State of Mind of a PC gamer

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)


hi everyone , i hope everyone is fine and doing great.
as of recent my Old gaming PC came to end of life after 3 years of constant gaming and streaming i decided it was time for a new gaming PC and with the new AMD Processors in the market i was able grabe a great bargain with my Motherboard and CPU with a nice SSD and a hybrid drive but when the time came to choose a GPU my choice was a AMD Radeon RX 580 (good bang for the Buck) i scoured the web for my GPU but for some reason i was not able to find any in stock .
But as i decided to give up i found 1 in stock with a retailer which i found on the 3rd page of google search, it was about $30 dollars more then usual price but i was desperate and i added to my basket went though a quick signup and ordered it ASAP with next day delivery ($12) so i can get my hands on it quickly and get my machine up and running.
i had unboxed all my components ready for delivery as the time for delivery fast approached my heart started beating faster and faster , i waited and waited but there was no sign of the delivery man my patience was running out i was thinking maybe he got stuck in traffic or some other issues , it was in the evening i logged to the retailer website saw my order showing in process and no updates or tracking number.
That night somehow passed in the morning sharp at 9:00AM i called them pressing various buttons on the phone to get to the correct department and finally i was through speaking to a real person i enquired about my item delivery gave him my order number while he checked his system , it was right then he dropped a bombshell on me saying that the Graphics card i had ordered was not in stock and it has been put on preorder for me once they receive a shipment in 1 week time, it was like someone had pulled the ground from underneath my feet i was feeling light headed , but i kept my composer and took it well, but it felt like i had lost something it was a feeling i am not able to put in words there was nothing i can do but to wait.
i was sitting at my pc more energised and searching the web frantically for another retailer who has the card in stock or have an earlier pre order date so i can cancel my current order and show them the power customer but it was in vain.
Those 2 weeks were hell it was the longest 2 weeks in my life , 1 day before the due date i was so pleased like it was early christmas just before going to bed i was on my mobile phone an email popped up from the retailer i was onto it opened it up thinking they had dispatched my order but as i was going through my email the night was getting darker and my christmas feeling was like a past memory they had just informed me that there were informed by the supplier that the GPU was delayed by 2 more weeks, this feeling was like when my first break up but multiplied by 50 times.
and that was 5 weeks ago , i have now waited over 9 weeks now but the Graphics card have vanished from the face of the Earth, i decided to do bit of investigation and the 1st result on google search was a term that i was not familiar with "Mining" and the fourth term was "Altcoin" and fifth was "Ethereum" it was all gibberish to me but as i read more and more things started to clear up for me, this new world i was shedding light on was like a rabbit hole it went deeper and deeper , i was learning so much stuff i was lost in the sea of information for a minute i was thinking which Hole i was living in.
i stumbled upon so many things including www.steemit.com as well so here i am telling my story first hand by a gamer who is not able to play my favourite game due to Crypto currency Mining .
that night i canceled my Order for RX 580 and placed an order for GTX 1060 and was able to complete my machine in 2 days time and as i am writing this i am aware that the GTX are running low on stock as well in some places and i am now part of this community if you cant beat it join it.
i hope everyone enjoy my first Post , like and and share it with your friends.

Thanks all

Sort:  

I had to wait for my my graphics card for 3 weeks longer than expected, but there was no reason for me to cry or do anything like that. Before I played on a Laptop which couldnt even run League of Legends on more than 20 FPS and had huge drops all the time. Just be happy once its delivered! Now (just half a year later) my PC (yeah, the one I just built recently) had a hardware error and it will take at least 1 more month (which will make it a total of 2.5 months). Things like that just happen and not only to you :) Just dont get addicted to gaming and you are fine. And dont get me wrong I was playing games at least 2 or 3 hours a day so it was a big part of my life. Just never get to a point where you cant live without gaming anymore.

GTX 1060 (even 3 Gb) is a good card!

Congratulations @cryptocyclops! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.93
ETH 2465.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63