You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Name YOUR decentralized social network?

in #cryptocurrencies6 years ago (edited)

So have you decided which dApps you will likely be contributing to?

No. Let’s see what resources are available for collaboration on them at that juncture. Obviously I have mentioned many ideas for dApps, so there’s a lot interesting ones I’d love to develop. I can generate many more ideas than I can code. Always been that way.

Recently Luke Gordon has been volunteering some of his time to learn about programming language development while developing the new programming language Co. I’m hoping he might also be available for contributing on this altcoin project. Note anyone who likes to make a BTC donation to support Luke’s open source volunteerism, please feel free to come by and also talk to us in encrypted communications at Crypto.cat chat username ECASH or via email at [email protected] if you create a secure protonmail.com account.

While the word accurately represents assertive individualism, Flout for me doesn't embody the impact of the sentiment.

Yeah only the word ‘maverick’ or ‘sui generis’ come to mind as more apropos for positively representing individualism but neither are very good names. The other words that come to mind have negative vibes, such as iconoclast, rebel, dissident and heretic.

I'd noticed when typing Klik - before you mentioned the multiple spellings of "click" and the confusion it might cause - that I repeatedly had to correct myself due to the conventional spelling being so ingrained in my head. However, another positive factor of Klik in addition to those already mentioned, is that it has lots of potential for strong graphic representation with those triangle / arrow shapes in the "Ks" butting up against the "Ls".

Agreed, I’m also mistyping it ‘kilk’ when I was lacking sleep. Too many spellings. Conceptually the word is easy to recall, but recalling a specific spelling may be another source of attrition.

Also agree on the geometrical strength of the spelling I chose (and was one of the reasons I favored that spelling).

I'm curious to know why you think Klik is less brandable than the other two. Is it because it's already too well established conceptually around its various spelling permutations?

Droot is a new word, so is not competing with alternative brands of the word. If not the ‘diverse’ meaning then Dverse is also a new word for decentralized universe of dApps (but we would have to brand that heavily to get people to think of it that way). Whether the ‘diverse’ meaning can be moved away from political correctness and social justice to the desired diversity of dApps is not certain in my mind.

Clicking is nothing new. We do it on the computer since 1984. How do we brand clicking as a unique. To attempt to brand the abstract concept of “we clicked” (as in synergies), is fighting against the very ingrained concept of a mouse click. I think it is a losing battle.

Yeah simpletons and Asians can remember Klik, but I am not sure if that is worth much when it can’t stand out as unique from mouse clicking.

I was happier with Dverse. Diversity is a popular concept right now, perhaps especially with the young. Seems less impeded by any negative connotations. As you say, “a universal, plethora, smörgåsbord and kaleidoscope of variety. Everything is included. Unlimited.” When I first glanced at these latest ideas, this is the one that stood out the most.

Political correctness and social justice warrior activism is not a negative and polarizing concept?

Droot - the most unique sound when pronounced. The most abstract, unique and most brandable. I really like it, but others may not? Will have no meaning for most people, just like Google at the inception.

The look and sound of the word seems friendly and cute; nothing negative. Sort of neutral if anything. My first thought was that perhaps Droot was a technical term, maybe connected with computer root memory / space, as I picked out "root", and then of course the obvious plant or tree root context. Then I thought of yet another narrow English cultural refererence (!), the band I Am Kloot. Droot has grown on me over the last day, but I can't put my finger on why.

Droot has a nice sound, it’s only one syllable, it’s creative, and it has both technical and earthly associations. That makes it cute I guess.

I’m also gravitating towards Droot as the most brandable if we can think of a concept for its brand that works.

I’m thinking of making it like a game where the cute Droot droid will dance and say cute phrases depending on how much feedback/readership your contributions/activities in the dApps attain. Remember this will be (unlike Steem) a microtransaction system so feedback/readership isn’t free (although so low-cost that no one will complain, but not low-cost enough to just spam away). I’m thinking for example on our model of a Wikipedia clone how any user will be able to fork any page and create a version that diverges from some non-existent global consensus. Readers will have the divergent forks of a page ranked from their chosen curation configuration (and the #1 rank being the default) where every user can thus see different rankings. Anyway, the point of mentioning this, is that drooting can be associated with forking a page. I suppose we could apply this forking to everything including blogs and dApps. There may be many forks of the same dApp (or let’s say different configurations of plugin customizations for each dApp). So drooting can be that process of decentralized forking of available choices. In that process the Droot bot is there to applaud and tantalize/entertain you about your success. Over time the Droot bot could become more sentient and replace Siri.

Note I like Dverse in spite of it not really driving the actual or emotional needs that most people have, if we can brand the desired association of diversity to decentralized universe of dApps. But the aforementioned SJWs association might be problematic. Or maybe not? The Asians don’t give a flying-fsck about that Western political correctness acrimony. So we can brand Dverse to the Asians as what we want them to think of it. But Asians react more strongly to anime, emoji, and cute cuddleable marketing concepts.

Also for Westerners, Dverse with user configurable curation and no censorship means diversity is respected, but not in the way that leftists want it where they are in control and can tell everyone else how to act. So it is sort of like a fabulous slight of hand where we say, “okay you want diversity, then we are going to give it to you, but you won’t like what diversity really is in the real world where meritocracy matters and people can choose.” Free markets are inherently more diverse, but Marxists will profess otherwise.

Good to hear your health is much improved recently.

I would not say “much”. Significantly yes, but not as in much better to the point of near normal. I still have ongoing, worrisome gut dysfunction. This is scary. I do feel considerably less distraught and concentration is more consistent and better. But is not like I feel as though I am not worried much about a very serious chronic illness. Hopefully I can continue to improve to the point where I can feel that way (by the end of this month?). About your question about more medical tests, I’m not in the financial situation nor do I have the time to wrestle that beast right now. The Singapore expert doctor indicated he would want to CAT scan me from head-to-toe. No thanks on 1000+ xrays of radiation as an initial step. I will need to approach this with full focus and resources, when I decide I am ready to engage the modern medical system fully on diagnostics. Anyway, at the moment I think I should continue doing what I am doing.

I ran 5 kms this evening in a time of 32:30 without stopping.

Fastest and farthest I’ve run non-stop since perhaps 2009. It’s double of the limiting distance of about 2.5 kms (without resting) I was stuck at with the gut limitation since at least 2013ish. Note this is not a cardio (aerobic) limitation, but rather the gut causes a limitation. I am breathing through my nose for the first half.

This is nearly double my sub-17 minute time for that distance in high school.


@johnnyflynn wrote:

My preference would be Dverse (for the user-facing dApp). It’s got the association to ‘decentralised’ and suggests a ‘dApp’ universe (or federated dApp as I take your vision to be). Although I’m not enamoured by Klick, I see your points regarding its accessibility (especially to the Asian market). For me e-Klick would align it more with etonomy (but still wouldn’t beat Dverse).

Agreed. Note I don’t like eKlik (nor e-Klik) because it defeats the point of the widespread understanding that makes Klik a desirable name. Adding the prepend-age baggage prefix of ‘e-’ is an attempt marry two concepts which don’t play together (Etonomy and widespread understanding of Klik).

Although Dverse is a better name in terms of conveying the meaning you cite, that cited meaning may not be appreciated by most people. Whereas if we named it AppConsolidator or AppTamer, then people might actually appreciate the meaning. Centralization is problem that very few people realize is a problem that affects them significantly.

Pertaining to the decentralized universe meaning, Dverse is a strong name for those of us who have reasoned through the importance of decentralization, but it is a weak name for most people. Isn’t anything they’re interested in. There’s an analogy to talking about math and rebuilding engines at a party with a lot of females.

However the name is actually pronounced ‘diverse’ and diversity is a popular concept in the West, although I’m afraid it would be primarily associated with political correctness and social justice, which is very bad and polarizing. And diversity is a concept that Asians can’t relate to at all. They’re xenophobic and they accept castes in society as a reality.

Droot made me think of droop/droopy/flacid.

I forgot about the word ‘droop’, but I doubt many people will make that association. Also branding can remove that very weakly linked association. Why not ‘drool’? Okay I guess ‘p’ sounds more than ‘t’ than ‘l’ does. As an example, I presume you don’t associate ‘group’ with Groot. Okay ‘group’ doesn’t have a double ‘oo’ but still my reaction is somewhat valid.


Some feedback I received in private chat:

Do Brits not engage much with the informal and more recent definitions of ‘to click’ which Americans seem to know about as quoted below from my up-thread post?

Neither do I (and neither do French people, probably, as well as many europeans), in fact "klik", "we-klik" etc. likely are to be associated with promotional banners or shady pop-ups enjoining us to click to win whatever 'cause we're the 1,000,000th visitor' or to see some (fake) news/article with "putaclick" ("click-whore", meaning appealing title with poor/fraudulous content) title and content.

Also the obvious ‘click’ meaning implies it is extremely easy-to-use without tsuris, i.e. point-and-click. Which ties in both with more degrees-of-freedom and users being able to achieve what they want without problems, and also just in general that users like snappy, instant ease.

That's a far more abstract link than "autonomy" being associated with "etonomy" to me. Very interesting of course, but I'm just comparing the two names.

Unfortunately autonomy is the least direct connotation of Etonomy. More likely is something to do with economy (possibly the thrift/efficiency meaning) and even environmentalism and energy efficiency.

Weighing in on Klik vs Etonomy; the former seems disposable and fad-like, while the latter suggests big picture longevity/respectable (IMO)

Well a popular fad is what we need to scale up adoption. And the blockchain ecosystem should be orthogonal and have longevity.

I do agree with both of you:regarding what "klik" conveys as a meaning for me, "etonomy" is far more respectable. But that's only one point of view coming from a non-english-native european speaker. Your vision may prevail shortly over that nasty meaning inferred by that "click" on ads, depending on marketing.

I realize that even fewer people will assign any meaning to Droot than to Etonomy. People just don’t think deeply about names. I like that Droot is unique, concise, one syllable and many Americans (or anyone else who has seen the movie) may think of the very cute Groot which I had

For sure there's fewer meaning immediately catchable with Droot than with Etonomy. But Droot is catchy, although we don't really know right away how to pronounce it. In France (but that's not a very strong argument) it could be spelled like "déroute", which describes the chaotic movment of a defeated army leaving the battlefield, thus any unfortunate moment you see yourself lost into due to some bad decision/action. But it's quite rare so that sounding may well be turned into something positive. If it's branded as a noun like "Groot" I like it much better. But your logo and that "root" stuff made me somehow want to say it D-root.

Yeah derout has same meaning in English and as well de-route implies to divert or re-route. I forgot about that. But I doubt that most English speakers will think of that fairly obscure word.

  1. Dverse - most strongly suggestive of decentralization via allowed variety with the some minimum possible negative interpretations.

I do prefer Droot but maybe cause I associate it with that d-root meaning and with Groot (but Groot only is due to an ephemere fashion). Dverse seems a bit like a non-real choice : it's not that catchy and brandable, yet not "respectable/severe"-sounding like Etonomy (which I do really like, possibly due to its latine etymology, yet with better meanings to me than Dverse, but agree that for large mass-targeted marketing it could be too serious/obscure regarding meanings)

Dverse is a strong name for those of us who have reasoned through the importance of decentralization, but it is a weak name for most people. Isn’t anything they’re interested in.

Agreed. People don't care for "going diverse", sounds like homeworks or guilt-ecology stuff, like I do have to eat diverse food though I only like one meal or whatever. My point is just that's not such a very good call-to-action when you read "Dverse".

He has a point there. Diverse does not actually convey “give me more things I want”.

Sort:  

 I agree an SJW’s interpretation of Dverse would most likely evoke a positive association. Until… 

“okay you want diversity, then we are going to give it to you, but you won’t like what diversity really is in the real world where meritocracy matters and people can choose.” 

But I reckon any subsequent clash of interpretations would be a welcome point of discussion. Perhaps resulting in a consuming of the false one. In any case I think Dverse serves both masters enough to strongly consider. 

Whereas if we named it AppConsolidator or AppTamer, then people might actually appreciate the meaning.

 I think exploring the best way to convey this would be a good line of inquiry. I’m not sure about calling it AppConsolidator (but maybe AppTamer) as it describes more the purpose to me. But something like ‘Edapt’: the App consolidator powered by Etonomy. 

BTW, I take your point with regard to marrying two concepts that shouldn’t wed. I guess I like the idea that any native or third party dApp would include the ‘E’ token symbol to strengthen its association with Etonomy (‘cos it’s a friggin great name IMO)… 

My wife suggested ‘FedApp’ when I was explaining the concept of a federated/consolidated app to replace the overload we currently deal with. She then went on a marketing pitch “Fed up with using so many apps? Use FedApp - The only federated Application you’ll ever need”… I thought it was pretty cool after a few drinks :) 

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40