The truth about EOS, the nature of blockchains, and the dawn of a new economy

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Reddit crosspost: https://www.reddit.com/r/eos/comments/7qyymu/the_truth_about_eos_the_nature_of_blockchains_and/

Hi, this is my first post on Steemit.

How does bitcoin and ethereum work? Why is the price going up? What are the advantages of EOS? What is the killer app for blockchains? What is the political motivation behind cryptocurrencies?

In this 103 minute video, I attempt to answer all these questions and more. Please share it with all your friends.

This is the same video which I posted on nicovideo earlier to spread awareness about EOS and crypto in Japan. However this version has annotated English subtitles for youtube. I hope you find it informative.

---

I have been working on this video since June. 

It was supposed to be released early last month, however there were production hiccups and it took longer than I thought to record it and put it all together. Some of the information is out of date already and I didn't have time to go through update everything. For example ethereum is over $1000 now, and backup producers no longer make blocks, instead they get paid by the main producers.

The video was made out of my deep love of Japan. The goal of this video is to rally Japanese people to buy EOS. There is a depressing lack of good information on cryptocurrencies in Japanese and almost nothing on EOS so I decided that I needed to make a little primer to help out our friends across the sea. EOS represents everything I love: techno-libertarianism, self-ownership, video games, online communities, and the chance to enrich myself and other people like me. So I had a lot of fun making this. (I also show some advantages of Steemit in this video.)

As I was making this video the EOS price skyrocketed out of left field and I felt an almost panicked desire to get this info out there as soon as possible. The ICO was designed to mitigate against such price movements, so there must have indeed been some strong influence from somewhere else (ignoring amount of eth contributed, eoschart.com shows a raise from ~100 investors at the low price to recently over 1000 and then back down to 700~900.) If I had even suspected the interest would change so abruptly I wouldn't have taken so much time focusing on the trivialities of presentation, but instead I ended up making the video twice as long as it was to make up for it. I feel incredibly bad about not being able to release this earlier since EOS is not nearly as cheap as it was when I began making the video. However it also gives me some hope about the potential of future prices.

Another reason the video was delayed, is that I have recently been undergoing 24/7 preparations to start work as close as possible to the summer genesis launch, if not right on the launch day, and start up as a block producer in Brazil. Until EOS gets it's own popular forum, I will post more information where most of the community congregates i.e. Steemit, Reddit, and Telegram. Please keep me in mind and follow my Twitter for further updates and videos in English and Japanese: https://twitter.com/The_Sasurai

---

Now, I have a small favor to ask of the EOS community. Nicovideo isn't like reddit or youtube, I can't appeal directly to the crypto enthusiasts there, instead I have to post a general interest video and hope that people who are already interested in crypto will find the video (I have received some skeptical comments already due to common misunderstandings from people who aren't into crypto, I will have to address some of this in my next video.) Nicovideo lets you pay money to advertise your videos and raise their ranking a bit, but I think I've pretty much maxed this out as far as it will go... I got 5000 views in a day, which for nicovideo isn't bad at all, but I think we should be able to do better. So once you've finished watching my video on youtube, please sign up for nicovideo if you don't have an account yet, and click on my video there. The reason for this is to raise the view count on nicovideo. The more views it gets, the more Japanese people will be curious and watch it, and this may cause it to gain some traction in Japan, and the demand and price for EOS will go up. So, in the spirit of EOS, let's see if we can work together to bring EOS to the Japanese market. I just want to see if this strategy works at all.

Here is the link to the original version with no subtitles (you need to register an account to view it.)

http://www.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm32593353

Sort:  

Congratulations @bakudd, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

This may be the greatest amateur video we've ever seen on EOS. Thanks for your hard work and go EOS!

Congratulations @bakudd! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bakudd! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59433.20
ETH 2442.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44