Italia🇮🇹 vs. Venezuela🇻🇪 [Cross-Culture Challenge by @itchyfeetdonica]

in #cross-culture5 years ago (edited)

Five years ago I lived for some months in a northern Italy village. It was my last travel before we entered in a critical survival mode in Venezuela due to the tyranny's efforts of implementation of communism, corruption and a long bad management of our natural resources, we were hit by a high-rocketing hyperinflation that caused us worrying mainly about finding some food. In the latest years most people's lifestyle in my country has been driven into a struggle for everything. I have been feeling like if I was swallowed by a giant blackhole and then I am living in another dimension. But I wanted to join my friend @itchyfeetdonica Culture Challenge and decided to share some old pics to remember good things and show some contrasts between those two cultures I could experience.

In the italian alps I could find lots of apples🍎🍏 once it was a fest where everything was about this fruit..it was called "La Festa delle Mele" or so..and I saw hundreds of different types of apples each one with different names, in Venezuela we don't have apples but tropical juicy mangoes when is mago-time and bananas the whole year😋 we also love our tropical oranges, papaya, pinneapples but we have a current lack of production of everything in my destroyed country and agriculture needs to be reactivated, in the north of Italy they produces lot of grains, soybeans, meat, and dairy products. They are also very involved with recycling and had different cans for waste I hope I could see people doing the same here!

Water wells fascinates me, looks magical☄ In Italy there were lots of ancient water wells whit tons of coins inside people threw with wishes. In Venezuela you are lucky if you find one, like me in the right pic, but it was a modern one in a hostal.

Italy is plenty of Art and antiques, in small villages I didn't spotted any modern contemporary design but all was finest, pale, elegant and ancient. The odor I noticed in each corner remembered me the same of old books!🤓📚

Here art is more colorful and funny..

Precious porcelain dolls in Italy vs. warm and simple trap dolls in Venezuela... I also noticed they are more sofisticated making handcrafts as here handmade are not considered luxury items..

I could find an infinite variety of fresh and delicious cheeses in Italy. Food was exquisite. In Venezuela before the scarcity we loved to fill plates with tons of sauces😁 Chefs used to criticize that this way venezuelans covered the flavor of the main food! But well I was a fanatic of putting everything I found over my hot dog or other foods to experience a more tasty meal😁

Hey take a look at this cuteness👀 Butterflies have owl faces drawings in their wings in Italy as in Venezuela they have happy faces! LOL

As I was there in autumm-winter mostly I was inside a house due to the cold weather, covered with tons of dark and sad clothes and that jacket that looked like a bag for garbage🤣 I really missed wearing light, fresh and colorful! I really felt I was ten years older there!👵

Italians love beautiful and lovely fountains, here are few but are more wild.

The sun there seemed softer as here looks magnificient and brighter, I think warm weather influences over the character of the people as there you could spot angry faces in each corner, most people didn't smile or interacted focusing on their own stuff as in Venezuela good mood predominates despite the problems.

Here is a comparison between two sunsets..

Public parks were stunning, peaceful and beautiful places..here people prefers to enjoy cool beaches and loud music!

Religious art where in each corner, I loved that you could find beautiful paintings over whatever wall in the street and people respected it, I mean here most people is not so civilizated not to think on writing over and ruin that!☹
And instead candid art here we have striking murals...

The most shocking impact I experienced in that travel was when I came back, I traveled from Torino to Milano to Rome and then finally arrived in Caracas to go my city so I turned from a cold, quiet, elegant, educated, well tasted, organizated, clean and safe to a friendly but loud, hot, chaos, warm, noisy, dirty and dangerous environment. To be honest I felt scared and very weird arriving home.

Behind me the river Po and a monastery in the hills.
In Venezuela we also have beautiful natural peaceful places like this beautiful lagoon, but those places are expensive to visit for us, most venezuelans can't afford doing turism in our own country not to mention the bad conditions of the roads and risks. Hope things will change.

Talking about sports, as in Italy they love football🥅⚽️, Venezuela loves baseball!

I am hoping to feel freedom again, looks like we are going to taste liberty soon and enjoy rebuilding our country bringing back our stopped cultural traditions! I just can think on having our delicious and tasty Christmas food back! I think we're on the road to get back to our normal lives. Lets hope🕊

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you Jeni for your wonderful entry! Funny that I’m now in Italy. 😃 Because I escaped from coooold glooomy Belgium (similar weather as northern Italy) to a bit warmer Sardinia for a short trip. But I still have to wear thick sad jacket 🧥 as it’s not much better here 😅.
Sorry to hear about the situation in your country. Haven’t traveled there yet, but I’ll try to make it one day! 🙌
The closest places I’ve been to are Cuba and Colombia, and I lived in Puerto Rico and Chile, so I can imagine a lot of stuff you talked about here. I miss your tropical fruits and the colorful arts too, and I hope your life and your country get better soon! Keep your beautiful contagious smile! 😄💪❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ahahah😁 I hope you and lots of tourists can come here soon when things will be fixed, I'm sure everything will be fine!😃😉 enjoy your travel!😀🇮🇹

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you sweet @jenina619 ! Your delightful post left me feeling like I went on a wonderful round tha world adventure! Keep 'em comin'!!
♥¸.•°”˜˜”°•.✫ B★E★A★U★T★I★F★U★L ✫¸.•°”˜˜”°•.♥

Ahah I'm glad you liked!👋😀 you're nice👍😃 Welcome🌞

Posted using Partiko Android

That's really interesting, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks to you for leaving a nice comment!😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @jenina619! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

you have a wonderful smile, I like to see your pictures and your work ... thank you for a great blog

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Yep!😁🌞 Thank you👋🎉

Posted using Partiko Android

Ciao~ 刚来看她回复看到你 哈哈 我在撒丁岛呢

Hola jenina619,

Tu post ha sido seleccionado por el bot de @provenezuela, te hemos dado un voto en apoyo a los autores venezolanos!

Gracias por ser parte de nuestra comunidad!

Gracias💖

Posted using Partiko Android

The climate influence people also they are living out of their country. The difference about fruit, fly from Italy to Venezuela or viceversa. Your post is a further confirmation of that. Sorry for your situation in Venezuela. I am glad to visited also my hometown as one your photos behind Monte dei Capuccini show. I enjoy read the cross between your country and mine :) :) Mucha suerte!!

Ciaoo👋ahah ma come mai sei da Torino ma sei sempre fuori in viaggio? Se Io abitasse in quella cittá non avrei bisogno di uscirne mai ahah😁 grazie per leggere!🤓

Posted using Partiko Android

Brava che hai imparato la lingua italiana ( somiglia alla lingua spagnola :) ) Io sono un appassionato di viaggi. Certo Torino è bella però non è l'unico posto bello o interessante da visitare. :) :)

It was my last travel before we entered in a critical survival mode in Venezuela ...

Readers may be interested in the perspective of Alfred de Zayas. He is an internarional law expert, who served as a secretary on the UN Human Rights Council. He was dispatched by the Council to go to Venezuela and report back to the Council as to the causes of the collapse of the economy there. A link to his blog on the issue is included below for your reading pleasure.

https://dezayasalfred.wordpress.com/2018/03/03/essay-on-venezuela/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70