Ponzi Schemes Now Legal

in #crypto5 years ago

50580584_2227168444012448_8580140354945514435_n.jpg

I have been doing a little research on Ponzi schemes and pyramid schemes. What I have found is that the legality of both has changed over recent years. Crypto has played a big role in that change and I will explain. Be sure to read this entirely for a full understanding.

Many of you know that I have recently signed up for a game known as drug wars. Many of you have also heard people calling it a Ponzi scheme. This sparked my interest and caused me to research the topic further. What I have discovered may shock some of you.

As much as this game might seem like a Ponzi scheme, it is not by the definition of the law. I am not defending it. I just wanted to point out a few things. It is structured as one but by the Federal Trade commission's definition it is not.

In a Ponzi scheme, investors believe that their gains are coming from an outside investment or sales. In this game they do not . Perhaps it could be called a pyramid scheme but there are a few differences there as well. In a pyramid scheme the gains all come from new recruits. Only difference is that in a pyramid scheme the investors know that they are being paid for finding recruits.

A few things set this apart.

1: new recruits do not have to pay money to sign up.
2: all of the gains are not coming from new recruits.
3: (and this is a big one) The Federal Trade Commission does not recognize cryptocurrency as actual currency. In order for it to be either of the above they require money to be invested. What's going on here is completely legal.

In the end, the pay structure is completely legal. It would definitely be in a gray area if Fiat was being used rather than crypto, but it seems that the United States government, for one, has shot themselves in the foot by not recognizing crypto as currency. Playing with cryptocurrency is viewed about the same as playing with peanuts from a legal standpoint. From a tax standpoint it is a completely different ball game.

Now that being said, let the ponzi's begin. I for one am looking forward to trying out a few. I have an amazing idea for a brand new type of pyramid.

What I would like to see would be a bot set up and coded to the blockchain. This would make it permanent and it could also be anonymous. The Bot could accept payments, and redistribute payments of new participants evenly amongst those already in the system. Just a few simple calculations and some programming skills could make this happen.

If I had the programming skills, I would consider doing it myself. Unfortunately I am not a programmer. I'm not a lawyer either so if you are going to run with my idea, do so at your own risk. I'm not advising anyone to do anything. Just planting a seed in your head. If someone should decide to do this, please make me one of the first to know about it. Just remember, you heard it here first.

Below you will find a link to the Federal Trade Commission website. You will also find my referral link to the drug Wars game. I enjoy the game no matter how the pay structure is set up. How how many games do you play the pay you nothing? It can't hurt to check it out. It is browser-based so there is no download.

Link to the game https://staging.drugwars.io/#!/ref/@big.ock

Ftc https://www.ftc.gov/public-statements/1998/05/pyramid-schemes

Img src https://goo.gl/images/qsbnNe

Sort:  

Congratulations @big.ock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98