🕵 Final Thoughts on Catching a Minnowsupport Abuser - List of Fake Accounts InsidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blockchainsherlock7 years ago (edited)

Blockchain Sherlock is done with Breakfast.

My final thoughts on catching a minnowsupport abuser.

blockchainsherlock_finishedbreakfast.jpg
image source: denofgeek.com

These will be my conclusions on the recent drama I have been involved in. A lot of you may be aware of the situation, but if you aren't, I'd like to encourage you to read these previous posts, leading to where we are now, and make your own conclusions before you skip to mine:

"I Abused Minnow Support Out of Desperation, I Regret It"
by @hundreddays
"Catching a Minnowsupport Abuser - Blockchain Sherlock Eats Copy Pasta for Breakfast"
by myself
"I Abused Minnow Support Out of Desperation, I Regret It (cont'd)"
by @hundreddays

That's a lot of reading, i know. So here's my summary of what happened:

A few days ago I stumbled over some accounts significantly cheating the @minnowsupport group. A brief search on the blockchain revealed all these accounts to be connected to a single account: @aut0matic. I confronted the suspected cheater with my findings, but did not get any response. Shortly after, I alerted @aggroed about the situation.

@aggroed was able to get a response and convinced the guy to issue a public apology. That apology however was posted through one of the many fake-accounts I had identified earlier - @hundreddays.

Adding injury to insult, it was more of a justification than an apology. Claiming the abuse had been done out of desperation to pay for a grandfather's hospital bills. At that time, it even saw some significant upvotes (~$60). The situation made me furious. Is he getting rewarded for cheating now?

I decided to step up and publicly state my side of the story and to reveal whom I saw as the central "player" behind it: @aut0matic - or more precisely his "personal" account @renepaolo.

Soon after I had released my side of the story, fellow steemian @discordiant discovered that the account @hundreddays had actually introduced himself with a sob-story about stage 3 cancer and 100 days left to get the money for his burial expenses! I think this was the turning point for @renepaolo. The community (at least those who actually read before voting) started to see through his story.

Suddenly @renepaolo started talking to me on discord. He was very defensive, accused me of ruining his online reputation and came up with new claims that @hundreddays was actually really just a poor God-loving guy he had met randomly. Someone who badly needed help and whom he introduced to steemit out of good-will.

The account @hundreddays had posted the same story to go along with it on steemit, in what I see as an effort to protect @renepaolo's name.


What has happened since then,

and why am I still posting about this.

I don't want to turn this into a witch-hunt, and I sincerely hope each of you will be vigilant enough to do your own due-diligence before just accepting my statements for truth. I don't feel comfortable in the shoes of the accuser, but as a member of this community I feel obligated to make these things visible.

In my last post I did intentionally not reveal all the accounts belonging to this scheme, I had hoped @renepaolo would eventually come to his senses and do that himself.

I have tried talking reasonably with him over discord in the meantime. But he holds on to his claims of not being the same person as @hundreddays. Okay, that may even be true. Maybe he really got tricked into giving his private-keys to that guy he calls "James" in an effort to help him pay for those hospital bills? We'll never know for sure!

All I do know is: @renepaolo never gave me any of the "rock solid evidence" he promised and he didn't release the list of fake accounts that have been used. Those fake accounts have continued to move their rewards to bittrex. All that while he claimed innocence and his devotion to God. Really, he talked about God a lot!

I already corrected James' actions by talking to him earlier when we had our Bible study. I told him to repent for his mistakes and confess. In 1 John 1:9, it is stated that if anyone confesses their mistakes, God will forgive them and purify them from all unrighteousness. From the looks of it, James did. Before I left their house earlier, I made sure that he surrendered all his worries to God. I also made sure that he won't do such thing ever again.
...
Lastly, if I prove it, I'm expecting a public apology. Aside from that, you should also contact everyone who upvoted and commented on your posts and hundreddays' post about it. Admit that you accused me wrongly.
...
Man, you're asking me to publish the list of the fake accounts. I have a life too you know. I just don't sit around on the computer all day like I'm doing nothing.

ಠ_ಠ

Oh yeah, because after using these accounts twice daily it's suddenly hard work to list their names?! It's ok. I understand. Here, let me help you:


List of Fake Accounts on Steemit and Discord

only containing accounts with definite connections to the scheme!

fake steemit accounts graph

On Steemit:
@aut0matic; @renepaolo; @patrickangelo; @patriciangela; @squidward; @spongeb0b; @krustykrab; @bloodless; @brainer; @nobrainer; @hundreddays; @ptcuber; @tinmendes; @sanman; @granpa; @speedsteem; @vexana; @colorblind; @tigreal

On Discord:
Aga; Andy; angelo19; antim0ny; athena; aut0matic; bamboo; batmoney; Beatriz; blackteam; bloodless; brainer; cassiopeia; colorblind; cooldown; danman; Danny; dayan2; doobidoobidapdap; doublekill; franc0; gan356; ggyx; gts2; Hachiko; Hannah; Hellen; hundreddays; iampat; Inah; jamie; Janus; jed; Jerald; Jia; Kiara; krustykrab; leas; Luke; Mae; Maddie; Mai; Maie; Maine; Marlon; Mateo; Menard; Merrill; mickeymouse; Nicole; nobrainer; patriciangela; Patrick; patrickangelo; peon; Philip; photosynthesis; ptcuber; Rachelle; ramit; randoshark; Rene; renepaolo; santababy; Sheila; Shanichelle; Simba; speedsteem; spongeb0b; squadddd; squidward; steemonkey; Steffi; Stephen; sunflower101; tclap; thevalk; tigreal; Tony; tulip101; undead; unknown; vans; venus; vexana; yul0ng; yunzhao

Fake Accounts Meme
image source: imgflip.com


Credibility of my Findings

Don't just believe what I am saying!

I don't want to judge @renepaolo for what he has done, either wilfully or out of negligence! Maybe he's a victim himself here? Though, personally, I doubt that.

What we can see, are the obvious connections of the accounts listed above, those are recorded on the blockchain and available to anyone who wants to dig deeper.

I gave some details on how I discovered what was going on in my previous post. From there, all I did was to look at transfers in their wallets, times of articles being posted, voting behavior, replies from minnowsupport, etc... it's all pretty obvious!

Well, maybe that's what finally does lend some limited credibility to @renepaolo's story. How could someone, laborious enough to come up with such a scheme, be stupid enough to leave such obvious traces?!?

But his reactions towards me on discord only further convinced me that he's not wanting to own up to what he has done. He has not taken any steps to resolve the issue, whether it was, as he claims, the result of his naivety and kindness, or actually his own devious scheme.

Being involved with this drama was both exciting and and a strain for me.

I've spent hours collecting and correlating the evidence to make sure I can backup my claims and not risk to accuse someone innocent. I never felt comfortable accusing someone. No matter how convinced I am about my conclusions, it still feels bad to bring such negativity towards anyone.

But it also did feel good, fighting for what I believed to be the right thing and being supported and rewarded for it.

Such a rollercoaster - I'm glad it's over and done now.

Thank you all for your support!


footnotes:
I also have a bunch of additional indicators about who the mysterious collaborator/culprit "James" aka @hundreddays might actually be. I can't say whether he's himself aware of being instrumental to the situation, though. Hence I think it's for the better to keep those findings to myself. I will keep my eyes on them though!

edits:
- Despite the lack of any further statements from @renepaolo at the time of writing this edit, and despite the fact that he doesn't "sit around on the computer all day like he's doing nothing", several of his accounts are still showing frequent activity upvoting, powering down or making transfers to bittrex.
- Added visualization of the list of fake steemit accounts.


I'd like to hear what you think!

Are any of my claims unreasonable?

Do you think I should have handled this differently?

Do you believe @renepaolo could be innocent?


follow @fraenk

... it's free!
fraenk avatar
steem-on and prosper


Stop posting copy pasta! Stick some #GooglyEyes on things and win SBD and delegate SP with original content in the #GooglyPrize! [read more]

Sort:  

Interesting, the fact that the guy has so many accounts speaks for itself. Having one or two other accounts is easily explainable but having like 10? What possible reason would you have for needing so many accounts.

especially when all these accounts are doing nothing other than producing copy-pasta!

Well yeah you're right that's a problem in and of itself.

Sadly, in real life, people rarely confess their crimes when confronted by the evidence the way they do on TV.

You've obviously put a lot of your own time into not only digging for the truth, but also documenting that research so we can have enough information to make our own decisions.

Kudos

thanks, and yes, I tried to be thorough with my research... I really wouldn't want to accuse anybody without enough proof.

At least he did have to confess to the obvious facts! Albeit he was quite inventive in creating the stories around these.

Good to hear both sides. Nice work Fraenk!

Thanks! And thanks to yourself for being the neutral mediator in this, always keeping your calm!

Hats-off!

Great to see you check this out @aggroed and provide much needed support. I feel so much better knowing that you are involved and ON IT!
Keep up the GREAT work. I support you!

Is minnowsupport still a credible account to use? I have been reading so much on steemit about bots, support whales, delegated voting, etc. I really gets quite overwhelming. I am trying to 'clear my mind' of the information overload in reading about these subjects. If I ever figure out what minnowsupport does, should I try and use it?

Yes, there is absolutely nothing wrong with using MSP. Not even remotely shady. Nobody has a problem with it, even the complaints about bots aren't really meant for MSP.

Thank you for replying. As I said to @fraenk it's just going to take some time to get used to all of this here on Steemit. My question was not derogatory - in fact I was interested if MSP would be something I could/should use. I will read up on it this weekend. There is just so much content here on Steemit. I am finding that it might be best to limit my focuses.

Oh, I didn't interpret it as derogatory. Just skeptical, as well you should be, of everything.

well said!

@minnowsupport itself is a good cause. It's an effort to unite "small" users to strengthen their voice and support their growth. It is credible and legit.

There are obvious reasons why voting-trails and bot-voting could be disputed, but that's not what this is about.

This is about a human individual (or a group?) finding ways to cheat the game. The use of bots and trails is inherent to the way steemit is built, the fact that it's being abused is human.

Ok, thank you, and I will learn more over time. I have just seen this here a lot on Steemit, and wanted to know that it was safe. Thank you.

I'm appalled by the number of accounts he created and thank you for sharing the list. He really did sound defensive and unconvincing so it's hard to judge whether he is innocent or not. Well, now I'm just curious who's that mysterious collaborator is.

Anyway, I respect your detective work. Great job, you deserve a drink!

thanks for the support

Great work putting this all together @fraenk! I've followed this for some days then just put it aside!
But a question that's hovering over my head since is : How many more are there on the platform doing this business? How many more are abusing the system? I don't think this is the only case though!
Your thoughts?
Cheers
@progressivechef

there are certainly many more, I've heard that the msp team did actually already identify and stop some more accounts using the same mechanics after this had been revealed.

but there will always be more who'll try to cheat their way to quick profit, we'll just have to stay vigilant as a community!

yes sadly there are MANY more for sure. Sock puppets have been around since the beginning as well as copy pasta and plagiarism.
However people like @fraenk and @steemcleaners can help drastically reduce this!

Now if we choose to we can unfollow/mute and/or just not upvote any of those 'sock puppet accounts'.
Thanks to @fraenk for the due diligence an (alleged?) scammer has been exposed, but we must all make our own decisions and study the details too.

upvote & resteem

^^this

make your own decision based on the facts... not on my conclusion or tone!

needless to say, I believe the facts speak for themselve.

Awesome post!
Glad to see you are getting some support for this difficult and time consuming work!
I am going to be sure to feature and promote you for this as we need more people doing this and also more support for the people doing this.
You won a lot of points in my book. You can count on my support.
Keep up the great work!
SteemoN!

Thank you so much @quinneaker! I really appreciate your support!

Its hard to say "i was wrong" especially with your hand in the cookie jar and crumbs on your chin. Especially if you DO NOT INTEND TO STOP!!!
He is just going to change tack and get on with it, afterall its "James & the devil" that did it.
Nice work investigative work

heh... yeah... tomatos gonna tomate.

thanks!

Hey @fraenk!
I found this post to be a great and valuable contribution to our Steemit community!

One of the most important I have read today. I really appreciate how many articles you post that actually improve the steemit experience for so many.I make it a point to support articles that help our entire community succeed!!
I just posted a new episode of ~(~Q2C2~)~ and featured your project in hopes to advertise it and bring in more support!
Keep up the great work!
SteemON!!!
You can check it out here here if you like.

Thanks @quinneaker!

It's lovely to get your support like this. Much appreciated!

You deserve it for the reasons I stated. Happy to honor the truth~*~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84