You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Path to Cryptocurrency Mass Adoption: Know Thyself

What a great article. So much to think about - don't know where to start. I hope this whole Article 13 thing here in europe doesn't effect Steemit too much... We need the freedom of DACs and Steemit is one of the best so far.

Oh man, I wish I would have been in crypto like you in 2013. Then I wouldn't stress myself so much, how I can finance the tuition fees for the painting academy. But however, I just go step by step and use the time in the meanwhile - to myself better :-)

Sort:  

First, I think that the EU is totally going to disrupt the internet with Article 13, and that, sadly, most people vastly understimate the degree of disruption this will create. If my understanding of it's effects is even close to correct, any site that provides relatively free speech will simply no longer be available in Europe. I've already seen sites that simply won't let folks from the EU on - unless they use a VPN - and I expect VPNs to be attacked and eradicated there for exactly that reason, just as they are now in Russia.

I wonder if this will be tolerable for long, or if most people even care enough to notice. We'll see. I hope ya'll do care, notice, and take steps. If not, NZ is the model of what is to come for the entire EU, and there are no longer any posters from NZ on the chans today. For all these reasons, and more (such that censorship is an existential threat to people facing danger, and we live in a dangerous world) we need on ramps to the internet that aren't commercial ISPs.

It is through ISPs that NZ is being cut off from free speech now. Mesh networks may not be the solution, but something like that needs to happen. Either we - free people - are able to speak to one another at our sole option, or we're chattel.

I hope you're here in a month. Please make sure I can be blessed by your knowledge and views if they try to stop you.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48