Mining Rig Nightmare - Part 1

in #crypto6 years ago

IF SOMETHING IS WORKING CORRECTLY, THINK TWICE BEFORE TOUCHING IT!!!!! :)

IMG_8863.jpg

The above image is that of two EVGA Nvidia GTX 1070Ti graphics cards. These are the little bastards that caused me so much strife this weekend.

I have had my mining rigs up and running for several months and they were working great. That is until things when horribly wrong when I tried to expand my system. Two EVGA Nvidia GTX 1070Ti graphics cards came into my possession and I had two M.2 adapters and some extra risers so I thought I would add them to my rig. I also had an extra RX480 and wanted to get that working on my AMD rig as well. The summer is here and it's getting really hot so I bought the parts to build a ventilated enclosure that would let me push a lot of cool air through the rig and out the side of the house. To build the enclosure I had to swap out some power cables for longer ones.

The power cable swap when fine and I added the RX480 to the AMD rig and the two new GTX cards to the Nvidia rig. I booted up the AMD rig and could not get the system to recognize more than 4 cards. I messed with the BIOS settings and reinstalled the GPU driver. When I finally got back to 6 GPUs (I gave up on the 7th), the box would through a GPU 1 error moments after the miner started and would crash the whole system. I finally ended up disabling GPU 1 and have been running on 5 GPUs.

The biggest problem came when I tried to start the GTX rig -- nothing. Somehow the motherboard got damaged and I was dead in the water. I determined this after spending hours and finally just trying to get the board into BIOS with nothing more than the CPU and RAM. The board was dead. The picture below shows my idle GTX 1070 cards just waiting for something to drive them

IMG_8859.jpg

I had no choice but to jump on Amazon and get another board. I looked for the Asus Z270p that I had been running successfully for so long, but for some reason I could only get one for about $200. I wasn't going to pay that for a board that I haven't been that happy with so I decided to pick up an ASRock H110 that has support for 13 GPUs, which is the board below.

IMG_8862.jpg

I moved the CPU and ram to the board and my next step is to get Ubuntu Server 16.4 LTS installed, install the Nvidia drivers, and install all the packages I need to run the Klaus version of ccminer. I will post an update with how things turn out.

Sort:  

But are you sure the flux capacitor is getting 1.21 gigawatts? I read that helps.

I don't think it is because the AMD rig is not stable. It's crashing every 3-4 hours. GRRRRR. I'm about ready to strip the whole thing down and rebuild it from scratch. I need to find the weak link or get a better flux capacitor!

You got a 17.14% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @cryptocoinkb! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

This post has received a $15.38 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @cryptocoinkb.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

You got a 2.94% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @cryptocoinkb!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 7.68% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @cryptocoinkb!

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @cryptocoinkb.

You got a 2.17% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @cryptocoinkb!

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.
Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72