2017 shadow portfolio review and 3 surprises for 2018

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

2018.GIF

2017 shadow portfolio

This is a summary of the shadow portfolio I made July 14 2017. The portfolio started with a fictional portfolio of USD 10'000. I gave weekly updates for a few weeks, but there was so little attention that I stopped it.
Performance since inception: +757% at year end! Not bad for half a year of Hodling! Taking the last few days into consideration, it's even + 979%.

Portfolio pictures below and live performance here.
2018-01-04.png
2018-01-04 (1).png

Nevertheless, I missed the beautiful opportunities of Ripple, Cardano and Stellar. And Dash, Ardor and Binance! And and and - There are just so many! This picture gives a nice overview of all the opportunities that make bitcoin look bad! If we only knew!

2017 Top10.png
Picture source: https://qz.com/1169000/ripple-was-the-best-performing-cryptocurrency-of-2017-beating-bitcoin/

3 surprises for 2018

So now the question, what will happen in 2018?
I think that most people will agree that cryptocurrencies will remain popular, although there will be several corrections during the year. The lineup of ICO’s is not slowing down and there still many good ideas to be implemented. Governments will probably try to implement regulations and restrict exchanges, but it remains to be seen if this really slows down the movement because of its global nature. Lawsuits might create some uncertainty about the safety of cryptocurrencies.
Other than these, I expect these 3 surprises in 2018

  1. At least for a short moment, the market cap of an altcoin will bypass the market cap of Bitcoin
  2. Estonia will be allowed to launch Estcoin as a legally accepted currency to experiment with further steps of E-Residence
  3. The cryptocurrency security risks of phishing, loosing passwords, viruses and malware become larger than the risk of price volatility

Despite some mixed feelings about ICO's, I do think there will be some good opportunities. I have the following ICO’s on my radar. All these ICO's come up in the next few weeks.

  1. Shipchain – because it has real added value that fits with blockchain technology.
    https://shipchain.io/
  2. Insurepal – because blockchain technology really makes sense for insurances and etherisc is working well.
    https://insurepal.io/
  3. APEX token fund – because I think that it’s hard for individuals to stay on top of investment opportunities.
    https://www.apextokenfund.com/
  4. Metronome - because chain hopping could really improve things – if it works!
    https://metronome.io/

What do you think? What’s your guess for the best ICO? Do you have a different surprise?
Thank you for your replies, upvotes, resteem and follow!

Sort:  

Nice post! 2017 was indeed a year of hypes and moons. I was able to catch couple of opportunities but still there was a lot of things going on. Which coins do you think is going to be the most rewarding in 2018? And do you mind me asking your portfolio?

Thanks bmekiker. TRX makes all of them look bad. A month ago it was trading at 0.004 and now its 0.23. That’s 57x in a month! I’m not sure if we will have such opportunities in 2018. I think the emphasis is currently on platforms and exchanges in the hope that blockchain will lead to utility. So my biggest bet for 2018 is a utility coin. Something like storage, identity or social. I have Blockv(advertising) and Kin (messenger) for that in my portfolio. What are your thoughts?

Yeah I agree on that! TRX was booming so fast! I was able get some TRX when it was 2cents. I am really happy what I am seeing right now! Most of the people get in cryptocurrency trading because it's smart thing to do but they don't pay attention to utility of the coin. They do that because of FOMO. They buy shitcoins that goes for 0.00001 cents because they are cheap.

I am going to check the coins you've mentioned. I've never heard of them. But sounds like cool coins! I have position on REQ (Payment system), TRX, ENJ(gaming transaction coin), LINK(database solution) and some POWR(blockchain solution to energy trading between countries). what do you think about those?

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

You got a 0.74% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ghaaspur!

Yes indeed. ups and down in the year 2017. Looking forward in 2018

This Post is resteemed by @resteemitnow

|| POST RESTEEMED + UPVOTED ||

Want to Boost your Posts?

Introduction Post Read here

Just send 0.060 SBD NOW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67312.14
ETH 2623.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69