You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What happens with your crypto money after your (sudden) death?

in #crypto7 years ago

I think it is a very good thing you bring this to the attention of all of us. I have been looking at cryptocurrencies since a couple of months and this week I decided to collect all my login stuff in one place (Keepass), and put it on a usb drive so it is offline. the usb drive is then encrypted with windows bitlocker. I made a backup of the drive and gave it to my parents. Whom I trust. The password to the drive and to the keepass file are public but they will have to look for it. I told them where to find it but it still will remain a puzzle i know they can solve. In this way, if anything ever happens to me, they can get into my my accounts and retrieve what is theirs.

However, you do mention a valid point I had never ever had to worry about. Is your relation with whomever you would like to give the backup to, trustworthy. I have no answer to this. This is, in my failsafe strategy, the weakest link.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your comment! I am afraid, as long as we are humans, this is going to stay the weakest link and there is maybe no cure for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55838.64
ETH 2285.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33