Dip into crpytocurrencies - passively

in #crptocurrency7 years ago

For years, I had heard of bitcoin and never invested. In November 2016, I won $50 from bovada and withdrew it as bitcoins. For all of December, I wrote the price of ether on my calendar every day as a curiosity. I invested 0 additional dollars. The price spiked and I still considered it a curiosity.

Meanwhile, I had no problem buying $10 scratchers and tickets to multi-million dollar jackpots. For social reasons, but still there was a financial impact. I had trouble convincing myself to invest $1 / week in a curiosity. Yet, I managed to invest $25 into a curiosity, ethereum when it was priced at $50. I had no rationale to invest more.

Now I do, most of my investments are in passive investments specifically Schwab Large Cap ETF with a miniscule 0.03% expense ratio. Why reallocate a dime from tried and true index investing? Because of market caps, by buying index funds, I implicitly subscribed to the notion of capital allocation by market capitalization. Today, the market capitalization of digital currencies total over $140 billion. The market cap of us large caps is a tad over $20 trillion.

If an index fund could allocate to digital currencies then 0.7% would be allocated to digital currencies. Anyone can invest 0.7% into digital currencies with ease and receive a decent bet with reasonable risk and payoff. Should the 0.7% drop, then any investor would retain 99.3% of their starting assets. Should the 0.7% grow, said investor would have positive exposure to a growing asset class without taking more risks than average!

That one simple realization got me to thoughtfully embrace digital currencies. When I compute my position on digital currencies relative to my equities, it makes a lot of sense to invest and stay invested in digital currencies.

Thoughts?

Other related thoughts: if the economy grows, there will be sectors that lead that growth, why can't cryptocurrency be that sector? (No mainstream adoption yet)

Sort:  

Congratulations @wertqyuio! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @wertqyuio! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Congratulations @wertqyuio! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @wertqyuio! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41