You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Easy Ways to be Hack Free

in #crypto8 years ago

Great post! I think most people have given up on privacy. I want that router!!!
I took another route - three easy steps.

  • buy a virgin computer
  • create a gmail account under bugsbunny, gerrymouse, or the cartoon of your choice
  • get a twitter handle in the same name
  • use a VPN (which shows you connected in a different city)
  • join youtube, facebook, whatever, etc

You are now unhackable! (you may have to get a burner phone for those who want "your" data Bugs)

Sort:  

Hey sponge-bob,
You may already know this, but for those that don't - These might be some good general steps and thanks for sharing. But even if you do this, and take it further, by

  • Using a VPN, which you've researched to ensure they do not keep logs and the client has no DNS leaks etc.
  • Using TOR for greater anonymity.
  • Using tails OS (or similar).
  • Never using that computer for anything that links to your actual identity.
  • Buying the computer from in-store (not online).

You are still very much 'hackable'.

The point of using anonymity/privacy tools and encryption is to increase the difficulty (cost) of mass surveillance making it impractical. As well as taking steps to make yourself less likely to become a victim of online crime.

I won't go in to the security of phones - But even if your state/country allows for burner phones that don't require ID or are easily circumvented as soon as you give out your number, someone will place you in their phone contacts using your name, or the information can be gleaned by setting up a profile of who you're in contact with and your location based on GPS/location data, or the towers you're connected to

Yes. I don't mind if someone hacks a computer that contains nothing about me. If they hack it - I get a new one and sign back on as Sponge-bob.

If they hack my identity, I get new accounts as HomerSimpson. I don't care.

The computer that holds my documents, pictures, videos, and bitcoin is not connected to the internet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47