Better late than never - claiming Bitcoin Cash

in #crypto7 years ago

Today I finally claimed my bitcoin cash. Woo hoo!

I had bitcoin on a paper wallet during the fork. Shortly afterwards I got a Ledger and transferred the bitcoin to it, but it didn’t read the bitcoin cash.

I emailed the Ledger helpline on September 9 to ask what I needed to do, and got a reply on September 27 saying “It's normal you can only claim BTC you owned pre fork”. I guess my original contact saying that the ledger read the bitcoin in my paper wallet but not the bitcoin cash wasn’t clear. Do they really think I would email them looking for Bitcoin cash on Bitcoin that I didn’t own pre-fork?!!!!! Ooohhhhmmmmmmm...

So I turned to Steemit. Thank you @lukestokes for your great post “Step by Step: Getting your Bitcoin Cash out of your paper wallet.” (https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@lukestokes/step-by-step-getting-your-bitcoin-cash-out-of-a-bitcoin-paper-wallet). It does exactly what it says on the tin!

I downloaded the electron cash wallet as it instructed, entered the private key from the wallet and got my Bitcoin cash. Easy!

Then I transferred it to the Ledger. I had a bit of foostering with that as I transferred it to the Bitcoin cash ‘Main’ rather than ‘Split’ account initially, but now all is well.

Another step in crypto world.

Onwards and upwards 😊

yellowgerbera.jpg

Sort:  

So happy and impressed that you managed to get them after all!

Nice to meet you dear freind, This is a new home for lovers
of bloggers and the best platform today, I like that,donot forget to Visit my profile For Info and tricks about cyrptotrading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00