You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

Did you not see the EDIT I made to my prior comment post to which you replied? I noticed you did not address the new Droot name idea.

It must have appeared while I was replying to you. Didn't see it until I'd hit "Post". No time to reply at that point, so thought it best not to hurry a response.

The remaining decision is what the user facing dApp(s) name(s) should be for the ones that I will be contributing to developing. Third parties may create other dApps. I am probably wanting one (or maybe two) names for the dApps I hope to develop and put all the various functionality under the one (or couple of) names, in order to minimize confusion.

So have you decided which dApps you will likely be contributing to?

Flout - the most direct to the point about defiant censorship resistance. But potentially the most polarizing.

Yes and yes (polarising too is Ayn Rand, darling of neo-liberals who you referred to further up). While the word accurately represents assertive individualism, Flout for me doesn't embody the impact of the sentiment.

I'd noticed when typing Klik - before you mentioned the multiple spellings of "click" and the confusion it might cause - that I repeatedly had to correct myself due to the conventional spelling being so ingrained in my head. However, another positive factor of Klik in addition to those already mentioned, is that it has lots of potential for strong graphic representation with those triangle / arrow shapes in the "Ks" butting up against the "Ls".

For me, on balance, even though Dverge does have some appeal, it ultimately seems too weighed down by the undesirable perceptions you mentioned.

I was happier with Dverse. Diversity is a popular concept right now, perhaps especially with the young. Seems less impeded by any negative connotations. As you say, "a universal, plethora, smörgåsbord and kaleidoscope of variety. Everything is included. Unlimited.". When I first glanced at these latest ideas, this is the one that stood out the most.

people are so lazy that they prefer the easiest and most familiar thing to remember, so in that way Klik has a lead out of the inception starting gate. But a more brandable and unique name such as Dverse or Droot would eventually overtake Klik in recall and recognition, but only if sufficient economies-of-scale in widescale popularity were attained.

Both "Es" in Dverse could be used in a logo to reflect the "E" currency - as too of course could Dverge, but I'm less persuaded by that as a name.

Droot - the most unique sound when pronounced. The most abstract, unique and most brandable. I really like it, but others may not? Will have no meaning for most people, just like Google at the inception.

The look and sound of the word seems friendly and cute; nothing negative. Sort of neutral if anything. My first thought was that perhaps Droot was a technical term, maybe connected with computer root memory / space, as I picked out "root", and then of course the obvious plant or tree root context. Then I thought of yet another narrow English cultural refererence (!), the band I Am Kloot. Droot has grown on me over the last day, but I can't put my finger on why.

They probably don’t consider the meaning of original source or the verb to firmly establish a foundation. Nor do most people attempt to sort out what the prefixed ‘d’ means, to formulate some abstraction of decentralization + rooted.

True. But even so, Droot is an appealing word that might just have wider appeal. Dunno. A bit of a wildcard. Do you think it's ESL-friendly? If so, my picks would be Droot and Klik. If not, Dverse and Klik.

people are so lazy that they prefer the easiest and most familiar thing to remember, so in that way Klik has a lead out of the inception starting gate. But a more brandable and unique name such as Dverse or Droot would eventually overtake Klik in recall and recognition, but only if sufficient economies-of-scale in widescale popularity were attained.

I'm curious to know why you think Klik is less brandable than the other two. Is it because it's already too well established conceptually around its various spelling permutations?

Good to hear your health is much improved recently.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48