Cryptocurrency Mining - Minergate vs. Nicehash vs. Ethermine.org pool

I have been using Minergate GUI, console, or android app exclusively for Monero/Fantomcoin mining for about 15 days now and feel that it is time for a comparison to the other tools I have tried. I really do not feel like I am getting a very good hashrate on Minergate... It has been 16 days and on a TON of devices (up to 6 pcs and 10 androids) and I haven't even mined 1 whole Monero yet. I am going to try to be concise with this analysis as if I get into too many details either you or I will get lost.

My totals across 6 computers all using CPU and GPU mining is fairly meager in my opinion. On average I am mining .05761 Monero every 24 hours across ALL of my machines for the last 16 days using Minergate, PPLNS (approximately 24/7)

Output with Minergate GUI/console:
.92 Monero
675 bytecoin
2.5 Fantom
.75 Aeon

I am certain I am paying almost as much in power as I have mined! OK, you have a decent feel for how Minergate has worked for me now let's do a quick test on Nicehash.com Keep in mind, it appears that I will ultimately pay approximately 4% on the high end in fees to Nicehash.com. My feels for PPLNS and to transfer out payment of Monero in Minergate were approximately 1.02% total.

The main build I am going to use for this test of Nicehash and Ethermine.org processes includes an i7 3770k proc, 32GB ram, Samsung SSD for OS, and dual GTX 1070's overclocked +400Mhz memory clock.

Nicehash benchmark shows me at the below, but they convert everything to BTC payouts and use PPS by default:
169.8 H/s XMR, .00012482 BTC per day on CPU

  • 845.7 H/s Equihash (Zcash) .00215056 BTC per day on GPUs

After running a full out test with this system documented above, I was able to generate .00002967 BTC, and Nicehash's daily suggested output in USD was going to be .0029 or $7.39 daily USD. I have currently been mining all my systems across various tools and have only been averaging $11 a day (calculating in fluctuations in coin values). SO, $7 with only 1 of my systems on Nicehash seems pretty darn good even with up to a 4% fee!

Looks like from this chart I only captured 27 minutes, but still great info, "Main" is the system name I used:

OK, so lastly, here is some analysis on the few systems I can run high end GPU on the pool Ethermine.org, using Genoils ethminer tool.

My "effective" hashrate they show is an average of 47.3 Mh/s on the system listed in the above details (dual 1070s). My console output shows an average of 59 Mh/s so I am guessing there is a default loss of 20% of effective rate from what they show. Mingergate also showed discrepancies, but Nicehash seemed to be right on (for the 30 minute test).

I am averaging .019 Ethereum per day on this system, and after 16 days that equates to ~$4.61 per day at the current value of ethereum. The hashrates they display seem to fluctuate heavily, so that concerns me a little as well:

My output for 30 minutes on this pool is approximately $.09611.

Hopefully this helps you guys get a little bit of a feel on potential output from each tool, this was a very simple analysis but I honestly feel like even with the 3-4% fee I may be better off just using Nicehash. I have solo mined for a short bit and never hit a block, so like most people I have moved to pools.

Good luck.

Who am I?
BORIS!

Sort:  

Thank you for this. I left minergate running on a computer at work on Friday. Just logged in on my laptop and got this Untitled.jpg

This is the second time I've seen someone mention Nicehash

Yeah, the two kind of big ones are Minergate and Nicehash for extremely easy use and GUI (graphical user interfaces). Both are easy, but I am looking for best value for use and $ and I am not so sure Minergate is the best. The most interesting thing about Minergate is you can mine many coins, the most interesting thing about Nicehash is you can mine any coin and pay out in bitcoin. I also am intrigued with the better hashrates and output so far. Am running a test on several machines to see longer result set.

Hi Boris, do You know how to private message on Steam.chat via https://discordapp.com/ ??

will come back here a bit later... Thanks Boris

Hope You had a Good Weekend !!

I have discord, crypto chat at https://discord.gg/rS63czE

I was using minergate for a few days, it sucked, so i switched to Nicehash yesterday and i love it compared to minergate...think minergate steals some of everyones hashing power or something cause i was barely getting anything on there compared to what im getting on nicehash. So i would have to agree with your conclusion. lol.

Yeah, I'm not sure what's going on. Unfortunately I am having issues getting the new Nicehash gui to work on every machine. It seems a bit flaky, but it is the alpha version. Maybe I should find an older version. Either way, I can tell a significant difference in $ output .

Thanks for the post, and GL.

Who am I?
BORIS!

Great write up, Boris! I too have used both Minergate and Nicehash. Nicehash is the platform I find myself using most frequently because, like you, I find it allows me to earn higher returns. The one thing I like about Nicehash is when my miners build up a modest amt of earnings, they are either sent to my wallet address that I set up on Nicehash web site, or an off site wallet if needed. This way everything mined, in my case each day, is transferred into my wallet it is converted to bitcoin, thus allowing me to avoid seeing my total earned change due to fluctuations of exchange rates. The total amount needed to be mined varies by choice of wallet, more needs to accumulate prior to being sent off-site. I have a wallet with Nicehash and let it accumulate a bit before making totally painless transfers. I think the only time you aren't paying fees to the wallet provider to move and use cryptos is when using an offline wallet and transfering p2p. Watch out for some of sites that are eager to hold your BTC as their fees can be outrageous. Check how much it will cost to withdraw or move before allowing them to hold your coins, some will kick you in the cryptocrotch trying to get your money out

Sorry for my delayed response, been trading so much I haven't been nursing my Steemit acct. GL please keep me posted how your mining returns are working

Curious to see how these looked after 48 hours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62