You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

I have entirely ruled out the name mosh. It doesn’t convey anything really and can be confused with “say what? Moss?” and mush. That’s essentially reiterating my original stance when I wrote this blog.

I also agree that the meaning of knol is not as obvious. Also it’s not as apropos. Veracity and credibility is really the general attribute that cred tokens will represent, because essentially accumulation of tokens is going to be a function of how many decentralized curators rank your contributions highly, leading to more page views and thus more income.

I was hoping to have a main app and site name which matches the token name, but so far am unable to. I’m not even convinced that Knol is a good app name.

I’m brainstorming site names and trying to think of one that conveys that divergent opinions are not censored. Also still trying to capture the concept of escaping from the creeping totalitarianism. Also wanting to stand out (be memorable) from the crowd of vanilla site names. I am also interested in the theme of technologically crashing through borders and barriers. I would like to capture the notion of a permanent archive with no dead links forming in the future. I would also like to capture the open data notion that everything (not encrypted nor marked with copyright) is editable and there can exist multiple versions of any document — everything can be forked.

My best “new” idea thus far is:

  • Hyperdata - registered .app, .me, .us and hyper-data (.net and .org); .com, .net and .org not in use

After Bitnet, I had adopted the name idea of Hypermesh (even posted to bitcointalk.org as username Hyperme.sh which was a domain I registered), but I abandoned that idea because it really didn’t convey any benefit to the user. I can’t remember if I thought of hyperdata at that prior juncture. Hyperdata is better than opendata because it can be a superset of open data (i.e. doesn’t force data to be unencrypted with permissive license). More descriptive of benefits than datasphere. More generalized benefits than wikify. Fewer problematic connotations than richdata and transdata.

So Hyperdata would supplant all the prior name ideas (other than the token name cred). Thus perhaps blog.hyperdata.org, wiki.hyperdata.org, debate.hyperdata.org, video.hyperdata.org, music.hyperdata.org, archive.hyperdata.org, etc..

P.S. I also like the debate.org concept for an app, wherein two debaters go against each other and everyone else is allowed to post comments.


EDIT: I will elaborate on my logic for choosing Hyperdata. A descriptive name is best because it will cause nearly every demographic to contemplate that there’s some technological innovation to be curious about. Whereas, my prior name ideas such as Knol, Jot, Stor not only don’t have a clear statement of utility for all demographics (e.g. knoll is a hill for Americans yet it’s meaningless for Asians), they’re also lost in the sea of already popular metaphoric website names such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Kik. So “why is my data hyper?” is a superior reaction and branding as compared to “what is knol (or why on a hill) and btw what did you say?” Or superior to “Stor what or jot what, and what for?” They already store and jot on their existing social media sites, so there’s no differentiation.

Sort:  

My best “new” idea thus far is:

Hyperdata

I see your reasoning behind selecting this name, that it's more descriptive of its benefits than datasphere etc, and has a "clear statement of utility". I don't know, there's something about it that appears reminiscent of the nineties somehow; I immediately thought of hypertext. I'm not saying I dislike it, but I'm wondering if it has the potential of a wider appeal beyond those with a more technical appreciation.

I think that when/if you come across "the" name you'll know it straight off in a way you haven't with previous ones. And it will still seem good in a week or a month's time.

I’m brainstorming site names and trying to think of one that conveys that divergent opinions are not censored. Also still trying to capture the concept of escaping from the creeping totalitarianism. Also wanting to stand out (be memorable) from the crowd of vanilla site names. I am also interested in the theme of technologically crashing through borders and barriers. I would like to capture the notion of a permanent archive with no dead links forming in the future.

OK, I'll put my own head above the parapet now and suggest this one: Immute. Shortened from "Immutable". Permanent, and also implying not to mute opinion, standing up to oppression, and can't disappear down the memory hole.

Though I concede it doesn't also fit with your wanting to

capture the open data notion that everything (not encrypted nor marked with copyright) is editable and there can exist multiple versions of any document — everything can be forked.

Could this be comparable with an evolutionary tree , or Phylogenetic tree?

P.S. I also like the debate.org concept for an app, wherein two debaters go against each other and everyone else is allowed to post comments.

EDIT:
Which reminded me of this game of Cambodian chess shown here (up to 15:45), which I believe is called Makruk. How the bystanders are contributing ideas to the confrontation.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53