Sort:  

Your point about backups is very important but it makes me wonder how long before 50% of a currency is simply gone. I'm sure all users lose a little here and there. I know I have wallets with under $1 worth that I'll eventually forget about. Not to mention the huge mistakes that wipe out thousands of dollars worth. You have to think with this rate of attrition, eventually 50% of bitcoin will be destroyed.

I feel bad for those guys that had bitcoin 7 years ago and lost it.

Same with Dogecoin. Not that it's on the same scale but I remember thousands and thousands being passed around. I remember faucets would give out 10 free coins every couple minutes. I personally had a ton. Sent some to a fund a nascar and the rest just kind of vanished. Trapped in an unknown wallet somewhere. I would probably have about $1000 worth today.

People who die and dont tell anyone the passwords

I feel you man. When it comes to my wallets and accounts on exchanges, I'm so paranoid that I will put all possible protections on them and try to secure them somewhere physical. Also, I start sweating when transferring my coins around.

I didnt know my desktop wallet would screw up if my pc didn't properly get turned off. I knocked out the power cord by accident and got the error message the wallet couldn't be used. I was able to restore it, after I had a minor panic attack.

Aahahahahah, next time do it better.

Good post ,,, I love it ,,, please upvote my blog once me.

May we all learn from mistakes. Think of it as a lesson, because failure is a delayed success @rok-sivante. Keep strong.

this is very good friend,
I am very interested to see it,

great post :)

Good reminder, it happens man. The way I like to see it:

Even IF you missed out on a superb opportunity, or so you think, it could mean you're being saved from something worse.

I was once in a dilemma of putting in like $800 bucks with a friend who claims he can get an LV bag for us and then sell it at double the profits to some chick.

He made it seem so easy.

His brother warned me not to. I asked why? Seemed easy enough. His brother insisted no, without explanation.

I reluctantly let it go. I thought I lost $800 in profit.

Today, that idiot is in jail for embezzlement.

After that situation of mine too, I started hearing all sorts of scammy shit he did.

So even if I did gain $800 in profit, I might have lost more ultimately when I got in too deep.

Your post is very interesting and useful!
Hopefully the next post more interesting.

Im new to this game, but have been pretty good about backup. My recent f#ck up was I made a really crazy password for ether wallet and I didnt copy and paste. I manually put the password in and messed up one capital letter that was lowercase. It took 32 tries of changing capitals to lowercase where I thought I could of made mistakes and it worked. Saved me 0.4ETH.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62