SEC20W1 Introduction to crochet 🧶🧶

in #crochet20w12 days ago (edited)

Gray and White Manager Business Card_20240911_234515_0000.png

It is the Frist week of crochet team engagement challenge and I'm happy to take part in the teaching team which has inspired the art of knitting creativity in me.

I have learn a lot from this week course especially the meaning of crochet, proper handling of thread and needles, how to create a starter knot or magic knot and chains stitch.

After learning the course description, I decided to share my understanding on the course by answering the assessment questions for students as follows:

According to the suggested forms, explain how you hold the thread and needle, show us a photograph holding the needle with your dominant hand and the thread with your non-dominant hand.

IMG20240910072835.jpg
Two points of support.

IMG20240910072706.jpg
One point of support


From this course, I realised that there are different ways of holding needle and thread. The first I tried was the two points of support. I believe that this will really help me as a beginner. I started by placing the front of my palm facing my face. I used my thread and wrap round my little finger. I dragged it up to meet my index finger and pass it behind the remaining fingers.

Now talking about one point of support, this step is simple and straight. I hold a thread on my subordinate or non dominant hand with the front of my palm facing me, l carefully passed the thread to my index finger .

IMG20240909115955 (1).jpg

In needles holding, I am comfortable in using three fingers because that's how l holds my pen or pencil in writing. I use my thumb, index finger and the middle finger in holding the needle while allowing the other two fingers to rest.

On my right hand, l hold my thread in two points of support, using my thumb and the middle finger to carry out the knitting.

Practice the 3 ways of making the starter knot, tell us which one was the easiest for you, show us step-by-step photos of the starter knot or magic knot.


Form No. 1

From No. 2


Form No. 3

During practicing the three steps, l realized that the frist one was very simple and easier for me. The last one was difficult for me because of my inability to pass the thread under the "e" without moving it. But with my video, you can see that continuous practice turned it easier too and I could do it perfectly.

Make 5 chains of 20 stitches, show us a photo with the 5 chains, identifying in order from the first to the fifth chain.

IMG20240910085307.jpg
1

IMG20240910085610.jpg
2


IMG20240910092803.jpg
3

IMG20240910092917.jpg
4

Green and Brown Simple Cooking Youtube Thumbnail_20240911_232956_0000.png

5

After knitting realised that this my chains look smaller and tiny but l don't know if it is because of the size three knitting needles that I am using.

Share a short video or GIF of yourself making a 10-stitch chain stitch and a selfie of your work or chain stitch.

IMG20240912065633.jpg

Tell us if you had any difficulty completing the tasks assigned to you in your work or knitting.

As coaches always say..."when there is no pain, there is no gain"... and so is with learning. It usually comes with difficulties.

This is my first time of practicing anything on crochet, when I first saw it, I told myself that there is always a frist time in everything we have wants to do.
Like I said earlier, I had a little difficult in form no 3 but since there was a video that guided me, I believe I will do my little best and I did it.🤓

I want to use this medium to thanks the two teachers @analp and @naka05 much for sharing your ideas in steemit that is beneficial to other. I am willing to join next week and explore more knowledge in crochet teaching.

I will like to invite @nahela, @moonsilver,@eliany and @dove11 to participate in this season 20 week1 engagement challenge.

ABOUT MYSELF
Sort:  

This is beautiful i see you put your mind in doing that as a first timer and that's impressive continuous rehearsing will make perfect with time. The team has done so well in organizing such beneficial contest.

Thanks so much for your comments

Oh this is really beautiful, thank you so much for inviting, I've already purchased my materials to join this contest.

I enjoyed watching your videos

That is cool , l can't wait to read your entry.

Thanks so much for enjoying my video

I really like your zeal and efforts put in to achieve this lovely piece. Your knitting looks neat and the video presentation is great. Well done friend!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44