The Green Card

in #crypto5 years ago

wrx.jpg

My Wirex card has arrived


Lookie! It's a new card.

I realised a couple of weeks ago that I only had one, very vulnerable, path into and out of my crypto holdings - Coinbase. Following a whole bunch of blockages, rejections and bad customer service, I decided to create two other paths, and ditch Coinbase as my default.

One path is complete now. With this Wirex card I can move money to Steem from Fiat (via Blocktrades)
In fact I've already tested it.

The next path should arrive early next week. I was going to get a Coinbase card, but decided against it. I am instead getting a PayPal card which I can connect to Binance or Bittrex.

I wont delete my account on Coinbase completely - I'll keep it for emergency purposes only.

Anyone got any other methods I may not know about?



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Hey cheers, I might have to look into this. I didn't know about PayPal - I might have to look into that too. I've never actually cashed crypto back into FIAT, I guess it's something I should test at some point! I think I can do that with my Kraken account, so I should be OK.

I am on the list for a cyrpterium credit card, but they haven't released them yet, I do use their wallet for some of my crypto, which allows you to send via text, which is pretty crazy!

The more options we have the better. There's no crypto on PayPal, but it's a functional Visa/Mastercard debit card so some exchanges will allow you to link the card.
I test Wirex with all my "Learn and Earn" tokens from Coinbase - I moved Dai and XLR directly since they have the wallets and sold the EOS and others for BTC and Eth. So now I hold those in Wirex instead of Coinbase. I also sold some of the ltc on there for fiat just to see how it works. I wish it were more automatic, but you have to actually do the exchange in the app first, before you can spend.

At least it's a way out for the crypto!

I know Tenx and crypto.com have their own card system too! I would love to get one but they’re not avialable in South Africa yet, sigh lol we’re always behind on everything can be hella frustrating at times

Yeah we're lucky in the UK, a lot of things come here quickly.

nice i hope u made it high encrypted it in secure way hopefully

I don't want to be the bearer of bad news but Wirex is a very dodgy company.
It all sounds great until your account gets robbed and you find out that you have zero protection from both Wirex and VISA!

The VISA sign on the card gives a false sense of security.
Your funds are not protected which would be the case under any other high street bank.

Do you recall our chat about security on their system? And how the same hack keeps happening? Which they deny! The evidence is out there but you have to dig for it as they spam out loads of crap to push these reports down the search rankings.

Watch out for those hidden charges as well every time you make a trade. Very expensive.

Do not leave any tokens on the account. #justsaying

Paypal card sounds interesting.

Damn it. hahaha. I do remember, and I did see some complaints on YouTube about the high charges. As I said, I won't use it as a normal card. I just want it as a way out if needs be :)

The coins on there are minimal to be honest. totalling about 50 quid in value. I was hoping for a little crypto run so I can pay a 100 quid bill with it :)

I wonder what the safest option is. Consolidate into BTC and store in hardware wallet probably.

Happy to remind you to be safe. I am in dispute with them as you may recall and the case is ongoing with the authorities taking a close look at their operation.

I have all the details and addresses of all the firms involved in Wirex and the evidence of their flawed security system which I have sent to the City of London police as the Wirex office is on their beat and they have a special team that looks into this kind of thing. Plus the FCA are investigating too and the financial ombudsman. 👍

Just another dodgy firm in the crypto space. It's the god damned wild west for sure 😂

VISA were useless. They have no clue what crypto is and don't offer any protection while allowing these firms to use their infrastructure.

It will take time but they will be held accountable eventually.

We still have fiduciary laws in this country which holds them responsible for the safety of our funds. No matter how they try to duck them.

Keeping £50 in fiat on there is fine for small shopping etc.
Don't do any large transactions and leave the tokens on there as then you become of interest to the hacker in their midst.

Cool... I want get some card also soon :) I hope steem soon more up :)

One path is complete now. With this Wirex card I can move money to Steem from Fiat (via Blocktrades)

I think I mentioned to you before, this works a treat.. just use LTC as the intermediary token as the charges are low.

As @molometer mentions, don't trust them, it's buy LTC, quick get it out to blocktrades..

Hahaha. got it. Quick-fire transactions only haha.
Yes your comment sparked my interest to take a second look.

Another cool thing I'm planning to do with this card is this: I'm downloading a bunch of these "wallets" so I can get all the shytecoin airdrops which I will immediately sell to LTC and use to finance my coffee addiction 😂😂

so I can get all the shytecoin airdrops which I will immediately sell to LTC

Do you mean the tribe airdrops? They are rare these days, I think that period may have gone now.

Great. Typical. I'm late to the game haha.

Look nice... but why do they print those word vertically instead of horizontally? 🤔

Ah, man who knows. Maybe they're trying to leverage the whole Snapchat / Instagram generation with the vertical everything :)

Congrats sir.

This post has been selected for today's Best of British - five posts of the day from UK Steemians.

Congratulations @adetorrent! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43