What made me invest into Crypto

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

As soon as I began my research I realized one major thing, I had to separate the old news from the new news! And for some reason there was this huge gap with no news. Well once I was able to figure that out and sort through the information, I ended up with 3 stages of Bitcoin news. Early adoption, Mt. GOX, and then current/present.

The early adoption news and articles all surrounded the dark web, terrorism, money laundering and and whole bunch of unanswered questions that made the average person run for the hills. In my honest opinion, back then if you bought in on Bitcoin, you were either very involved in blockchain tech, with a great understanding of what this tech was and how it could change things, you were involved in some type of activity that did not allow for fiat dollars, i.e. silk road or even as simple as PartyPoker, or lastly you are one ballsy investor who is willing to bet into almost anything to possibly get rich one day.

The Mt. GOX era news was of course surrounding the rise and then dramatic fall after the "hack" of Mt. Gox. however, also could be found some articles of Bitcoin usage beyond that of just the illegal and nefarious. However, the technology was still so new and complex that you needed a coder to translate. Oh yeah and who is the creator of this "bitcoin" and the fairy tale for adults is also born.

Then comes the third and final, which I'm labeling today/current as we have not yet had any major event to label this era of Crypto boom. Maybe it will be called the Coinbase era (will create a post on my observations on Coinbase and possible market manipulation), maybe this is the "Flipening" where we see ETH over take BTC and the top market-cap list. Not sure yet, but one thing is clear this time, BTC and blockchain tech are here to stay.

100 Billion dollar market cap, Crypto currency debit cards and ATM's, Global websites accepting it as currency, governments creating laws and regulations, Big Business and Corporate money funneling to the space, traders and platforms, apps, and so many other good positive reasons why I was convinced it wasn't gonna just disappear. Then you have the negative reasons...no faith in FIAT, corruption and manipulation of FIAT, Hackers and ransomware, ability to move and hold autonomously and anonymously(could also be a positive), and a host of other shady things that are happening in this space do to its decentralized deregulated nature.

If you are reading this today and you are considering jumping into the crypto space, I challenge you to ask yourself this question. Will this technology be around in 2-5 or even 10 years? Is there any utility or need for this technology? If you answered yes to these questions, then how could you not BUY IN???

The more you jump into this space, the more you hear about the new and exciting projects out there, the more you HODL and watch the value grow the more you get pulled in. I went from making a small investment onece I felt like I understood the basics, to being a CryptoManiac.

Sort:  

Really Amazing stuff and beautifully shared by you...
Thank you for sharing and have a good day :)

I was very interested in Bitcoin in the early days... but didn't buy. I just recently started researching Blockchain technology and I am also now "all in". Exciting times!

Mind sharing with me what exactly made you feel at ease with your investment? And a little more about your story of entry. Did someone help you? Youtube?

A guy I work with talked with me about Bitcoin and his interest in it... got me interested in it again. Now we talk about programming, tech and blockchain. It's good to have someone to talk with about this stuff in person. I have spent the last two weeks reading and watching a lot of Youtube videos. I feel like I've got a mini-education in a short time. It feels good!

EOS check it out

Could be promising. Im completely open to the idea that the crto currency or currencies that will really change the world, may not even exist yet. Will keep my eye on this one, thanks!

I always invest a little in the promising ones just in case:)

Just realized you were from New Orleans, me as well. Although currently living and working in Baton Rouge

I am actually from Baton Rouge. I should have guessed Creole. We have a group of crypto people here that get together every once in awhile. Will keep you posted if we do something.

of course BUY IN CryptoManiac hmm you describe me.

Love that everyone is all positive in this environment. Everyone is winning so minimal hating and crab in the barrel. Makes it easy to lust for and fall in love with crypto

The recent price action of cryptocurrencies has grabbed the attention of the mainstream media and speculators. Talk of returns of hundreds and even thousands of percent in a short space of time is hard to ignore.

The reason I stay in cryptocurrencies is the fundamentals. The price may go up and down daily - often large swings - but the fundamental story behind blockchain is solid. There are many, many news stories about the underlying technology of these currencies - and the overwhelming majority of reporting is positive on the long term prospects.

I agree, and the more money and regulations and attention, the more market cap and gains. I see this as an arms race, trying to stock pile my crypto while i can still afford it. Staying diversified within the top 5.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51