You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are SMT’s the carrot on the stick?

in #crypto2crypto6 years ago

It is more than a little disheartening to see the current scenario. I made random comment on Bernie's post to which another added something. To this addition Ned replied and never even tried to convincingly answer the questions raised.

These things make you start wondering 'WTF am I doing here?' Thankfully decentralization has its advantages...... and they are more than a few,

Sort:  

He didn’t even try to defend what was going on. Add in the fact that he tried to claim that the brixton account wasn’t his. I’m kind of tired of the deception.

Very well said. Reading his responses are very uninspiring, and kind of feels like he has made enough money to not really care what happens next.

Im still stuck on the fact that he denied ownership of the account that is dumping steem. This to me is clear as day and should have been appropriately​addressed​d.

Maybe its his, maybe its not................. more needs to be done by the supposed figurehead. I have learned the hard way that the rumors are not always wrong. Good leasers address them before they get out of hand.

Which he has not, even when presented with a platform to do so.

This sucks... I think everything kinda went sideways when Dan left... It almost feels like ned just doesn't have the passion and confidence I felt from dan. His responses feel vapid and empty to me. Actions obviously speak louder than words and the fact ned seemed to try and deflect doens't help the situation...

I am not a programmer, therefore, I don't feel like I have the expertise necessary to make many claims about how something like this is "progressing" if I'm just not really in that "loop". This is one of the difficulties, in my opinion, about "decentralized" formats--they seem to be inclined toward forming "pockets" of insular views, not really very aware of what is going on in the bigger picture.

One of the claims I remember that was made by bernie was something along the line of the fact that steemit simply doesn't have the "talent" to build something like SMTs. To which Ned made a reply later that the "SMT cave was going to be full this weekend" implying what I take to mean that there would be a team hard at work on the project.

BUt... if that were the case, shouldn't we be hearing from these "other" developers? Shouldn't there have been at least some kind of "updates" so far on the project's process? I haven't seen anything, frankly, from what I have seen from the "team," there doesn't appear to be that fire there. Are there others here who are capable of producing other great projects? I think so. BUT, if the very owner of the platform they are considering investing in is himself not even very invested.. well... It'll take a miracle!

This is where one has to ask if the platform, Steemit itself, and also the technology behind it, the graphene blockchain themselves--independant of some CEO--good enough, valuable enough to bring something innovative to the table. To that I would answer YES. But we need a leader!!

Man, I haven't been here since the early days (just joined in Jan 2018) but I can feel the subtle shift and changes. There is a certain hint/smell of corporatism in the air (mind you not capitalism but corporatism).

I am not saying that there aren't decent folks here because there are plenty. What I am worried about is the future or the path we have taken. There were promises in place when I came here but their delivery hasn't been yet achieved. Frankly, I have seen real estate constructions projects sometimes finish faster than this.

I am afraid that as we sit here scratching our asses other projects will take the mantle. There is a very good chance that other block chains might get it done quicker and before us.........

Very true. I have been eying a few of them, though they are not great, they are moving

Very true. I have been eying a few of them, though they are not great, they are moving

Which is such a shame, becuae one is here and rolling! And already has a following! I don't know if what I think it was ned said was correct, but, steemit is the 20th most visited page online? Something like that... (Seems a bit far-fetched now that I think about it).

BUT, hey, STEEM is still in the top 20 cryptos... But there are competitors. I use it pretty much daily, and try to tell friends and family about it (haven't been too successful there lol). It is a working, functioning ecosystem built with blockchain technology. It's the best of its kind (that I know of). Though like you said, "something's in the air..." SteemAuto has gone down "for maintenance.." It's kinda weird to think about what would happen if, for example, steemit did "die," or end--what would happen to all the data?? Kinda weird to consider (kinda creepy too!).

I didn't mean to come off as bad-mouthing ned or anyone for that matter--heck, he's done a lot more in business than I have achieved, but... No one likes a "flake" :( . That being said, as others have pointed out, ultimately, it's not Ned's or anyone elses's responsibility to keep steemit going, or whatever--or at least that was kind of the idea, I think. I have powered down in recent weeks. My hope was that the market would be swinging back up by that point, and I could finally "cash in" on a bit of my steem, but, to be honest, I'm not quite so sure where I'll be going. The next few weeks I think will be crucial.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69