A Bit of crypto news

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I had every intention of carrying on with my CoinMarketCap post this evening

But fate is a cruel mistress and the best laid schemes of mice and men go oft awry. I have injured my arm and am really struggling to use a computer today. No, I have no idea how it happened, it is one of those injuries. So I apologise in advance for the lack of original content.

Fortunately for me; where one door closes, another opens. I do have a thing or two to share with you, compliments of a couple of emails I received today, emails which I really wanted to share with you anyway.

Here are three brief snippets which pertain to posts of mine. Consider them "updates".

Brain_anatomy_medical_head_skull_digital_3_d_x_ray_xray_psychedelic_3720x2631.jpg
By Martin420 [CC BY-SA 4.0 ], from Wikimedia Commons

A Bit of crypto news

LOCIcoin

Last Sunday I published a detailed review of LOCIcoin in one of my "Cryptocurrency Spotlight" posts. Today they sent out an email newsletter with one or two developments since then. The email contains a link to this news: "Unlocking Innovation: LOCI Search moves to free unlimited searching and more". To quote from the article:

LOCI is excited to announce a change to the pricing structure of LOCI Search. Users will now have free, unlimited access to searches! Aspiring inventors can now use their LOCIcoin to pay directly for comprehensive analysis of their inventions with Invention Analysis.

...and from the email:

... comprehensive analysis of their inventions with LOCI Invention Analysis. Users with existing subscriptions will be credited with LOCIcoin.

This is great news for LOCI (and crypto in general) adoption. I am pleased to see utility tokens moving forward like this. But it gets better:

LOCI Search has just been taken to the next level with its latest release that allows for users to search for patents and prior art through additional patent offices with a simple drop down filter. The first country to which Loci has expanded its search capabilities is China, and it plans to continue expanding through more international patent bodies thereafter.
~ From https://loci.io/2018/07/31/loci-introduces-international-searching-for-patents-expands-first-through-china/

Yep - that's LOCI expanding their patent search capabilities beyond the borders of the US (as I mentioned they promised to do in my post). Starting the expansion in China is also a very positive move; from various perspectives.

Coin line mini.png

CargoX

Bit Brain's teacher's pet coin (no not NEO, the other one) was the other email sender I took note of today. Not to be outdone, the shipping industry crypto had even better news than LOCIcoin did. This link contains the same information as the email that I received, but don't bother too much about it, I'll tell you the best stuff.

If you don't know what CargoX is (and you have the audacity to call yourself a Bit Brain follower! 😨) then read my "Cryptocurrency Spotlight" post about it. It's three months old, but still relevant.

New partnerships

CargoX has teamed up with Fracht AG (a freight forwarder) and OceanX (an NVOCC). I consider this to be big news and a major win for CargoX (and its new partners!). What is a Freight Forwarder and what's an NVOCC? I'm glad you asked, I had to go and read up on the NVOCC myself. This article explains them very well. Both exist to help move goods around using ships. The all important B/Ls feature prominently. If you don't know what a B/L is, then you haven't read my CargoX post (naughty naughty!). Smart B/Ls is what CargoX is all about. Basically what has happened here is that two symbiotic relationships have been created. I think that this will help to accelerate the growth of CargoX and of crypto in the logistics industry.

Read the articles here:

The partners and supporters list of CargoX is starting to look impressive!

Screenshot_1.png
From https://cargox.io/partners-and-supporters/

The first Smart B/L has been used commercially

Somebody went to an exchange (almost certainly my favourite: Kucoin - please use my link and do us both a favour.) and bought CargoX tokens (CXO). Then they bought an electronic Bill of Lading and paid for in using CXO.

That's one small step for CargoX, one giant leap for crypto!

It's a giant leap for the shipping industry too. I tell you this now: as more people realise the benefits of using utility coins like CargoX, so these coins will grow exponentially in popularity. Great for crypto in general! Read the full article here: First ever blockchain based Smart B/L was issued on a route from China to US First Lady Melania Trump’s home country of Slovenia. I suppose you could say that CargoX played their trump card.

Coin line mini.png

CoinMarketCap (CMC)

Yesterday I started my series about using CMC. In my post I placed a link to the CMC blog description of their new features, features released only yesterday. (https://blog.coinmarketcap.com/2018/08/01/coinmarketcap-announces-new-professional-api-and-features-on-site/)

After finishing my post last night, I returned to that blog post to get more details. After reading about the professional API, I visited the new Pro API page as well as the old (public) API page. To my dismay I learnt that the old API was to be discontinued in early December, dismay exacerbated by the fact that the new Pro API is a paid service. The free trial of the Pro API did not continue with the functionality that the old, free API offered.

For those who do not know what an API is/does: it is a way of using a little bit of code to extract formatted data from a site like CMC or an exchange. It is used to populate things like websites or phone apps with data - in this case crypto data. I use API data to track the performance of all my own cryptos.

These kind of things often happen to me; I never know if I am the cause of them or not (like when I wrote about ARCT spiking in price just after I blogged about it). Having a problem with CMC discontinuing their old API, I used their Request Form (which I mentioned yesterday) to send anonymous feedback. Generally I hate anonymity, but this is crypto: I keep everything anonymous for many reasons. I wrote them the following: (Yes, I'm the annoying sort of person who saves records of everything!)

Please don't get rid of the Public API. I think you will find that many of us find it very useful and simply can't afford a paid service. I live in a third-world country with a shocking economy and a currency that depreciates faster than gravity can pull it downwards. People like me really count on crypto to try to save us from the mess that our governments have made. Please don't exclude us. From a PR point of view I think you will also find that it is a big mistake to scrap the public service. Right now you are the loved good guys. Don't become the greedy corporates, that is the kind of thing that crypto fans despise and it could really backfire against you. I hope that you will take this into consideration. Kind regards.

Today this has appeared on their blog post (the day after the post and my feedback were written):

Screenshot_2.png
From https://blog.coinmarketcap.com/2018/08/01/coinmarketcap-announces-new-professional-api-and-features-on-site/

Whether that has anything to do with my feedback or not is irrelevant. Well done CMC! That is what crypto is all about! I am so glad to see that you have chosen to keep moving in the right direction! This is the kind of behaviour that gives me hope for humanity and is the reason that crypto should prove to be so popular: down with centralised greed, up with people creating their own wealth and helping one another! 😀💛

Coin line mini.png

Footnotes

I wrote more than I intended to. My arm is killing me! Hopefully I will be able to carry on with the CMC series tomorrow, if not, I may be forced to take a rest day 😟 This post did not allow for the rest that I had hoped, I just can't control my over-active typing gland!

Incidentally, did you know that you can tilt emojis? I found that out while writing this post 😨😨😨 😨😨😨 Fascinating! Small things Bit Brain, small things...

Yours in crypto,
Bit Brain

Coin line mini.png

Bit Brain recommends:

Crypto Exchanges:
KCS.png
BNB.png


Published on

mentormarket.io
by Bit Brain


https://mentormarket.io/legal/termsandconditions

Sort:  

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📉 7d
BNBBinance Coin13.955$0.05%-1.2%
KCSKuCoin Shares2.391$5.7%-15.1%
NEONEO28.853$5.91%-13.76%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12