The Story of Buying My First Car

in #cryptocurrency8 years ago

The first few months of this year were a little depressing in one area of my life. My lovely friend Katre and I started looking for my first car. I had no idea that it would be such an ordeal. When we first started our search this is what I thought would happen:

  • Find a beautiful car (or at least a reliable one!)
  • Arrive at a reasonable price
  • Go home the happiest girl on earth

How it was in reality?

This is what I thought looking for my first car would feel like…I was so very wrong…

Did I mention that all of this was supposed to happen on the same day?  Ahem. Looking back on it I realize how silly it sounds, but that is really what I thought would happen. What actually happened was this:

Katre and I set aside about 4 hours one afternoon to go and look at used cars. We went to several different dealerships and I had my very first experience with used car salesmen.  Remember. Katre won’t do any of the talking or anything in a situation like this. She stands there and makes me do it myself. Ugh.

1st dealership: The salesmen didn’t know the prices of any of the used cars. He LITERALLY had to walk back into the office every time I asked him the price of one of the cars. I am not kidding. We finally gave up and went to the next place.

2nd dealership: I let the salesman know upfront that I had a specific budget of about $10,000 thanks to my grandparents and my dad. He told me that he would go inside, find out the prices of the cars, then come back out and show me the ones in my range. He went inside. I stood outside in the heat. Katre wandered off some where. I kept waiting. After 20 minutes he still had not reappeared. So we got back in the car to go to the next place. At that point he walked outside and let us know that they didn’t even own any cars in my price range but if I wanted to spend another 5 – 7 THOUSAND dollars he MIGHT be able to help me out. Wow. Thanks dude…

3rd dealership: Hmmmm. How do I put this? The salesman was creepy. And by creepy I mean that he didn’t really understand the concept of personal space. He showed us one car that was about $4,000 more that I could spend. And continued to creep. Katre told me we were leaving so….we left. No car - no problems. 

Sort:  

Car shopping is a frustrating endeavor. If you have the money in cash then you may be able to search craigslist or offerup to find a good car. You could also try carmax.com I have bought a car from them and it was great experience.

If you were to buy a car from craigslist see if you can bring a friend to help check it out who knows a little about cars or you can search online for an article on what to look for.

Congratulations @annaroht! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61141.76
ETH 2438.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56