You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The big Patreon blowup

I'm really bummed about it, because I found out a few days ago RIGHT AFTER setting up a Patreon finally :(
I didn't make it public, so... I guess this saves me the hassle of messing with it. Still frustrating, though.

Honestly thought about just setting up a DIY Patreon, where if people donate like $1 via PayPal or Crypto, they'd get a month's worth of access to a Discord server where I slap my WIPs and such... I mean that's basically all I was gonna do with Patreon anyway, just give people sneak-peeks and such :P

I was even thinking that there could be a Discord bot that keeps tabs on if somebody has paid this month or not, so you don't have to manually keep track of all that, and it'd automatically let people in or kick people out based on that.

It'd probably work like how Vid.Me did, where you deposit money and say how much of that you want to give the person every month.
I have no idea how to program something like that, though :/

Sort:  

I think what they offered was too little. The website did not make it easy for patrons to find the interesting projects and you had to bring the followers yourself and then pay 5% to them. If they had a site like Kickstarter or Bandcamp I think it might be worth it, but as it is now I think I will be pulling from Patreon.

The thing you want to make could be done with a simple Paypal widget couldn't it?

Kickstarter is working on a new system, Drip, that would be the Patreon Rival. They say it will be available in 2018

Yes, I saw that - my original plan was to have a payment-system for each way of payment. If they offer a better public interface like the one on Kickstarter they might be interesting.

Ah, I didn't realize all that. Just knew that all the pros were using it, so I figured it should have good tools. It's really bizzare that it doesn't :I

I'm not sure? Maybe I could do it with a widget, but I'm not sure how that would synch to Discord, and that'd really only be useful with PayPal - it wouldn't let people use Crypto.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50