Wait so powering up equals investment ...... 🤯

in #crypto2crypto6 years ago (edited)

So I just read a article by @themarkymark

https://steemit.com/steem/@themarkymark/hodling-steem-power-makes-steem

And I have a question for the community. If you go and purchase a apartment complex, are you going to charge rent based off of the feeling of others? Probably not, but that’s kind of the situation we have here on this platform.

We have a division of classes, those who got in early and paid little for the influence they have, so they have collected their initial investment and are all House money. Second you have those who have joined the platform and haven’t added any monetary assests. So at any point can walk away no harm no foul, and not miss a beat

Last you have a group that have come in and invested a substantial sum of money and are in s precarious position of wanting to recoup their investment as quickly as possible as this would make the most business sense, but here on steemit it is frowned upon.

Here you have a 2 groups that have either little to no financial ties to the platform as they with got here early or didn’t bother investing, telling those who have paid a large fee what to do. Now I am all for the greater good but this is still a for profit platform, because if it wasn’t everyone should decline all payouts in their post.

I fall into the group that paid the money for the position, and though I have no issue with growing the community I do have a issue with people acting entitled. We have come to the point where people feel that just because someone has more they are required to lift everyone up along the way. I don’t find this to be the case for a few reasons.

  1. I could have just as easily purchased a znode and collected the same if not more in payments then I do on this platform, and no one in the Zcoin community would tell me how I spend it.

  2. Like any investment the key is to recoupe initial before heavily redistributing, in this case it would be cursting vs selling vote.

  3. A lot of times as you fill everyone’s cup, no one is filling your pitcher. To many times have I had post where folks would comment and ask for upvotes and not even bother doing the same, then have the nerve to upvote some mega whale shit post.

  4. If you bought a abandoned property and spent 100k on repairing it and recieve 400 a month profits. How many of you are giving 100 to your favorite charity each month? Especially before you have broken even.

Look I am far from a prick, but at the end Of the day I am still a business man. Good economics say take care of companies needs before bolstering that of another. So how can you be mad at those that may not have anything else but what steem provides.

Also I ask anyone take the time and watch the patterns of those critizing how votes are handled. Go through and see how many never power up but send their sbd directly to exhangsz to be sold. Can you really expect to leave the minnow stage of you never actually invest in yourself?

I think I have posted enough that people will know that I do want the greater good. At the same time my blood sweat and tears came at a cost, and for it to be discounted is unfair.

0*eFs5ImPahElwnGp9.png

Sort:  

I am in it with money, time and passion. So i dont focus on what others are doing. I think in any play eventually the better one wins. Fair play wins.

I am investing in both, money and time (I got in Steemit quite late). Hopefully, Steemit won't disappointed me.

I’m pretty sure it won’t.

first time upvoting your post, i agree with you about 80%, currently you do share about 5% of the love, it's much better than nothing.

now having agreed with you, you came in May 2017, didn't you buy Steem when it was $0.20, and now it's like $2.7 today, won't you be considered by the vast majority the 700,000+ accounts who came in after you as an early investor?

if i'm mistaken please correct me, if your average was an extreme like $2 due to the peak in June 2017, please put me in my place, and do offer any guidance, at what price would you sell as you say to "recover you original cost first"

$4, $5, at former peak $8, say to take out the original capital to "break even"?

May need to check the math on the 5%.

An account​ was created in May of 2017 but not active until End of feb 2018 so big difference​. As I was not around for the peaks of the price. Even if I was how would I take profits, it takes 7 days to get 1/13 of my holdings. So even if I wanted to theose windows close quickly you holding move slowly.

Yeah you currently give 5% to upvotes services (i heard they paid back 95%...well the high paying ones does slightly bettter, others 90%), it's a form of giving, and that fuels them to improve the applications bots and otherwise on Steemit, and you also give 70% from the remaining undelegated SP, so that's >5% i suppose in total.

so when did you buy and power-up your Steem then? Are you saying you're in the red with Steem with today's 8% drop to $2.50 now (assuming Steem avg was $4 back in Feb2018)?

I'm expecting to get hammered for being blunt, but SteemIt is not a very good investment - for most crypto traders or people looking to get a good return on investment. It's an interesting experiment in Social Media & cryptos, and it has achieved interesting results. But, most Steemians will never get wealthy due to making investments in Steem Power. Many of the posts on the Trending and Hot pages are only there because the authors have spent $250 - $500, per post, to promote their own content. So much for "good content being rewarded." I'm not saying it can't happen for some people, some of the time, because it does. But, if you're "too successful," and figure out how to beat these whales at their own game - then you're going to become a target.

SteemIt is a wealth-generating machine (upvotes). But, it is also paired-up with a wealth-destroying maching (downvotes). That seems sketchy to me. Downvotes, Mulitple/Fake accounts, and Bots should be done away with in the next Hard Fork, but I doubt witnesses and whales will allow it - unless they impliment some other way to maintain near total control over the distribution of the daily rewards pool. People who make a lot of money don't usually just up and decide to give it all away to the less fortunate. They may give some, if they really like you and you do/vote they way they want you to. Otherwise, they'll undermine your ability to profit from their system, because they're too busy taking profits themselves.

I understand your position. It's a bad one. Here you're a bit late to the game, power up a bunch of Steem, and come to find out that the earlier adopters have already perfected the art of raping the rewards-pool (through various, round-about means - multiple & alternate accounts, gambling apps, voting-bots, etc.) while hiding/masking their activities. But, if you do some research, you do find that many of the Witnesses and Whales are all involved in one giant circle-jerk: trading votes, etc. And, if someone new comes along and uses the established SteemIt rules to make a profit (i.e. haejin), they catch hell from the whales, because it's eating into their profits. Then these same whales turn around and accuse haejin of "raping the rewards pool." I discovered this hypocrisy early on, and it has prevented me from powering-up any significant amount of Steem Power. (I try to keep mine around 100 SP.) Why would you "invest" with a bunch of people who pay lip-service to "peace, freedom, non-violence, free-speech, and anarchy" when they turn right around and downvote your rewards via nefarious tactics, financial abuse, alternate accounts, and peer pressure???

I stay around SteemIt for the news and the learning. Some people criticise Dan Larimer for leaving SteemIt. I think he moved on because he realized he had designed a flawed system, and trying to "fight" the original investors' greed became a losing proposition at some point along the way. Or, maybe he ran his scam, took his profits, got out when the getting was good, and has moved on to create his next scam? I'd like to think that he's actually trying to develop EOS and SteemIt 2.0 as an improved version of this platform - but that still remains to be seen.

Truth be told, if you're not dedicating your life to becoming a professional SteemIt blogger/vlogger, you're better off powering down and investing in other alt-coins where you don't have to wait 13 weeks to get your money out. SteemIt is sort-of like romper-room for newbie traders. It's a great place to dip your toe in the water and get some experience and knowledge under your belt. But, if you're looking for big ROI, get out there and trade some TRON, NEO, OX, or something else where your ability to create wealth is not subject to the whim of SteemIt trolls, and can not be destroyed by downvotes from big whales - because they don't like your politics, interests, or the fact that you're eating into their ability to take profits.

The most satisfying thing on SteemIt, for me, is taking a big downvote & replying by posting a picture of my stack of physical silver and gold. "Downvote This! I'll check my stack in the morning and see if it got any lighter." It usually shuts up the trolls pretty fast.

I noticed the madness as well, at first I said I’ll stay under the radar. Then I thought to myself why should I have to hide from those out in place to protect the freedom of this platform?

It seems that the more money you have invested in Steem Power, the more "politically correct" you have to be with SteemIt whales and mobs of Trolls/followers/lemmings who tend to jump onto the downvoting bandwagon - if they decide to target you. I keep it at 100SP because that seriously limits anyone's ability to damage my bottom line, while preserving my presence on the platform (however insignificant one perspective may be in the larger ocean).

I know there are others out there who think exactly as I do, yet do not speak their point of view for fear of downvotes or losing out on the paltry share of the rewards pool. I mean, if your week revolves around 0.00031% of the SteemIt rewards pool, then you have bigger problems to worry about than your Social Media reputation. In my case, the difference of 25 SBD per month, one way or the other, means little. If that is the price I pay for my views, so be it. I understand that the current platform allows for others to downvote my views, and vice-versa: that's the current game - and it's tilted heavily towards "might make$ right."

Amen to that. The more SP you have the more you need to recoup, and that will be made pretty difficult if you are being downvoted at every corner. Though funny enough this leads to vote selling and delegating full time.

I have seen many posts about how steem is so awesome and how we have over one million accounts - but for me personally there is one key question - how many of those accounts have actually invested some of thier own money to power up, I dont mean slowly powering up from payouts earnt from blogging but putting your hard earnt into the system - I have a strong suspicion its painfully low. Maybe someone can provide these stats?

Without being funny - most new accounts are from third world/developing countries..And why not steem can have MUCH more purchasing power for them than someone from a wealthy country..But how many will buy steem?

I do fear that steem may get to a point where there just isnt enough people powering up and too many people just blogging for rewards, surly the price would eventually collapse.

There are many types, I wouldn’t say just 2 at all. Everyone just should have fun, live life lol 💪🏼🙌🏼💯

I was under the impression that the idea was to upvote the content you believe to be worthy.

I upvote content that I find interesting, informative and/or funny, and hope that people will do the same for the content that I produce.

I don't particularly care who produced the content, although there are a few people I tend to read more than others, but I'm always looking for new people to read.

With that said, my votes aren't really worth a shit anyway, usually about 1 cent at 100%. I invested what I could afford without having to sell my soul, but that in reality was pratically nothing compared to many non here.

I rarely upvote my self, I never use bidbots and I've never paid anyone for upvotes or restreems... Maybe that's where I'm going wrong!

Shit! I can't remember where I was going with this now...

But anyway, that's me!

It was supposed to be that you upvote the best content, but as you are able to use bots and self upvote etc, people do (myself included). This annoys a portion of the community.

Yes, I have noticed many people self upvoting. For some I can see it how it makes sense to do so when they are getting a dollar or more per vote... Why wouldn't they upvote themselves.

I usually don't beacuse, at the moment, it's pointless because of the value of my votes.

The people that do though, have a much larger investment in steem than I can afford. The way I see it is that they should be able to gain some interest on that investment - if that is achived through self upvoting , so be it.

I imagine the complainers are more than likely jealous because their votes don't have the same effect for them.

That said though I do think there should be some sort of cut off point to prevent the reward pool getting rapped too badly.

That was the idea, then people started creating crap and expecting handouts.

No concept of reward = effort then!

Or to quote Denis Waitley (an American motivational speaker)...

“The results you achieve will be in direct proportion to the effort you apply.”

By time things get changed...end of the day money is the goal

Like the article. Following w steem voter now so I will be reading all your posts. Look forward to seeing more of your posts.

Interesting perspective. I'm one who can't afford to gamble on investing anything other than my time in this platform. I have only been here a few months but I believe even with its flaws it has a ton of potential to be a positive entity

Tons of potential, I truly believe if we cleaned up some of the mud and fixed the way content is discovered this could be fixed.

Hey RedSky, good to see you here also. How are the soundpacks going?

Thanks. Which sound packs do you mean, I’m working on a few things?

The Ones on iPad

Yes @elektropunkz I've done about 50 presets so far for the new AnalogKit SynthOne which arrives in June and is free

Cool, i enjoyed your presets for the layer synth.

Late reply, but so you know, i now have the synth one, and it became an instant favorite. Anyway, because we know eachother from the ipad gang on facebook, i donated you a SBI (its a first for me also, so i hope it helps mate)

Very well said! I'm of the same opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50