📢 PSA - Don't Leave Your Money on an Exchange - BTC-e is offline - an Admin is Suspected to Have Been Arrested!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

BTC-e.com has been offline for roughly 48hrs now!

Their updates on twitter are unsurprisingly not very revealing!

At firts I though:
"Ok, maybe something to do with the looming hardfork discussion?!"

Then I though:
"Damn, I hope this is not going to be another Cryptsy!"

This morning I read:
"Alleged BTC-E Admin Arrested for Laundering $4 Billion in Bitcoin."

Shutterstock: Police Line Do Not Cross
image source: shutterstock.com

DAYUMM!

Ok, I am not exactly new to this game!

I never keep much on any exchange site. Really only the smaller altcoins, the ones I can't be bothered setting up my own wallet for, stay there while "daytrading" them.

I am also not a big trader at all, so there isn't much to lose in my accounts anyway.

I've lost a small amount of money on cryptsy before, I can't recall how much that was, maybe $50 worth of altcoins, not too much and though it was disappointing, it was still easy to shrug off.

This time though, I did have a significant part of my crypto-riches (significant to me at least) on BTC-e.

The recent swings in LTC prompted me to trade some slighly larger positions. Larger in my book. I had (or have?!) roughly 0.1 BTC, 0.5 ETH and 5 LTC left with BTC-e.

What really irks me about the situation though: I had halted trading activities and have been holding my positions for a few days. I didn't cash out from the exchange out of pure lazyness! I was preoccupiued with playing Blockchain Sherlock on Steemit and feeling smart about it.

Feeling smart enough to act stupid - and leave my money on an exchange site!

Don't be stupid - Withdraw if you're not trading!

The story starts with a release on AP:

Greek authorities say they have arrested a Russian man wanted in the United States on suspicion of masterminding a money laundering operation involving at least $4 billion through bitcoin transactions.

Since then reddit is all ablaze about it:

Yeah this sounds like BTC-E.
If they didn't specifically mention 2011 I wouldn't think too much of it. But that really narrows it down.
Who knows for sure. But the coincidences are lining up so far. I hope I'm wrong here though as the idea of at least one exchange that was out of reach of the US was always a nice idea, even if I had no use for it personally so far. [by u/ff6878]

And all relevant cryptocurrency news outlets have started breaking the story this morning!

Fingers Crossed!

We can only speculate for now!

We don't have any confirmations yet. BTC-e is the oldest, and has probably been the most reliable, "anonymous" exchange site out there.

But if the authorities are really finally on their ass... ugh! My hope is dwindeling!

edit:

  • Recent developments are indicating that the arrested suspect might actually be related to the MtGOX theft. Fellow steemian @crypto-p just posted about it [here].
  • Latest news claim the arrested Alexander Vinnik is prosecuted for running BTC-e and being involved with laundering the stolen funds from MtGOX. As it stand he could get off the hook with a $110million fine?! Maybe there is hope BTC-e will open again... desperate optimism
  • It's official! The feds have seized the btc-e.com domain and Alexander Vinnik is being charged for several allegations, including the MtGOX theft. DAMN!

follow @fraenk

... it's free!
fraenk avatar
steem-on and prosper


Did You have money on BTC-e, too?

Do You think the two stories might actually be unrelated?

Go ahead, tell me how stupid I was!!

Sort:  

Trade on decentralized exchanges like Bitshares!

^^this!

yeah, i should know better!

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :]

I just keep on exchanges what I want to trade, otherwise I tend to baghold in offline wallets.

living up to your name @baglady :P heh

yeah... i usually do so, too... a bad coincidence of timing and circumstances... circumstances meaning the lazyness of my ass!

"Alleged BTC-E Admin Arrested for Laundering $4 Billion in Bitcoin."

I was still up to that part when I said "holy sht!" I have yet to have any alt coins/currency except the ones on steemit as I'm a noob but this makes me even more wary to keep anything on an exchange. First, the poloniex exchange issues and then I read something like this x.x scary stuff. I hope you manage to get your coins out.

fingers crossed... yeah... but I guess those losses are part of enjoying this crypto-wild-west ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fraenk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @fraenk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

sorry, no, you didn't bother me at all, it was just getting a bit boring...

great, frank, you're talking to bots again, and now to yourself...

You spend too much time with Trippin Tim ;)

quite possibly

(⊙.☉)7

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51