Crowdsourcing Clarity, Ep. 07: HF19 Celebration and Question Regarding Voting Power (5 SBD payout for most helpful answers this time!)

in #crowdsourcing-clarity7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1783.JPG

Holy hardfork. What a surprise to get done recording the Voluntary Japan live show and return to adjusted rewards.

With the last Crowdsourcing Clarity tips all paid out, it's time for me to bend your ears again, if you don't mind.


I know everybody is talking and blabbing about this right now, but I have a serious question, and time is precious--I have to get to bed. That's where you come in and why I am happy to tip 5 Steem Backed Dollars for some help.

IMG_1362.JPG

I understand that the voting power system is now linear. But. How does this affect how many times one can vote with significant power? I mean, I am upvoting comments--COMMENTS--now and seeing them jump in value 10 bucks!

This new system means we must be more conservative with our voting power, if we want to save it for the content we really value, right? Or...wrong? Or...something sort of in between or totally different?

Fire away, Steem-O's, and thanks in advance.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I have been adjusting. If you want to vote on a lot of things we're really going to have to play around with the slider. In the past I up voted posts consistently by 100%, and comments I was up voting at 20%. I up voted a lot of things, and i like to vote on a lot of thins so with the new 10 votes per day at full power limit I'm having to rethink things... that involves me playing around with the slider to find a sweet spot. I find right now I have my comments set at 1% as that is still giving a pretty nice TIP for a comment, and I am still trying to find where I should set my vote for actual posts... it's pretty crazy.

It is nice though as now we can help new people, and less noticed posts a lot more and I expect rewards to spread out a lot more all over the place.

Thank you @dwinblood. Your comment fitted the last few pieces of the jigsaw together for me. I had only heard about HF today. Seems like a good idea in all don't you think?

Thanks again.

Yes, we've been pushing for a linear curve for a long time. n^2 I'm not really certain why that really ever was even considered in the past. Linear just makes sense.

Thanks, @dwinblood. 5 SBD on the way.

Wild. I didn't expect that. Was just doing what I normally do. In fact, I'd even forgotten about the fact there was a reward. Thanks. :) I'll catch you with some votes... I vote on your posts now and then... even in this day when there are so many.

Cheers man. Enjoy your stuff as well.

Whereas before your voting power increased exponentionally, it now only increases linearly. This meant that people with less steem power didn't have much influence on the payout, while people with A LOT of steem power had exponentially more influence on it.

Now, voting power increases the reward linearly. To give a really simple (and perhaps incomplete) example, a full power with with 10SP would equal a 100 votes with 1SP. In other words, if the SP was 10 times higher, the vote would be 10^10=100 times more powerful.
After HF19 the same 10SP vote is only 10 times as strong as a 1SP vote. It went from exponential increase to linear increase.

So now that 'smaller' steemians have more de facto voting power, their voting power also depletes faster. So yes, you'd have to be more conservative if you want to give full power votes to posts that you really enjoy. And that's what I would advise people: only upvote great content!

I hope that helps! Sleep well brother.

Another great comment. Upvoted.
Thank you for the explanation.

I guess i won't need pipboy anymore to calculate payouts.

Thanks, @rvanstel. 5 SBD on the way.

How does this affect how many times one can vote with significant power? I mean, I am upvoting comments--COMMENTS--now and seeing them jump in value 10 bucks!

The voting power drains by 2% for every 100% upvote that you give from your account. That means if you give 50upvotes then your voting power would have reach a BIG FAT 0!

@kafkanarchy84, people will become more responsible with their upvotes, I hope the reward equality changes will encourage people to read before actually upvote a post.. I just hope so

Yep we need to be more conservative in voting now. Before you could make 40 votes before your voting power went below 80%...now it only takes 10 votes! Not only are payouts linear, but each vote grew in power by 4x! Still it feels good to spread around the payout wealth, feel like a kid that owns a candyshop (not even just in one)!

Thanks, @mk40. 5 SBD on the way.

From what I read about the change, there is a 4 times increase in voting power meaning you can only vote at 100% full power 10 times instead of 40. If voting power is not adjusted to 25%, you will have to be a bit more stingy with your votes.

cool post and great stuuf
Fork forever bro

I love this new structure and you have a valid point on how we should consider voting..but for now be Santa and upvote on...cheers!

Unless people reduce their voting power to 25% or something; this Hardfork will promote people to find content that they love and content which is high quality which benefits those who are hardworking curators.
Before people would pour hours into some posts and would not get any recognition.(Like a few of mine, maybe)

I'm very curious about this too. I'm seeing people say your vote power only increased x4, but before HF19 my votes would add $0.01 or less to a post, and now they seem to be adding between $0.15 and $0.25. Maybe the algorithm works differently depending on your steempower range.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43