on XRPtalk I had to stop actively following crypto's for personal reasons and I have been out of the community for about 2 years. Last year I came back to snoop around a bit. I have spoken to a couple of the new Ripple community leaders/influencers/forum moderaters and I was quite surprised that the many of them don't have direct contact with Ripple.

What I do see is that Ripple employees are more actively engaging the fora and others social media outlets. Which is a good thing but I don't think it is enough. The way Ripple, the company, is organized (as a it-company) nowadays, is very different from other cryptocurrencies who are mostly organized around one or two core contributors (as a start-up/pioneer organisation). So Ripple probably doesn't really need a community, where the other crypto's often heavily depend on them, which is just fine/may be even better.

BUT time will tell! I am all for staying neutral and hedging bets!

PS Leaving you with this beauty:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62622.35
ETH 2442.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64