You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

Again 2 days hence, I edited my prior comment and this comment to reflect your edits.

Has the naming been solved and decided?

CategoryName
Tokencred
BlogsCred
Q & AGrok
Messaging & DiscussionJot
StorageStor
Video & MusicStor or Trove or Recorded or Funkybit or Vidbit or JAMBOX?
EncyclopediaWepedia or Kno or Knol
GamesImmortal

Sorry, but I'm gonna have to hurry as pretty late now and won't have time for the detail I'd prefer to express, and I'm travelling Friday, but I'll try my best to be coherent.

I appreciate your feedback. Respond at your leisure if you want or have time. Apparently when we edit our comments it moves them up to the top of the Recent Replies list on Steemit. You could also reply to this comment although the nesting level is getting close to the limit.

I really like Chime for the reasons you stated, and also Jot; more so actually.

Agreed. I got so engrossed into the details of filling up the tables for what’s available for different names and also I was so enamored conceptually with getting three concepts into one name (the synergy of ‘rapport’, the notification, the “chiming in” participation and “adding our 2 cents”) that I lost focus on that Chime doesn’t associate as strongly with general discussion as Jot does with instant messaging because Chime has an alternative meaning which many people may focus on. I liked Jot for its concision, crisp vocalization, and because it calls to action quickly jotting down information. Thus for me it also implies efficiency, low complexity, easy-to-use, and hassle-free— which is very important in this era of information overload. But Jot doesn’t associate with voice or video discussion, but maybe that is okay because perhaps that capabilities should go under Recorded any way (although if we choose Trove the name is less appropriate for recorded audio that isn’t published) and then have interoperability between the two apps. Thus I have now added the availability tables for Jot to my prior comment above.

Jot is a name I thought of in 2014 when I was thinking of a token name of Dots. That was when I also thought of Iota and others and shared them with my private discussion group when included for example people who had been involved with Nxt so I think my name choices leaked out.

And for me, Tubular preferred to Immortal (doesn't connect for me somehow) for music and video.

I have edited again my prior comment and I have realized that associating with ‘tube’ is relinquishing branding to Youtube. It doesn’t convey any advantage of ours over Youtube. For Immortal I was trying to capture the avant-garde vibe of for example Tidal which is a fast growing music portal. But I think I agree with you and the filipinas in my household that Immortal doesn’t naturally associate with music and videos even though I made an abstract argument for it. That’s okay because we could use Immortal for games or specifically a MMORPG game. We still have JAMBOX.

Thus I have proposed Recorded and Recordegg. Once it's recorded, it can’t be deleted. It’s a permanent, immutable record. Many, many people are having their Youtube videos removed for various reasons. Ditto music when for example a riff sounds too similar to some copyrighted music.

I thought of a more abstract Root (or Roots/Rootz) which means going to the source and also in the USA “to root for” means to “support or hope for the success of”. Does anyone prefer this or have a better idea?

Yeah, Wepedia works pretty well - a grower. Imo, trips off the tongue easier than Ourpedia.

Agreed Wepedia is a winner.[see edit below] Ditto Cred, Grok, and Jot. Agreed?

(Possibly not relevant now, but in defence of "Mosh", I was listening to a short BBC radio programme today, "Lessons from the Mosh Pit", remarking how they are self-policing zones that have their own etiquette and short-lived and shifting hierarchy, with normal barriers to communication removed.)

Hmm so maybe Mosh is more appropriate for a decentralized governance or DAO. Competes with the suggestion Civitas.


Replies below from before the current edit above…

Makes me wonder how important it is for the name to be associated directly with its purpose, including benefits, and not simply a word that is original, compelling, enjoyable to say and looks good.

I think the name should both associate with some meaning or meme for many people and also have those other attributes you mentioned. Of course there may be some people who don’t get that meaning or meme initially, but they learn. For example, filipinas had no idea that ‘tube’ was associated with television in the West, but they associate ‘tube’ with videos (and not television!) now.

Going back, some random examples: Apple, Adobe, Yahoo, Lego ( I could go on) have no conceptual links to their purpose but are/were successful.

Apple had two associative memes:

Yahoo means to express great joy or excitement. So that’s well fit to finding new sites on the Internet back when Yahoo was #1 portal for finding what was on the Internet.

The name ‘LEGO’ is an abbreviation of the two Danish words “leg godt”, meaning “play well”.

FEED seems rather functional and uninspiring to me (in addition to your remark regarding a possible association with animal feed), as do LINKS, JUNCTION

Agreed. That is why I was still working on my comment and working on new ideas.

wubwubwub.com

Frankly speaking I have no idea what that is supposed to mean or even what sort of sound or chant it’s supposed to be. Is it the sound of a warped vinyl record as it plays in the intro before the music starts for us old farts who played vinyl records?

I think perhaps you misunderstood my point about hubbub. I’ll exaggerate to make my point more evident that these genre of bubbubbobbodbob names are very difficult for users to differentiate from bobbudbobbag. The many permutations get jumbled in the minds. Hubbub and hubbug are too similar and can be misstyped and misspoken for the other. I happenstanced today in my searches on the name tubetube. That tubetube is silly. Just say tube unless it has some preexisting usage and meaning in society such as the Rub-A-Dub-Dub nursery rhyme.


EDIT 6 days later: Surprised that my mother also didn’t know the meaning of ‘grok’ because she is more astute than me in vocabulary. My mother associates Grok with the Guardians of the Galaxy small little tree version of the Groot (/ɡruːt/) the cute, fictional cartoon character:

But both my mother and daughter pointed out that Wepedia sounds like “we peed here” when spoken. So we need to think of a new name.

Some suggested names implying wisdom such as ‘sage’ or ‘guru’, but an encyclopedia
does not impart wisdom. An encyclopedia contains a compendium of
knowledge.

I will suggest Kno or Knol. Google’s Knol was “unit of knowledge” but it failed because of having an incorrect conceptual design (← and those are important lessons for what to not let happen for our project). Google’s trademark on KNOL was cancelled in 2017! Four years ago the trademark was cited to discourage Knol – Let's Rethink the Way We Handle Knowledge Bases (knol.io) from using it.



I think Kno and Knol are more brandable than ‘know’ and know.org is taken. Remember Wikipedia is wikipedia.org not .com. Although knol.com is taken by a cleaning solutions company, I doubt anyone would confuse it with Knol for a knowledge encyclopedia. However, wikipedia.com does redirect to wikipedia.org.

We registered knol.co, knolco.com, knol.cc, knol.app, knol.network, knolnetwork.com, knol.xyz, knol.site, knol.cash, kno.cash, kno.land, knoland.com, kno.website, knowebsite.com, and kno.cloud for $101 total.


TLDStatusEstibot (valuate) valueDomainIndex value
kno.commin. offer $50,000$487,000$10,600
.netmake offer$17,000$0
.org$7495$14,000$0
.comake offer
min. offer $2000
$860$0
.itmake offer$1300$0
.ioredirects to coreography.com
.usnot in use$800
.menot in use
.ws$531$25$0
.to$100 biannually
knoit.comtaken
knol.comtaken$58,000$6120
.netoffline$18,000$0
.orgmake offer
min. offer $1000
$8000$0
.ionot in use$240
.usmake offer$860
.menot in serious use
.to$100 biannually
Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81