Canadian Crypto-mining Computers Heat Winnipeg Business While Mining. Story Makes National News, Mining Companies Relocating There.

in #crypto-news6 years ago (edited)


Kevin Carthy uses his crypto mining computers to heat his cryptocurrency business in the Winnipeg area known as Transcona.

The hot air from his 6 machines is piped around the building via the furnace, and actually generates enough heat to stay warm during a cold prairie Manitoba winter.

“They are doing complex mathematical calculations, looking for bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies,”

-- Carthy stated to CTV Winnipeg -- of his mining rig operation.

“Doing that, they generate a lot of heat because it is a complex process.”

“We have cold weather, and we have inexpensive hydro,” Carthy said.

The Canadian estimates his machines cost around $70 / month in electricity, but earns $100 / month in cryptocurrency.

This free heat generated and piped around his office, only adds to his profit margin.

He only keeps the natural gas line as a backup if needed.

“You mine for heat and you still make a profit,” Carthy said.


Manitoba Hydro spokesperson Scott Powell states the utility is aware of several small cryptocurrency operations that have set up or moved to the province, with none having a major impact on the power grid.

“The current demand on the Manitoba Hydro system for these operations is unnoticeable when taken in the context of overall system load,” he said.


Source - National CTV News here - also has 3 Min. Video if you want to watch it


My #Bushcraft and #OffGrid friend Drew sent this along to me, thanks Drew.


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/crypto-news/@barrydutton/nvidia-leaked-report-shows-launch-of-gpu-mining-specific-card-sooner-than-expected

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/3jssml-crypto-101-or-andreas-antonopoulous-bitcoin-q-and-a-job-opportunities-with-cryptocurrencies-8-mins-super-practical-resource-here

https://steemit.com/gold/@barrydutton/3ed1kt-steemit-gold-silver-report-what-s-next-for-world-s-biggest-undeveloped-gold-mine-seabridge-gold-ceo-video-5-mins

https://steemit.com/freedom/@barrydutton/2z9tbk-the-government-hiding-behind-the-police-state-when-it-suits-them-as-the-public-wakes-up-and-says-enough-summed-up-in-one-short

https://steemit.com/freedom/@barrydutton/causing-chaos-globally-in-the-name-of-liberty-ron-paul-liberty-report-today-skin-in-the-game-with-special-guest-nassim-nicholas


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

--

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

EOS (EOS) - 0xD37bEFf5bf07E3aa432de00cE0AaA8df603A4fB0

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
This has really upset some people but I do not force my opinions on others, or need to communicate every detail of my life or issues, most people do not care anyways. I invested around 10 hours or more a day on Steemit most of my first 13 mths here, I just do not have that time in my life right now, and that includes for replies and voting/curation.
I have done my best, sorry if you do not understand like some are clearly having a problem with. It's a blogging platform, and I will do my best at everything, and to keep blogging.
Carry On.

Sort:  

A friend of mine is working on miner-powered water heaters, too. Should be interesting!

--

https://twitter.com/BarryDutton/status/974460130606682117

--

With nearly 30 years of #RealEstate experience behind me, a city council campaign and vast public policy and political, land planning and zoning work on my resume, I am an ideal consultant for a crypto currency / mining operation.

Reach out if you need assistance.

BarryDutton Barry Dutton tweeted @ 16 Mar 2018 - 01:39 UTC

#CryptocurrencyMining Operation in #Canada makes National News. If you need #RealEstate / Zoning / #CryptoMiningtwitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Great news that mining company relocating to Canada. Thanks for sharing with us.

hallo @barrydutton your posting is very good friend, may i love you a little suggestion so i can be like you, oa and i am happy too if you want to stop by my post, if you can not do nothing because I am quite happy when we can be friends more like this thanks

It’s grest to see someone adding in extra vault
to a mining operation.

Excellent post, Barry, and I am glad to see people using the excess heat rather than wasting it. I have always been a big fan of anything that serves multiple purposes.

As just one example, when I lived in Seminole, Florida, my then-husband re-routed the drip line from our shop's air conditioner condensation overflow to a 5-gallon water bottle, which I could easily and quickly switch out, so that I could use it for watering my plants.

It was certainly healthier for them than the fluoride- and chlorine/chloramine-contaminated tap water we had access to at the time.

I have fleshed these ideas out into a longer blog post if you are interested. It carries the longwinded title "Green Living and Choosing Ways to Multipurpose to Reduce Our Footprint on the Land."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93