3 Easy Ways to be Hack Free

in #crypto8 years ago

Who wants their sensitive information collected into huge databases only for that information to be hacked into and taken advantage of?
Who wants their accounts hacked and their money stolen?
Who wants to be paranoid of their security and privacy while online?
No one.
So here's the newest episode of Crypto Tips.
Check it out, I've got some great tips on how to better secure your privacy and information online.

Do you have other ideas for achieving online security? Leave a comment below and let's talk about it!

Sort:  

Great post! I think most people have given up on privacy. I want that router!!!
I took another route - three easy steps.

  • buy a virgin computer
  • create a gmail account under bugsbunny, gerrymouse, or the cartoon of your choice
  • get a twitter handle in the same name
  • use a VPN (which shows you connected in a different city)
  • join youtube, facebook, whatever, etc

You are now unhackable! (you may have to get a burner phone for those who want "your" data Bugs)

Hey sponge-bob,
You may already know this, but for those that don't - These might be some good general steps and thanks for sharing. But even if you do this, and take it further, by

  • Using a VPN, which you've researched to ensure they do not keep logs and the client has no DNS leaks etc.
  • Using TOR for greater anonymity.
  • Using tails OS (or similar).
  • Never using that computer for anything that links to your actual identity.
  • Buying the computer from in-store (not online).

You are still very much 'hackable'.

The point of using anonymity/privacy tools and encryption is to increase the difficulty (cost) of mass surveillance making it impractical. As well as taking steps to make yourself less likely to become a victim of online crime.

I won't go in to the security of phones - But even if your state/country allows for burner phones that don't require ID or are easily circumvented as soon as you give out your number, someone will place you in their phone contacts using your name, or the information can be gleaned by setting up a profile of who you're in contact with and your location based on GPS/location data, or the towers you're connected to

Yes. I don't mind if someone hacks a computer that contains nothing about me. If they hack it - I get a new one and sign back on as Sponge-bob.

If they hack my identity, I get new accounts as HomerSimpson. I don't care.

The computer that holds my documents, pictures, videos, and bitcoin is not connected to the internet.

While watching the video i wonder how many bananas fit in your mouth at the same time. Ready for the challenge? 5 SBD!

Crypto on!

I send this to my ex wife, just in case she didnt already know ;)

And resteemed, good job!

Steem on!

Lasse

-- Hello, is this an anonymous hotline of KGB?
-- Yes, Alexei, I'm listening carefully :D

What about the fact that you look funny by not having facebook and all that?

I am not on the internet for other people's view of me. I use it to get information and to transact crypto.

It is a good way to start to protect you data: no facebook or google account

I really like this concept and I hope you keep it up! But I'm a little confused who your audience is... at first I got the impression that it's for newbies to crypto (that's the general vibe I get, and I think that's a much needed service). But you shouldn't really tell a newbie to start using Tor without a little more information about the risks involved. There are a lot of simple things that the average newbie can do to protect themselves against hacks - Tor is not one of them.

Please take this constructively... I want this to succeed!

Thank you for the feedback ya jerk! ;)
It can be hard to remember the level of understanding for people new to crypto, this is a great reminder and I appreciate it. I want this to succeed also!

Very informative. While I'm not so much worried about someone stealing my money (as I have none) or the government spying on me (I've nothing to hide), I would like to find a way to browse without getting a barrage of trashy junk email. Since we upgraded to windows 10 it seems to have gotten worse. From the research we've done, many people who have upgraded have encountered the same problem.

@Heiditravels - Great job, i think MFA (multi-factor authentication) is one of the most important points that's usually very easy to implement, (Grab an app like Authy, or Google Authenticator) and scan a QR code
(and backup the recovery codes or use whatever the platform backup offers, in case you lose your phone).

The only thing I would add in regard to crypto is try to limit (as much as possible) the amount of crypto you have on an exchange. i.e. in your 'account' as opposed to a wallet you have control over. The reason for this is that an exchange is a much larger target with a much better pay-off if it's compromised. Why go after individuals when there are literally millions of dollars worth of crypto in a single exchange?

Look forward to more

Please do not recommend TOR to anyone, it's the playground for hackers. Using TOR to conduct any financial transactions is simply putting your information in the hands of thieves and hackers. TOR is not safe from government watch as some like to think, on the contrary it's a first step to putting yourself on government watch-lists. You will hear a lot of counter opinions to this but if you fall into the illusion that the so called darknet is safe or private, you are in for a cruel surprise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56