You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago

You have a point in all what you say. But are you sure Cred hasn't been used for a concept like this before?

Different names for different features is not bad, but I wouldn't use too many, it could become quite confusing. When I first came here, it was like a maze, and it took me months to get everything figured out, with Steem, Steemit, Dlive, Dtube, Dmania, Busy, Esteem,... I know for a fact that this puts lots of people off, for joining Steem(it)...

I know it is hard, but you should be able to get a link (namewise) in between the different platforms and features of your network, to get user friendliness at a high.

But you are correct that Cred sounds better than Mosh. But with good marketing a name can be associated with anything. I really liked the sound of Mosh, but I get your reasoning.

Greetings, Pele23

Sort:  

You have a point in all what you say. But are you sure Cred hasn't been used for a concept like this before?

Akaik, nothing in a big way that would compete with us rolling out with it to hopefully a larger-scale adoption. If anyone knows of any such conflict, I would appreciate if they would post here.

As I wrote in my blog, I’m aware that Verify and Credo named their token CRED but I expect that project to fade away and it’s already one of the 100s of ostensibly illegal ICOs.

Different names for different features is not bad, but I wouldn't use too many, it could become quite confusing. When I first came here, it was like a maze, and it took me months to get everything figured out, with Steem, Steemit, Dlive, Dtube, Dmania, Busy, Esteem,... I know for a fact that this puts lots of people off, for joining Steem(it)...

I agree that is confusing. One potential improvement to perhaps make it easier is if the main portal website (e.g. credom.com or cred.net) keeps a wiki list of the apps and descriptions of what they do. So the users can then go to the portal to familiarize themselves. If the portal is also decentralized, i.e. anyone can contribute to the wiki, then there it can’t be alleged that there is centralized control. As for preventing vandalism or discord at the wiki, that is where my design for decentralized rankings comes in (I will not describe that in detail now). Or an elected foundation could maintain the portal, but democracy is always centralized.

Typically users will be arriving at an app because they like the content or concept and want to join, e.g. arriving at Steemit for blogging and Dtube for video sharing. And for our project that might be Candid for the blogging, Unglued for the video sharing, YaketyYak for a discussion site, Grok for a Q&A site, and Mosh for music sharing. If they want to signup, they’re be directed to the decentralized ledger portal, e.g. credom.com or cred.net if they want free tokens from the faucet signup process.

Some of the confusion you mention is being caused by the competing names, e.g. Busy is a clone of Steemit and Dlive is a clone of Dtube apparently without the 25% fee. As I said I have a design for curation which will squelch the discord and confusion by algorithmically (automatically with an option for individual manual override) detecting like-mindedness amongst curators.

I don’t think it works to have a music app and a blogging app in the same UI and thus using the same site name. A music app will have a much different format. You could put all the apps under the same site name, but then you have centralization, which is one of the bad things we’re trying to disintermediate. Decentralized competition will advance the state-of-the-art faster.

But you are correct that Cred sounds better than Mosh. But with good marketing a name can be associated with anything. I really liked the sound of Mosh, but I get your reasoning.

I think Mosh would be great for the music site on the Credom or Cred decentralized ledger. Hopefully Mosh would become very popular and cause much adoption of the Credom (aka CRED) system.

OTOH, I do get your point about unifying around one name. And Mosh is appealing to males, but that reinforces the point that one-size-fits-all causes discord. I think I get your implied point which is CRED sounds vanilla and rehashed. Mosh seems avant-garde.

Mosh could be confused with ‘mash’ and ‘mush’, yet Cred could be confused with ‘crud’.

P.S. You have reminded me (of an issue I had noted before) why it’s probably deleterious to introduce yet another name Credom (in addition to the token name cred) and instead better to use Cred for the portal site name. We already purchased cred.me.

Good to know, I have helped you in a little way. Good luck with the project, and I am following you now, so I can see the progress! I wish you the best.

Your feedback combined with @heavyd’s comment has generated a unifying idea.

Good for you man, I am quite curious!

Please note a new discussion which is about I added to the blog the name choices: Illume, Gist, and Knugget.

Ok, I’ll check it out later!

I think we’ve made a lot of progress on the naming ideas with my latest comment reply to @quillfiller. Thanks again for all your help. Don’t feel obligated to reply. Just wanted to let you know about the new name ideas linked above which weren’t in the original blog post you read.

cred.me!!! that's a cool site name

Please note a new discussion which is about I added to the blog the name choices: Illume, Gist, and Knugget.

Credom sounds very cool. I also like the idea of cred as a token, sounds like you have to earn it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87