Sort:  

I suspect the answer is no. Each blockchain (original and one from the hard fork) would have a different "history" forming after the hard fork. Thus the two blockchains are unique.

Maybe if they reach a consensus...then only the time between has a different history..?
A fork is a non destructing split, so... It is something to think about...
Maybe it isn't impossible, but a big challenge?

No. I do not think so as the new blockchain is different from the original.

Don't you think that they can sync them and make them 100% compatible again?
(to be honest, I also have my doubts)

The reason that you cannot, is because each section of the chain after the fork would have its own unique Ledger of blocks that are 100% different from the other chain.

Thus, in order to recombine them, you would have to write something in the code in order to have a pair of parallel chains that then recombine, or you would have to surgically insert and "sew in" one unique section after the other unique section and then start the re-combined blockchain from that point on. I don't think that that is reconcilable though. The transaction history.....where it points to previous transactions....is too specific and complex.

Thank you for this explanation. I understand that it is, to say it in your words, too specific ando too complex.
And I think after reading this... OK but not impossible... maybe only 1 change in one million (or less) but not imposible
Nice deep brain work and out of the thinking...

@marketingmonk maybe can answer this for us.... I don't think so but I am no expert.

I hope so too...that's why I pined it on his blog

That is not possible. It's like trying to merge 2 versions of history, one of them would have to be discarded which would have the affect of changing thousands of account balances in an instant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38