You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You NEED to do this if you use Google Authenticator for Coinbase (before it's too late)

in #crypto6 years ago

But, if you got your phone stolen, can't you still keep your phone number on a new CIM card? I had my phone stolen once and my telco provider moved my number to another card. Would Google Auth still work?

Sort:  

If your provider can do that, then yes, that would be ideal. There is an easy recovery process if you still have your phone number. I was in Mexico at the time the phone was stolen. I didn't think to ask if I could move my number to a new card, but I really doubt I could because they don't ask your name or ID when getting a SIM so your number isn't attached to your name so I couldn't prove that the number I want to keep belonged to me.

Thanks for the answer. I was always unsure if Google Auth was linked with the phone number, SIM card, or email address I registered with my phone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.27
ETH 3098.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83