ShytexsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #crypto5 years ago

If you remember, I wrote a post about getting a Wirex card.. Well, I've had some time to use it and play with it a little, so here are my observations so far.

Steemit Blog Graphic.jpg

First of all, it's not really a Visa card in the traditional sense of the world. What you've got here is a lite, online bank account that comes with a pre-paid debit card.

You are also paying for that bank account. It isn't free. There is no interest on your money, and you don't get any of the traditional protections you would with a standard bank account.

Moving on to the card itself. Like I said before, it's a prepaid debit card, so you have to actually move money to it from your Wirex account. This could be deceptive at first as it isn't made very clear, but is quickly figured out after a few rejected payment attempts.

It also comes with the popular crypto wallets. This for me is the best part of the card. It's also the worst part depending on use case. It gives the false sense of security by resembling a cold wallet (the card you are carrying around). Really though, it's the same as a wallet sitting at an exchange. There have even been cases of hacks and mysteriously vanishing tokens from Wirex wallets.

I wouldn't recommend this for heavy use because of the high fees. I think it's a fun alternative only. I wouldn't old large sums of money in here either - crypto or fiat.

In real life use, I have had more rejections than not. The card has been accepted so far in McDonalds, ASDA and a café. It has, however, been rejected every time I tried to use it online by Amazon, Apple, American Express and all other transactions I attempted. It even got rejected on many tills.

Thankfully each time I've had my Revolut card and haven't had to wash any dishes at the back of any restaurant kitchens.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Is this the same one people spread referral links like crazy?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes haha. Do you want my referral code?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I use it to buy STEEM and that's it. It works very well for that purpose.

The £1 a month fee?

If I had any cash in their account then they could take it, but as it's there for less than minute... well they can't!

Hahaha. So you’re in debt with them? 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haven't got a clue! I get emails all the time.., 'your so close to activating your card'.., 'just one more step and...'

Don't want it for that reason!

Hahahahaha

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't know about in England, but in Aus now, many banks charge you fees just for having the account, and tou don't earn interest on balances less than 10k. Even then, you might get 0.1% pa for the privilege of allowing the said bank, to then loan out 10x your balance by creating money out of thin air, that they of course, then charge interest on.
Fuck Banks. I'm always on the lookout for alternative fund holding institutions.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Buck fanks!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Unlucky. The MCO card checks out if you’re in the market for an alternative.

Thanks I’ll give it a look. I’m always testing these things out even if I’m not going to be using them regularly.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I got one too and for me it has been super helpful is certain situations. I live in the bush of coastal peru and even my corner shop accepts it. To boot I get satoshi's cryptoback.

I thought it was linked directly to my crypto on the account, but you have to sell it first for cash and then top up. I don't mind, but I don't keep too much on there either. It is a great gateway in and out of crypto.

My normal account doesn't give me any interest (greater than inflation), no cash back on in store purchases and takes forever to move around (at added cost).

Sooner rather than later, peer to peer crypto transactions will be the norm.

That's great to hear. Yes it is a gateway for sure. Admittedly it's been much faster than going via Coinbase. Most of the money I have on there is from free crypto earned online anyway.

Hey Morph! Hope you ok ;)

I've got 2 cards from Wirex. Problems you talk about transactions I've got with the new EUR one but USD one which I have since they released cards so it's that one with old design and that USD one works everytime. Never have problems but it's so true that at the end keeping funds on Wirex is the same as in exchange. I've never got problems with them but I've heard few stories too, might be a antimarketing made by other companies or true. Any crypto kept anywhere than your own wallet with keys is not secure ;)

Bless Morph.

Any crypto kept anywhere than your own wallet with keys is not secure ;)

You hit the nail on the head Neo.

That's why some guy called "Morpheus" said that "I am the ONE" 🤪🤪🤪

That's interesting to try out

It is handy as you can have (crypto) money transferred to your card, even on business days. I think that's the best feature, just for security when you get your wallet stolen or something.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77