You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mining Cryptocurrency on a LAPTOP!

Honestly, I would advise against it. I mean you may be able to cool it sufficiently, but a decent motherboard and some 1060s (since rx 580s are unavailable) is much cheaper and more manageable than replacing a whole laptop. Then again I have seen some serious alienware laptops with dual 1080 tis and serious cooling... but I am not sure I would risk it, that hardware is just so expensive compared to a small mining rig. Just my 2 sense. I have burned a laptop out pretty bad, it still runs but it does cut off spontaneously and is now a glorified chat and spotify box.

Sort:  

if you do want to continue to run it in the laptop, you can grab msi afterburner and set the power limit to I think 62% for the NVIDIA cards (this lowers heat significantly) and then set the fan to run at minimum 70% (i do 85% for 4 1060s). I run these on 4 1060s and nothing is above 60 C.

Tips are nice here too :) BTC: 19NtafVpypRgJsJv5tk2cW6QuekquvpK28

thanks for the advice, I don't really plan on doing anymore mining with my laptop, Its new and I don't want to damage it. I just wanted to do an experiment and see how well a gaming laptop would mine bitcoin. In the future I will probably pick up a few GPUs and make a proper mining rig.

Awesome! I'll follow you, let me know if you want any DIY plans for some open cases I've made. I think the total cost for me building 2 of these was under $12 and they hold 6-7 cards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45