WTF. Hashgraph?!?!?!?

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

Alright, people. As phenomenal, and as amazing of an experience as my time with Steemit, and cryptocurrency in general has been thus far, when I came across a video on youtube entitled: "The Future is not Blockchain. It's Hashgraph" needless to say, I felt a bit offended.

W.T. Fuck are these guys, with their yellow shirts and glasses, talking about "I've done this, I've started this company, and went to this school where I taught blah blah." And I'm thinkin.. "This guy is a douchebag." Aside from the fact that in one of the first comments, I had already found a kindred spirit, who summed up our prejudice with the following: "When i hear about blockchain my soul first impression is this is evolutionary system of money nd banking. But when i hear hashgraph my soul first impression told me that It smell fishy, patented close source and mark of the beast"--(NavyCop0105).

Granted, perhaps the username should have been a clue, but I hadn't gotten that far before I started actually listening to what the speaker in the film (the man with the yellow shirt, whose name is Mance Harmon, and who, along with a gentleman named Leemon Baird, created Hashgraph) was actually saying--and it started to make a whole helluva a lot of sense. And it wasn't necessarily some fancy technology he was talking about--it was just basic logic lol.

So Harmon starts going into his explantion of this new idea, the hashgraph, that is a superior form of distributed ledger, much more efficient than the current "block chain" utilized by the likes of bitcoin, etc. Hashgraph is set to blow this away, based on the "magic of math"--Harmon's own words--the hashgraph will exponentially increase the efficiency of trustless systems by way of their speed and method of consensus (in steemitland, witness voting).

BUT THEN.... (DUm DUH DUUHHHHHHH)

They fucked it all up.

From what I recall, Satoshi Nakamoto didn't put a "patent" on the blockchain... which--and I hope I am not alone here, and I doubt that I am--THAT is one of the things that made Bitcoin and Nakamoto's creation so special.

So you might understand my disdain when Mr. Harmon starts talkin about "we're the only company in the business with this algorithm ... the first and ONLY ones... " blah blah. It just put such a bad taste in my mouth with the whole thing... Like , it just seemed so antithetical to the whole reason and movement behind why we're all here...

I don't know... Maybe I'm being a bit dramatic lol (I can get that way...). But how will this "technology", which in many ways does seem like a legitimate "next step" in the movement that is the "blockchain" (hashgraph even refers to itself as "Fourth generation blockchain technology") how will it differ at the hands of these people; people who aim to market and control it? Or, will this attempt to appropriate what they may have only discovered due to one (or many) people's vision that an invention of this sort is better left in the "hands of the people," so to speak?

Then again, how does that saying go? "If something's 'free,' then you're what's for sale..."

We sall shee.

Watch it all go down:

Sort:  

Interesting review on this @gjones15. Funny how we always hear the salesman and never the creators or programs in these hot take, hot mic episodes with these "brainiacs." It reminds me a lot of the dot com bubble, every thing web based this, everything that, international global worldwide...and what did that get everybody? A bubble and a few monopolies named google (alphabet) apple, amazon. All companies minus apple that started to really take off in this tech bubble. You could throw crap at a wall in the mid 90's to late 90's and get a 15% average return on it during that time just as long there was tech somewhere in it. Dr Evil (Jeff Bezos) Nowhere Man (Tim Cook) are what we got out of all of it. Who saw that coming? Well I saw trillions of dollars go by that didn't. Moral of the story, come up with one yourself or have your viral video producers write it for you.

Very very good point. I was maybe just too young to really know wth was going on with the tech bubble, but thank you for bringing up the similarity, which i will now definitely be lookig into further... Difference here is, i can actually understand to a degree, now, what they're talking about. And hashgraph really does make sense... based on what was said--that being a key part lol

Oh, and Harmon is , I believe, one of the "creators," well, perhaps, at least he's the guy "just under" the creator, Baird (ya gotta watch the video!) Either way, he is a very brilliant man, once you get past the sort of "nerdy" outer-impressions. He definitely had something to do with the conceptualization/ formation of Hashgraph and he def has a CS and security background, but yes, I believe he is more the "biz dev" side of things. But you bring up an interesting fact, nonetheless. Baird is not here lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68