Stock Market or Crypto

in #crypto6 years ago

Generation X investors are conflicted. They are trying to decide on investing in stock or investing in bitcoin and altcoins.

Screenshot_2018-05-06-07-12-58-1.png

I have learned my lesson after many years of buying and selling stock from 2008 - 2018. In ten years I only had one profitable year. I lost money 9 out of ten years. By the time I reached year #5 I had a really good grasp on what I was doing. I have learned some really advanced strategies so these last 4-5 years should have been profitable.

However the main reason I could not become profitable is because of having a small amount of cash. When you have a small bank roll of $2000 and your trying to grow its too easy to fall into the trap of wanting to perform advanced trading strategies and using the margin that companies like TD Ameritrade will offer. You can only use the advanced strategies if you use margin, this is basically credit.

If a trader gets into too many margin trades which are very difficult to keep track of he or she can get over extended and get a margin call. Like a perfect storm traders get into situations where they are thin on cash and they are trying to make up for losses so they put on more trades to make up for the losses then they get overextended. Then the market pulls back 5 or 10% then the trader has a "margin call". A margin call means that the brokerage firm your working with can at any time sell any of the assets your holding to make up for the negative balance you now hold.

Screenshot_2018-05-06-07-04-21-1.png

This happened to me many times, and was a very stressfull process. I have news for anyone reading this. If you have a small bankroll $1000 -$10,000 that you want to invest and grow, crypto currency in my opinion is the way to go.
This is not financial advice, but I have a very strong gut feeling. You have neo which pays you gas if you hold it. You have pos coins that pay you coins and rewards if you certain types like reddcoin, hyperstake and many others. On some exchange platforms you can loan your coins and receive interest. Mining has become popular and this is another investing avenue when bitcoin starts to rise.

Last but not least, on the steemit platform you can write quality content articles and get paid. You can comment on othere peoples posts and get paid. Delegating steem power can earn steem members a consistent daily payout. Members can create their own bots and become a service that gets paid to upvote. There are probably 10 or more ways to make money on the steemit platform alone.

I like my odds investing in the crypto world, better than investing in stock. The following article has more specific infomation on the comparison between stocks and crypto.

https://cointelegraph.com/news/2017-market-performance-crypto-vs-stocks

If you think this post is interesting please upvote, comment, and if you please resteem.

Sort:  

Ive been investing since I was 21 years old, started off with $1000. Turned that into over a million dollars by age 29. The habits you learn from investing not trading(gambling) is priceless over the long haul. Great read my friend.

Awesome and congratulations on your success. You started very young, I wish I started that young. There are great benifits of investing with no pressure needing the money to pay bills. I totally agree putting money into investments and looking for a quick turnaround gets us into trouble.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Hi, Clearbluecrypto.

Thanks for the interesting read. I've subscribed to you.
I think that the best approach is to invest only 10-15% of the your investment capital into crypto, while keeping the rest in stocks.
It's hard to predict right now what's going to happen at the cryptos market. They might be in for the long upward run or they might correct 100%, just as it happened during the dotcom boom.
So, keeping 10% of your investment capital is OK, since you won't be that pissed if you lose and you will be extremely happy if the markets's groing for a prolonged period of time.
In addition, you can always increase your allocation, channeling a bigger chunk of your investment capital in cryptos down the road.

Great point Andrew. Keeping your investment size down to what you can afford to lose is imperative and saves us from frustration when things do go as well as we wish.

Yeap, that's true.

What do you do? Are you a blogger or investor? I am a start-up blogger and translator (English to Russian) in crypto

Interesting, I do both. I just started blogging on steemit last month so Im new to this. But I have been investing in stock since 2008, and investing in crypto since Decemenber 2017.

That's cool. If you want to, I would be happy to hook up and chat a bit in skype - live:saymynameseo. I am not selling anything, just want to chat with the people from the blogging sphere. I've got a couple of blogging leads and would be happy to share them with you, if you want to.

Sure that sounds fine, I can setup a new skype account and send you the name as soon as I set it up. The best time to chat would be on the weekend.

yeah, cool. see you there.

Congratulation clearbluecrypto! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 32min with 13 votes.

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

appreciator payout in the amount of $90 STU, $188 USD.
smartsteem payout in the amount of $59 STU, $124 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $149 STU, $312 USD before curation, with approx. $37 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @clearbluecrypto and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Love trading? Full into cryptoworld?
So, you should start use TradeCheck - best software for traders ever!
Description, support and download mirror there: https://cryptofications.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66