Greg Hunter Interview: Kevin Lawton -- "Bitcoin Civil War"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Greg Hunter interviews Kevin Lawton, author of "Beyond the Bitcoin Trap: A Crypto Currency for Human 2.0", discusses the upcoming Bitcoin fork to fix scaling issues.

Topics:

  • BIP148 -- August 1, 2017 implementation VERSUS the miner's proposal in the fall;
  • Will Bitcoin split into two versions (kinda like ETC and ETH) shortly after 1 August 2017?;
  • Possible liquidations of Bitcoin before 1 August 2017;
  • 2017 is a year of volatility for Bitcoin;
  • Effect of Initial Coin Offerings (ICOs);
  • Protecting your Bitcoins going into the forks;
  • Bitcoin a threat to central banks and crypto regulation;
  • Issues with Bitcoin;
  • Alternative solutions;
  • Smart contracts like Ethereum;
  • The future...;
  • and more..

34 minute video by Greg Hunter published 9 July 2017

Source:

Greg Hunter's YouTube channel: USAWatchDog
USA Watchdog website USA Watchdog
USA Watchdog on SteemIt: @usawatchdog

I am not affiliated with the USAWatchDog, other than being a fan and avid follower of Greg's work.
The purpose of this post is to raise awareness of the USAWatchDog, give Greg's work a wider audience, and direct traffic to his YouTube channel.

If you like this video, then you may want to subscribe to the USAWatchDog YouTube channel for more videos and updates.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

Bitcoin will scale. Too many people stand to lose too much if there's a contentious split.

I still believe that after all of these...Bitcoin will still be on top. It is up to us now to see the opportunity on this current situation.

Yeah, and I foresee another opportunity coming around August 1.

dear Mike, i appreciate it very much that you keep on steeming Greg Hunter's stuff, because otherwise i would miss it. thx! kind regards

I must admit that I do not link to all of Greg Hunter's interviews. I listen to them first to see if it is a topic of interest and a good interviewee. That said, I am a huge fan of Greg's work.

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

I listen to them first to see if it is a topic of interest and a good interviewee.

especially because of that, i appreciate it.

I like the analogy.

like

When I first clicked on the post, I read "Kevin Hamilton" (Racer) instead of Keven Lawton" :D And then I saw the word Bitcoin.. Was so confused LOL xD

No problem! I have misread titles a few times too. It is funny how sometimes we see what we want to see.

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Oh by the way, thanks for supporting some of my earlier content, I appreciated that! :) I got my first 'bigger' post 2 posts ago, exciting times!! Cheers, have a fantastic week :)

You are very welcome for the upvote!! I know how exciting it is to get an upvote that adds significantly to your rewards!
I am just a dolphin (in terms of my STEEM power), I hope you are able to do the same for a fellow poster when you become a whale (in terms of STEEM power).

Steem on,
Mike

Thanks my man! You're a beast. It is a really thrilling feeling I think for anyone to receive bigger rewards :)

So, what exactly is the power level of a whale then?

The "power level" is determined by the amount of STEEM Power one has measured in Million Vests (MV).

There have been many posts about this topic, here is one I bookmarked:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@lasseehlers/qblbo-eco-system-of-steemit-whales-orcas-dolphins-minnows-and-plankton

You can view your MV in the upper right-hand corner of the following tool:
https://steemd.com/@enazwahsdarb

Have a great day!
Steem on,
Mike

Thanks for that advice! I suppose I learn something new every day. That tool is a brilliantly in-depth resource! You are awesome :)

I must give my appreciation and showcase the fac tthat you communicate with readers very nicely! It's a great thing to step into the comment sections of someone's posts and see how they respond to their viewers. It's something I am also striving to achieve, and build a good name for. Building great rapport :)

Keep things rolling brother! Talk soon.

Wow! Thank you for that comment and compliment!

I certainly do try to have a good rapport with those who comment. And if I am wrong, which is more often than I like, I have no problem taking criticism, learning more, and having a good conversation. I do appreciate questions. They make me consider what I wrote and how I wrote it, and question myself too.

Have a fantastic weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

Upvoted resteemed and followed

Finger croosed til 1st August.

Well, if I got it right, Aug 1 isn't a date to bother too much. There's another update later in August, however at the end the big conclusion should be that this is a technical upgrade and it won't affect BTC in the long run.

I believe it will not effect BTC in the long run. In the short term, I think it is wise not to store BTC on any exchange, it should be stored in a wallet where you control the private key.

I have removed all my BTC from exchanges. As I learn more about crypto's, storing BTC on exhcanges does involve some risk.

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18