You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tomshwom's Advanced Crypto Security Guide (Part 3) - Creating a Secure Wallet

@tomshwom Thanks so much for writing out this detailed guide. I decided to make things simple by not downloading Tails or the Kee pass yet and simply download the offline MEW wallet on an air-gapped device.

I'm trying to create an offline MEW wallet on my mac. I downloaded the zip file from the official Ether website here, placed it into a hard drive and then connected that hard drive to my Mac which has never been connected to the internet.

I opened the index document which took me to the offline version of the mew browser where I entered a password. Then I clicked generate wallet and it took me to a page where I clicked the "download keystore file" link.

However, no file was downloaded (how does a file get downloaded if you're offline?). What happened was that I was taken to a new tab titled, "blob:file:///xxxxxxxx".
What am I doing wrong? How do I download the UTC file offline on the mac?

I'll happily give a full UV to anyone who can help fix the problem.

Sort:  

You're technically downloading the file from yourself, since you're the "server" in this situation.

My hunch is that there's a dependency issue since you're running on a Mac that's never been on the internet.

I'd recommend downloading the Google Chrome installer and running that on the Mac, then try opening the index.html file using chrome.

If you're already using the latest version of chrome and this isn't working, you may be having issues with javascript. Again, download the latest version of the java installer, and make sure the browser settings aren't blocking it from running.

As a last-ditch option, you could just use the private key instead of a password+keystore. If you want to password protect the private key, throw it into a keypass database. If you really want a keystore too, use the one generated by keepass to access the password database. Then you can have your keepass password+keystore to access the private key.

Thanks for the tip. I downloaded the installer file from a pc with internet, sent that over to the mac to try to install it there but was told that I can't open the application since Microsoft Windows applications are not supported on the mac.

Installer for chrome? Regardless, you want the mac installer since it's going on a mac. I think this should help. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95346?co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&hl=en

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94