4th of July Hero Workout

in #crossfit7 years ago (edited)

Every holiday we like to get together as a gym and do a workout. This morning we did the CrossFit Hero WOD Blake. It's 4 Rounds of 100ft Overhead (OH) Walking Lunges 45/25lbs (men's weight first, woman's weight second) 30 box jumps 24/20"; 20 wall balls 20/14lb; 10 Handstand Push-ups (HSPU). We also added a 1 mile run buy in (meaning you do that prior to the WOD), then a buy out (do after the WOD) of a 50 calorie row.

IMG_4939.JPG

The WOD:
IMG_4911.JPG

Kat and I (girl with the long blonde hair in the picture above and I) did the mile run in a neighborhood around the gym. We didn't go very fast (around an 8:30-9 minute pace). We weren't trying to go all out on this workout, just enjoy it and have fun! When we go back with started our 4 Rounds. The first exercise was the 100ft OH walking lunges. My hamstrings were so tight from a workout I had done yesterday. Here is a picture of the OH walking Lunges.

IMG_4928.JPG

Then we went into box jumps. 30 reps is a lot of box jumps! On the first round I was trying not to think about doing this three more times. Susanne, the other girl next to me in the above picture ended up coming down on the box on her shin, but she was a trooper and got back up and finished the workout! Jess, the pregnant girl on the right of our top picture did step-ups to modify.

IMG_4933.JPGIMG_4932.JPG

Next was the wall ball throws. Here you squat and throw the ball to hit the target. You have to make sure you stand close enough to the target so you can catch it to send it right back up.

IMG_4930.JPGIMG_4931.JPG

Then were the handstand push-ups. This exercise used to be really hard for me, but I'd been practicing it a lot over the last sixth months, now I can do them with ease. Well kipping hspus that is. What that means is that I lower my knees to my chest and use momentum to propel my body up. The other girls did modifications for this exercise. Jess did push-ups, Kat and Susanne did stall bar pike presses. It's the same movement of the handstand push-ups only your feet are in the stall bars, so its allows your legs to help you do the work.

IMG_4935.JPGIMG_4934.JPG

Finally, we finished with a 50 calories row. This doesn't really take that long (roughly 3-4 minutes), but by this time we were pretty exhausted.

IMG_4925.JPG

Hope you have a happy fit 4th of July!
Blessings,
Lauren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43