My Crypto Perspective From A Newbie #Verge #XVG Investor

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Verge (1).jpg
Being a newbie to the cryptocurrency market place, I will tell you what I see happening with altcoins like Verge XVG, but this can also apply to any cryptocurrency that is currently hovering in the one-dollar-or-less range. I've spent countless hours (more than I ever wanted to,) reading articles and tweets, and even watching YouTube videos, soaking in every possible opinion of just about every coin, from the people that despise a particular crypto to the people that love it and reinforce their positions to HODL forever. (And no, I'm not comfortable typing "HODL" when I mean "hold.")

There seems to be two types of people that are turning these, possibly undervalued coins into a daily roller coaster of love and hate, buys and sells. You have the folks like myself. I'm essentially broke, and with my life at nearly the half way point, I have very little to show for years of working job after job, except for the ability to make ends meet each month, (which is nothing to be ashamed of, in this hard hitting time in history that this generation lives in.) Or maybe folks considerably younger than me, but very similarly possessing very little money that they can afford to invest in the new wild west, that is the cryptocurrency market. People like us seem to be buying various, inexpensive altcoins, because we're seeing the narrow yet very real possibility of our $200 becoming $20,000 in the course of a year. We tend more to pledge our allegiances to the coin (or coins) that we believe in, and then hold on to them as the roller coaster keeps on rolling up and down with each passing day, keeping our eyes on the goal. With what little people like us have to invest, we are basically "all-in," and wait patiently for the river card to drop in the coming weeks, months, or even years.

Then you have the folks that are somewhere between middle class and rich, who see this roller coaster ride in the altcoin market as pure fun, akin to sitting at a blackjack table in your favorite Vegas hotel, knowing that if you lose, life goes on without a hitch, but if you win, you win big. These are the people who likely already own a full Bitcoin, or several, which makes throwing around fifty grand in the altcoin market, buying low and selling high on a daily, if not hourly basis, not only so easily feasible, but what drives their passion to be in this (rightfully) unregulated shit storm of fun. These people come in and buy up the fears of the smaller investors like me, knowing that a big enough block of them will panic sell, and at least hope to walk away with a small gain, and then hang their hat and be done with it. Then, when the next batch of newbie investors come in, prices drive back up, and these whales dump for a quick profit. Then, well you already know... rinse and repeat.

I think there are many very astute, intelligent folks that make up the less wealthy block of altcoin owners. We know very well that as our everyday, real life moves forward, and we have to balance work, school, or whatever else it is that we do to survive and get through each month. Of course we would love to have enough money to play around with, so that we too, can be among the bigger fish that buy and sell, fattening our pockets every week, but until that initial big win on a small bet comes around for us, essentially "our crypto ship coming in," then we are best to remain wise to hold on to what we have. The way I see it, there most definitely is a few altcoins among the hundreds that currently exist, that will be as big as Bitcoin someday. Maybe even someday inside the next year. So, the money that we have in, whatever our uniquely chosen altcoins are, is essentially our bet being placed, that our future can be one where we too, enjoy the fun and care free time at the virtual crypto blackjack table, buying the panic sells of a whole new batch of newbies, but until such time as a few of us are made big winners, while the rest of us wish we'd have chosen that one lucky cryptocurrency that actually hit big, then we are best to HODL, and do with what little bets we can afford, one of my favorite sayings, "Let it Ride!"

Let's be honest with each other here. While certainly some altcoins have differing cases to be made as to why they have a real bright future, (one fantastic example of this is the "wraith protocol" hype associated with Verge XVG,) when all is said and done and we are having this conversation a year or more from now, wraith protocol's actual time of release, if any, is going to be hardly even relevant, and it is all going to boil down to the majority of our chosen currencies to all be luck. Plain old luck! On that note, I conclude this post by wishing each and every one of you... Good luck!

PS. Remember that in this life, a given amount of time is all we really have. Use that time to do whatever you have to do to live each day as a new and amazing experience. I do this by caring for my amazing girl and her two beautiful daughters, by being with them, half way around the world in Indonesia, as often and for as long as what little income that I have allows me to. That for me is a bigger reward than any amount of money to be made in the cryptocurrency market. My friends, love the people that you really have in this life, and be the best "you" that you can be, always. When this "time" runs out, Verge XVG, or ANY cryptocurrency, will have been nothing more than a sub-chapter in the book that is "your life."

Sort:  

thesteemster is old, tired, and worn-out like you. The exact same story. Years of hard work with not much to show for it. This week has been especially painful for thesteemster. You see by sheer luck I bought a TON of Verge 6 months ago. If it does go up to $5.00 I would be a tycoon. But now it is going down in price. I could have sold my Verge for more than what most earn in years of hard work. But heck no! I won't sell. I will wait another 5 years . If it doesn't increase by then, then I will sell it for market price. Well good luck sir, you and I deserve it.

Although not probably not as low as you, I got in at about $.015, and so even if Verge tanks, I will have only lost the dream that it could have been, but I hang on to hope through these recent dips, because you are right, we both deserve it, and I will hold on to the dream through thick and thin.

Yes indeed, we must cling to that dream! It is the closest that I have been to being rich!

ill say I gained most of my profits from ETH I have complete confidence in the project. over my time of just 1 year and a half which is just before things started to get hectic I've seen many emotions and discussions by several people. now going back into the main topic at hand I could see why people are putting their money into verge because of its low cost and to a person who has nothing it looks like perfect opportunity to join in but I've now seen people losing their fundamentals or joining the market without any to start with. so now you have a mountain of people all pumping something that truly needs to prove its a privacy coin but no one cares about that it's all about the money now and how to get rich quick which will screw verge over. I personally put my money into bigger coins the ones I could trust that have a strong community and a good development team. remember that this is a long-term thing and if you want to divest into these lower tier coins

I am also trying to see such an approach as you have taken. I'm holding on to the possibility that Verge has a future as a "privacy coin" as to the best I understand it, and whether any of this wraith protocol talk amounts to anything or not, I've committed to the currency and it's core community, for better or worse. I'm certainly not throwing money away that I can't afford to lose. I see, as you say, many people pumping money into a "get rich quick" hope. I'd like to think of my minuscule dip into this market as an experiment that may or may not ever pay off. Now I'm in "set it and forget it" mode, as life has more important things to be treasured.

I'm in the same mode you are now. The reason that I'm so into this is that I'm literally OBSESSED with this coin!! I have been since I heard about last May from Crypto Jack on Youtube .But if isn't meant to be so be it. There will be more opportunities ahead. As James Altucher points out these Cryptos are in their infancy . Remember in January Coinbase will add more coins. They are sure to increase in value. And on February 2 2018 it is believed that Amazon will make a major announcement related to cryptos. They may start accepting them as payment or even create one of their own.

Hi. I am @greetbot - a bot that uses AI to look for newbies who write good content!
Your post was approved by me. As reward it will be resteemed by a resteeming service.
greetbot's stamp of approval

@greetbot evaluated your post's quality score as [54.78] points!
Good Job!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @greetbot
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations @bayarealen! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Halo
How Long you made this account?

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Congratulations @bayarealen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22