You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shocking Crisis Coming to Cryptocurrency (in Sept?)

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I have been following your posts on different subjects for a couple months, thank you for all the information you offer which i try to make good use of.

I still have some difficulty understanding all the technical validation of your point of view on the segwit theft... (yeah took me 2-3 min to get the 144...)

How could someone buy some btc at this moment with no Segwit lineage ?
If someone has some btc bought on exchange after the fork, should he just get rid of them and forgot about btc ?

Even if most people don't fully understand your flow of information, you help a lot of us to open our vision of the world, again, thank you for that.

Sort:  

Regarding the SegWit issue, please see also the links in a comment on Part 1 of my recent blog series on extant ledger consensus systems. If you haven’t read all my recent posts over at bitcointalk.org as user @‍anunymint (with ‘u’ instead of ‘o’), then I suggest taking a look.

First of all, I don’t expect any SegWit theft until the booty piles up and I would presume they would like to short from nosebleed ATHs, so the timing might be early next year if Bitcoin is over $30,000 or so (possibly as high as $70,000).

Also I can’t be 100% certain such an attack will occur. It’s just a risk that has to be weighed and I don’t think it’s correct to dismiss it as an irrelevant risk as many Bitcoiners seem to want to do (maybe at their peril).

I don’t know how to obtain BTC without any SegWit lineage pollution. I don’t even know if there’s a tool to check UTXO for that. My plan is to sell all my BTC at the new ATHs and get out and wait for the dust to settle. I do expect another cryptowinter after we set new ATHs above $30,000. But no one can have perfect performance on predicting the future, so I could of course be wrong about this issue and/or timing. Keep that in mind. Also the Trilema dude seems to think that mixing SegWit tainted UTXO with non-tainted would be sufficient to protect it. I’m not so sure about that.

Unfortunately I don’t have the free time explain everything with a whiteboard in a video as would probably really be required to help everyone understand fully some of the technological points I make. Also I would hope that my writings would receive more peer review from other experts to find any mistakes I may have. I do try my best to not have mistakes. But we’re human, not perfect.

Thanks I am trying to present what I think is a logical rationalization of the reality as I discern it to be. That doesn’t mean I am correct or that there’s not other valid perspectives.

Apparently I was mistaken and the SegWit theft of your Bitcoin can be averted simply by spending to a non-SegWit address asap:

https://web.archive.org/web/20180625103052/https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4433000.0;all#msg40418200

How do I go about doing this? do any bitcoin wallets even support this? If so which ones? Because non of them mention this capability.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60277.41
ETH 3351.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42