Give the gift of cryptocurrencies

in #crypto7 years ago

It's like that. You get into something, and you want EVERYONE to get into that something too. You start with your friends and some will totally get in, some will be less interested. You move to your family, your friends of friends. Those who are interested of something tend to find other like-minded.

So crypto, same deal. But cryptoworld is weird and hard to understand and EVER more complicated. Where can you even start?
( probably with Bitcoin ). But that seems like ancient history...So much happened, so much to happen still, history is not our strong suite. We're fast forwarding into the future so really, we don't care about the past.
2009?! Are you fking kidding me? Let's talk about 2025.

Look at this damn graph, from THIS incredible infographic. So many coins, each with at least a modicum of way to motivate its existence. Beautiful.

Anyway, getting in. You don't need to GET it, you just need to see the growth, the potential, the money$$. And, I think, you need to have some coins. Once you have a coin...well, you want more coins. Once you have more coins, you'll want more DIFFERENT coins. And then...you'll probably find Steemit :)

The hard part is, though, buying in. Getting that first taste of Crypto, That's why Steemit is brilliant and Dan's a genius: Steemit onboards people in crypto without their clear consent.
"Huh, a site where I can actually earn some money? SIGN ME UP!"
"It's cryptomoney..."
"...ok then.."

NExt thing you know, you're reading about ICOS, fantasize about a decentralized future where everything is possible and try to understand how something can be both trustless and trustworthy. Like, damn!
After a while, you find yourself trying to get a few of your friends in, right?
.
.
Eventually, it all seems a bit silly. Why are people still thinking in such outdated concepts as "fiat". ( boy, people look weird at you when you call money "fiat". Try it out and enjoy the looks ). And really, are we still praising "the sharing economy"?
Like seriously, didn't they hear that it will all be on the blockchain?!

It's the moment I'm starting to wonder if giving someone a crypto-gift is a good idea. This can really take over your life as I said in my last post.


I remember last year, I went to a wedding. Here, you need to give a "gift" at the end. It's not like you, americans, who buy something from a list and leave it in nicely packed box. No, here, we give FIAT. Sorry, we give money.
You put it in an envelope and give to the groom and bride when you go out. It feels a little gangsta, like a scene from the Godfather, but it's so common that you don't even doubt it. The only question is "how much to put in"?

Usually, the cost of the food + a little extra. That can mean anything from 100euros to 300euros.
Yeap, weddings are expensive affairs.

So anyway, last year, I was just getting into all this and I thought: HEY! What IF I put a little bitcoin into the envelope?
I was thinking, I'm really gonna get this guy into the future!
I made a paper wallet and was ready to go but then I got...THE DOUBT!. I mean sure, it's a cool idea but...it's almost impossible to cash out ( was even harder last year) and these people need the money for "married couple things" not some nice coin that they can't really see or feel. They'll probably think I'm some kind of Scrooge. Eh...
I put 0.5btc, about 200e at the time aside and gave them euros.
Good deal...

Well, this year, wedding season is AGAIN upon me and I'm thinking to learn from past mistakes and do it again. I just found that there re some cool cards that you can load up with ETH. Like some "fancy" paper wallets that are pretty cool to just gift. Gonna try it. Maybe someone will appreciate it.

Or maybe I'll just be called a "Scrooge" when I'm actually exactly the opposite.
I'm giving the shiniest most valuable coins possible away: Crypto

Sort:  

That's how I got started. Heared of bitcoin and did some reading and research and got very interested. Listened to videos (Craig Grant, Trevon, Michael Crypto) and really got motivated. Got one coin and was enamored with the whole Bitcoin craze. The blockchain technology and cryptocurrency being the wave of the future. Being on the ground floor. No one else knows yet. Mass adoption has a ways to go .Good grief!!! What an opportunity for the "enlightened ones." And yes, led me to Steemit, where I am all in!!!

Crypto is the self fulfilling prophecy like nothing the human race has ever seen before. The network effects are becoming larger and larger by the day, which is self re-enforcing. Nothing can stop the Crypto snowball that's coming.

Well, nothing is a big word but I mostly agree :)

It's the moment I'm starting to wonder if giving someone a crypto-gift is a good idea.

you know you need to explain afterwards sometimes huh ?
which one? BTC?
steem?
steemit sign up? :)

we can only hope they appreciate it :)

I agree, they need the fiat the most atm they get married.

So if you plan to give them € 200, why not give them €175 cash and another envelope with the paperwallet with €25 crypto and write the openingsdate say 5 years from the day they got married or so. They will understand it someday in the future don't you think!?

Actually best idea, my friend! I am going to go 50-50 so they will only hate me partially that I bring "these coins" into their lives.

I have set-up an account and deposit for my Dad as a gift. He is now researching and investigating and understanding what a great time we are in for investing in this technology. Imagine where we'll be in 5 years from our purchases today!!

Cryptoworld is a little weird. Maybe not a little... A LOT! Hehe
However that infographic is on the money. I started the same way. Someone mentioned ETH in December 2016, I did my research and the rest is history. I haven't slept in months and I am not tired. I am fired up about cryptoworld. Thanks for the excellent post

"i haven't slept in months" :)) haha. yes, welcome to crypto. we don't sleep here.

the mortals will never understand...

@razvanelulmarin you got my curiousity and attention with the infograph. Good one keep it up.! got my upvote.

Very nice graph! 👍🏻

Hey mate,

The infographic from Visual Cap drew me in and is something I'm going to use now. Cheers.

fantasize about a decentralized future where everything is possible and try to understand how something can be both trustless and trustworthy. Like, damn!

Oh shit, that sounds familiar haha!

but then I got...THE DOUBT!. I mean sure, it's a cool idea but...it's almost impossible to cash out ( was even harder last year)

On my personal blog a couple of years ago, I added this little button at the bottom which led to a site called ChangeTip. It's dead now, but the idea was that if you liked the content, you could tip the author in bitcoin to give an incentive for them to post more (sound familiar Steemit?).

Part of the sign up process allowed you to give some free bitcoin tips away to friends. I picked my 5 closest friends and sent them what was like 5 cents at the time. NOT ONE of them actually claimed it or has gotten into bitcoin.

The barriers for crypto going mainstream are still huge. We get caught up in our own little crypto bubble on social media only talking to other crypto enthusiasts and we think it's normal. It's not haha.

haha. I wonder how much btc that was...was it like before it went into hundreds?

Hey man, thats a really cool idea ! go ahead and give the gift ! Im sure I would be glad. Greets

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70