Sola.ai : Another Social Network that rewards content creation

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

Sola.ai formerly known as Plague is a social network that gives rewards in cryptocurrency for producing content on the platform.

Screen Shot 2018-04-12 at 20.30.14.png

This reminds us of Steemit, but I think that similarities pretty much end there. Maybe Sola’s creators studied Steemit and tried to improve or at least differentiate on how the platform works and on how rewards are distributed.

An Overview

Sola is a social network that looks like Instagram. Its posts or cards is the term they use are mostly photographs or videos. On a card you can have multiple photos and you can write a couple of sentences for each photo or video that you post.

They claim to have more than 900k users even though I cannot know how many of them are active. I have seen a lot of users from Russian countries. There is no NSFW content.

Screen Shot 2018-04-12 at 20.27.35.png

This is their website : https://sola.foundation/

Every 10 or so cards you will see ads, which their revenue they claim to share it with the users. They have a crypto currency called SOL and it is what you get for creating content on the platform. There are no curation rewards. You can exchange SOL on OpenLedger/Bitshares and on Tidex and as of now I wasn’t able to find how much SOL is worth. I would guess not much.

There are Android and iOS apps that you can use.

Posting on Sola

So let’s make a card on Sola. I will use existing content that I already posted here.

I will use the web app for convenience. You press the post button at the upper right corner. It’s nice and clean. You can upload photos and write something about them.

Screen Shot 2018-04-12 at 19.26.30.png

There you go. I uploaded a photo and wrote a little something. If you click the plus icon you can add cards.

Screen Shot 2018-04-12 at 19.29.16.png

And a little bit of cross platform promotion. I have seen many Steemians on Sola.

Screen Shot 2018-04-12 at 19.35.10.png

It’s easy and simple. In your feed you see cards from other users and you can upvote them ( endorse is the term ) or skip them. Skipping a card doesn’t affect the user. You can also leave comments on the cards.

Action Points and SOL

There are two currencies on Sola. Action Points (APs) and SOL.
You use your Action Points to post, comment and endorse.
You start with 100 APs and every day you get 200 APs plus some more according on how active you were on the platform. And you can have no more than 5000 APs in your account.

Screen Shot 2018-04-12 at 20.28.06.png

You spend APs when you post. Your first post each day “costs” 5 APs and the more you post the more APs you need to spend. You spend 1 AP for each comment you do. This reduces spam on the network.

You spend APs when you upvote or endorse a card. The min amount that you can endorse is 5 APs and the max amount is 100 APs. So, you cannot have huge whale votes. You can also endorse a comment with a max amount of 10 APs. You cannot endorse yourself. If you run out of APs you can exchange your SOL for APs.

Screen Shot 2018-04-12 at 19.34.03.png

When someone gives you APs you get SOL that are credited to your account. There are no curation rewards and your posts have self-life of 7 days. If you want to cash out your SOL you can do it on the exchanges I mentioned, but haven’t tested myself.

Screenshot_20180412-183150_resized_20180412_063243085.png

According to an article by a Sola developer here there is an algorithm that decides who see your posts and has to do with location and interests. I had one post that went viral and made good amount of SOL, but I have no idea how I did it. Maybe a couple of 100 APs votes right after posting helped, but who knows…

My take

Sola has some nice features. It’s simple and easy. There is no whale voting or self voting, but it’s value , unless I am mistaken, is close to nothing. It’s not a competitor to Steemit, but rather could be a competitor to Appics and I would bet on Appics if you ask me. The thing that bothers me the most is that I see a lot of content that clearly doesn’t belong to the posters and none seems to care.

For the time being I repurpose content and spend no more than 30 mins per day.

If you use Sola and have more info on the project you can share it here.

And one more thing. If you want to sign in, use my referral code in this link
I will get 100 APs and 10% of your APs for one year and you will get my love and gratitude on various platforms. Thank you.

And until we have more crypto reward social media...
Be Healthy, Smile and Steem.

footer.png

DISCLAIMER : I am not a financial advisor. This is not a financial advice. This is not suggestion to invest. This article is for educational purposes only and everything covered is my personal opinion and bias. Always do your own due diligence and act upon it. Know that there is risk and money could potentially be lost. Last, bear in mind that my results may not be typical.

Sort:  

Ive seen you referring to it before,

Yeah as @kenistyles says: I will let you be the guinea pig to see if this is something for others as well..

Busy boy you are!

See what I do you for you ... :)
I am more bullish for Lit : https://steemit.com/crypto/@iliasdiamantis/mithril-token-and-lit-app-a-new-kid-on-social-media-and-crypto-rewards-block

It has cracked Top-100 and Sol is nowhere to be found.

okay let me check that out..good going

Thanks for your detective work and objective review brother. Keep it up and competition is always healthy.

I will be your guinea pig... :)
I know another 5 ways that I haven't even tested!

The question is whether scamming and stealing from people is healthy. Is it, Keni?

I think I'm going to try it out but probably just to repost content that is already here on steemit.
It does not seem to be worth much. Also they will never surpass steemit estimate has Home Advantage on the steem network.

If you want to try something else/new I would suggest this one: https://steemit.com/crypto/@iliasdiamantis/mithril-token-and-lit-app-a-new-kid-on-social-media-and-crypto-rewards-block

It is a TOP 100 crypto and SOL is nowhere to be found.

Very cool! Now downloading and testing.
😎

don't forget to follow , vote my stories and send me a message to do the same. Lit the world on fire :)

Do you have the same username on Lit?

yes and same pic

Αυτά είναι το μεσημέρι καφεδάκια το βραδυ μπιρονια με σαλατες.. Ζωάρα κανεις..

Ετσι ... Το ζω !!!
Steemlife !!! :)

I have a Sola profile, but I must say I am not that enthusiastic about it. It can't "beat" Steemit in my heart... :P

In your heart or in your pocket? :)

Both! :P

But the truth is I like Steemit better because I find it easier to handle.

I am doing that slowly Sola.

It did made some impressive progress to be honest, I am in love with the mobile app (after the beta) the video upload is still a bit glitchy though which is probably going to be fixed soon.

I have no idea about the value of the token or how the economic model works though

Yes the mobile app is good. I will try to exchange some SOL just to find how much it is worth.

I still can't manage to find the time to steal away from Steemit to put towards my Sola.. hahahaha

Sola was a very quick fling... hehehe I'll still keep it on the side most likely - but... Steemit, FORGIVE ME FOR MY UNFAITHFULNESS!
hahahahaha great write up @iliasdiamantis!!! :)

There are so many nowadays... I wonder which platform will survive...

i wonder also!! if we knew... we would just give all attention to that hehehehe

That's why we have many accounts. To increase our chances.
I would bet though Steemit is one of them.

This is all, of course, good, but where to take the time? Work, home, family. All my attention now belongs to Steemit. Even husband became jealous! Facebook, instagram all this is left somewhere in the past.

If I didn't have time, I would focus on Steemit. Steem on !!!

Thank you for your understanding and kind heart!

I think it's good to have different platforms where there is something for everyone👍 Thanks for the post☺️

Thanks for dropping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43