๐Ÿ’ฐ๐Ÿ“ˆ My Strategic Cryptocurrency Portfolio - Update #10 - Distribution & Developments ๐Ÿ“ˆ๐Ÿ’ฐ

in #cryptocurrency โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

It's time for another update on my cryptocurrency portfolio, number 10! The market has recovered a bit since last update and I've taken the time to reevaluate some of my position and changes are reflected in the graphs below.

I hope you find these updates valuable. The main goal of these updates is to spark a discussion on what might be the ideal cryptocurrency target distribution within a long-term focused portfolio (even though the short term is always interesting as well). Please share your thoughts :-)

Current target distribution long-term segment

The cryptocurrencies below make up at least 70% of all the coins that I hold at the moment of writing. They are the โ€˜Coreโ€™ segment of my portfolio as described in my post about the 70% Core / 30% Play Money approach to cryptocurrency investing.


Screen Shot 2018-04-28 at 09.57.04.png

Changes in the long-term segment (Core)

I've added Zilliqa (ZIL) to this long-term segment. So far I'm impressed what these guys are doing and they are the first project that implements sharding at the protocol level from the start. Next to that, I've made some slight changes to the distribution with this segment since the last update.

Bitcoin remains to have quite a dominant position in this segment as you can see. With the Lightning Network (LN) and the general adoption of BTC, to me Bitcoin remains to have a great risk/reward ratio for the long-term.

NameSymbolCurrentChange (ฮ”)
BitcoinBTC28%0%
WavesWAVES16%-4%
EthereumETH16%0%
NeoNEO16%0%
StratisSTRAT10%-2%
MoneroXMR8%0%
ZilliqaZIL6%+6%

Current consensus mechanism distribution

Since I don't want to bet all my investments on just one method of reaching consensus, I also keep an eye on the current consensus mechanism distribution within the long-term segment.


Screen Shot 2018-04-28 at 09.57.16.png

Changes in the short-term segment (Play Money)

A brief overview of the buys and sells since the last update. I did a little cleanup to reestablish focus.

Sold

  • Dock (DOCK)
  • Ubiq (UBQ)
  • Verium (VRM)
  • WePower (WPR)
  • Datum (DAT)
  • Bitcoin Gold (BTG) (from fork)

Bought

  • Funds used to strengthen position in current holdings

Current token vs coin distribution

I want to keep an eye on the token vs coin distribution in the short-term segment. Iโ€™ve counted the projects that eventually have their own blockchain, but now temporarily use a token (e.g. ERC-20/NEP-5), as a โ€˜coinโ€™.

*As you can see in this update no pie chart of the distribution of consensus mechanisms for the Play Money segment. I decided that it doesn't add much value for this segment.


Screen Shot 2018-04-28 at 09.57.27.png

So, what are the biggest differences with your holdings? What did you change is the last 30 days? Please share your thoughts!


---> ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ Follow me for regular updates on my cryptocurrency portfolio, crypto related articles and inspiring articles about personal time & life management.
---> ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ Resteems and upvotes are appreciated ;-)


Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, trader or developer. I am just a blockchain & cryptocurrencies enthusiast. Make sure you do your own research, draw your own conclusions and do not invest any money that you cannot afford to lose.

Sort: ย 

Awesome update. I hadn't heard of Zilliqa so I am going to research it now :)

Have you looked into the Bitcoin Cash fork scheduled for May with cheaper transactions promised?

Zilliqa is definitely interesting. I've also been to one of their meetups and stuff they are doing is solid as far as I can tell :-)

I haven't looked into the Bitcoin Cash fork. Personally I don't believe in Bitcoin Cash. Roger isn't a likeable guy, BCH doesn't have a lot of adoption and cheaper transactions are just not going to cut it. Bitcoin (Core) will bring Lightning Network and besides that, if it is about cheaper transactions I would bet on totally different projects, not BCH.

This looks good as 90% of your assets are in mainstream coins, they are going nowhere. In long-term, they will give profits. It looks like a risk-free portfolio.

The goal is indeed to have not that much risk but still have good upward potential :-)

I find the diversification of your currency interesting, how do you see WAVES and STRAT, do you see that they remain in your portfolio over time, do you consider them as profitable currencies?

I've had them for a long time, but as you can see over time the size of the positions went down. I think Waves needs to speed up things and clear up where their focus is soon (Vostok, Waves DEX, smart contracts, messaging, atomic swaps, ICOs?) and deliver. I really like the project but I the last communication was not very strong and a bit confusing. Stratis remains interesting, but honestly a bit 'boring'. I will reevaluate my position in Stratis in a month and maybe I will replace it with another project.

One guy i know, which is quite smart, says he just flips A coin..... ;) Wonder IF Thats A Good strategy

There are people who do that. Could definitely be a money making strategy, but it is not one I prefer :-)

Great article , keep the good work

Hi, dear users of steemit!
If you love trading - I recommend you good application for this: icoincourse.com
Notifications make trading more comfortable!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Hi, I'm an Upvote bot. I will upvote your post if you reply to this comment with "Upvote". ๐Ÿ‘ a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78